We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Ocean Area Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Galilee

Galilee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An Ocean Area Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Galilee is a great Rhode Island shore area, great sights, fishing piers, boating and great seafood resturants. One of the highlights is Salty Brine Beach. The parking lot, new walkway along the Snug Harbor inlet and restrooms were recently renovated making the beach and walkway completely handicap accessable. Also at the beach is Salty's Shack offering breakfast to seafood at a very reasonalbe price. Galilee is a great place to visit for both out of state and local tourists.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    41
    10
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
447 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Quaint fishing village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Beautiful, quaint fishing village. Nice New England feel to it. Many fish stores and restaurants, souvenir shops, and boating. Street parking is limited but several "all day" lots for a fee.

Helpful?
1 Thank kris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Rip Off Masters”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Went on the Striper trip on 8/25/12 , called on Monday and was told their was a 10 person minimum to sail and 25 max persons fishing for the night trip. That was a LIE! , they cramed 43 people on the trip and we ran out of bait by 10:30 at night. Tempers where hot due to the bait issue and also the 1 1/2 hour early end to the trip. Very poor perpetration on their part and very poor customer service skills by the mates and captain. If you want to be ripped off of $93 and listening to disgruntled workers then that's the boat to fish on. I had forgotten why I stopped fishing with them years ago and it all came back to half way through the trip.

Helpful?
Thank Medic1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Quaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Galilee is very quaint, with the hustle & bustle of the Block Island ferries and fishing vessels, Salty Brine State Beach and the seafood restaurants and ice cream and bakery shops.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lobster off the Boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

After a wonderful day at Narragansett beach, we swung by the docks of Galilee to buy some Lobsters off the boats just arriving back from pulling their traps. The boat was tying off their stern line when we arrived (4:30pm), and the captain, mate and dog gladly scooped 8 lobsters from the boat well - the best $48 I spent on my vacation. A perfect vacation memory.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ssbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galilee also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Galilee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing