We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariner Grille

Mariner Grille
Ranked #16 of 90 Restaurants in Narragansett
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Narragansett, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

great service good food , a very friendly staff , i though the price was very fair.. i would come back again

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    30
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a late dinner last night with our two kids. Had a fantastic meal. Very fresh and service was very friendly and efficient. We were very pleasantly surprised. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammmmmmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Don't bring your kids... Apparently”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were greater by the host who was very nice to us after we told him we were a table of 10 which included my 16 month old daughter. He even gave us crayons and was playing with her. Made me feel at home. We were seated in the back room. While we were waiting for the waitress another table had just left. We were alone. My daughter was getting a little squirmy in the high chair so my husband put her down. Again there was no one in the room with us. My daughter was playing and laughing and the host came in and at first we thought he was joking when he said chastisingly "can we control the screaming.." ... We chuckled. He then continued... "Others r trying to enjoy their meals" . I was furious. If it weren't for my cousin who drove an hour to meet us for dinner whe would have left! Christen our waitress was excellent. The kitchen was slow and again... The restaurant didn't have many people. He lazyman lobster was overcooked and the bathroom was filthy.

Obviously not a place to take kids even though they have a kids menu. Again... Host was rude and never apologized for his rudeness and had the nerve to ask if everything was ok. My husband did let him have it. The entire evening left a bad taste in my mouth. Did not enjoy my dinner at all after that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The restaurant was fine for a meal out - but nothing remarkable about the food or venue.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I visited a very busy Mariner Grille, looking forward to the experience based on other reviews. Seated promptly - the menu and drink selections were usual fare with nothing really distinctive to explore.

I tried the pizza appetizer, topped with tomatoes and fresh mozzarella which was good. The baked cod was also fine.

Overall, Mariner Grille provided good food at reasonable prices with attentive service. It's a fine place for a meal if you just want a simple restaurant experience.


  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueLynxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fira, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food, next to the Dominos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Unexpectedly fantastic dinners for a restaurant next to Domino's pizza. If I was just commenting on the meal and kitchen, this would be a 5-star review, however both service and ambiance were not at the 5-start level (maybe between 3 an 4 stars for these.) Now for the meals and drinks, you cannot go wrong with this restaurant if you are looking for good contemporary American cuisine. We had the White Sangria (they are known for this) and the White Pomegranate Mohitos for starters. Most excellent drinks, the fruit was fresh and deeply permeated the flavor of the drink. As an appetizer, we had the balsamic calamari. These had a crunchy coating, with the sweet/sour of reduced balsamic vinegar. We loved it. Along side this , we were served warm bread, with oil and roasted garlic. Our party of four, ate two baskets of bread. For entrees, we had: the Fillet Mignon with Bordelaise sauce - this was prepared to perfection and served with garlic mashed potatoes; the Sesame crusted tuna - this was also grilled to perfection (the medium will leave the very middle un-cooked, perfect!); the Hoisin salmon, flakey, but not dry, the Hoisin sauce added subtelty to this dish: and the local Black back flounder, served over mixed rice - very flavorful. After all of this, we unfortunately had no have room for the dessert menu, maybe next time. The kitchen staff cooked everything as we expected and the flavors were outstanding. The service was timely, just not remarkable. The bar was a bit slow. We will be back for more meals here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PWHorstmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariner Grille also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Mariner Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing