We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nealy Perfect”
Review of Tower House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tower House B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at the Tower House B&B for 2 nights recently (August 2013) with my wife and 3 children (22, 21, 14 y.o.). This was our second time around at Tower House, the first being about 3 years ago.

The proprietor and hostess, Mary Beth Kreger, has done simply a masterful job at creating the perfect New England coastal B&B. Built in 1885, Mary Beth and her husband have painstakingly restored the Inn to its Victorian charm, with a cozy first floor parlor, a large sitting area, and a spacious dining room (all furnished with Victorian-era antiques), all overlooking the beautiful gardens and lawn. There is a large covered front porch that welcomes you, and a small back deck on which Mary Beth serves complimentary beer, wine, cocktails, soft drinks and munchies from 5-6 pm each evening.

On our first stay a few years ago the beds were uncomfortable. But this time they were perfect. Our family had a 2-room suite that was perfect for a family of 5. There were air conditioners in both rooms, negating the summer heat & humidity.

Mary Beth is the consummate B&B host. She has a warm, soft, cheerful and casual demeanor, and she is ready to strike up a conversation on just about anything. She and her husband Chris whip up the most delicious breakfasts each morning, including various iterations of eggs, breakfast meats, fresh steel cut oatmeal, homemade french toast, and assorted fresh fruits, breads & pastries. A coffee service is set out on the landing of the second floor early each morning, along with various newspapers. For an additional fee she will prepare box lunches to take with you. She will also chauffeur you to the nearby beaches, if needed.

The Inn is on a quiet residential street but is walking distance to the famous Narragansett sea wall and walkway, overlooking the ocean. It's just a bit too far to walk to the beach, however. Newport is 20 minutes away, the Block Island ferry is 15 minutes, and some of the best beaches in New England are only minutes away. For the kids, nearby attractions (right in town) include mini golf, go carts, a small carousel and similar amusements, and plenty of ice cream places! And, of course, you are surrounded by some of the best seafood restaurants around.

If you're looking for a quintessential coastal New England B&B, you will be challenged to find one better than Tower House and Mary Beth's hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days. Mary Beth is very nice and very helpful. She does every thing with a great attitude. Wonderful breakfasts! Mary Beth will bring you back and forth from the beach, so you don't have to pay for parking. She also provides beach towels and chairs, free of charge.The beds our comfortable and clean. Baths are very clean also. The problem I had with the place is that the furniture, pictures, ect. were very dusty. The table cloths in the dining room needed to be washed, and the outdoor tables needed to be cleaned.
The last time we stayed there a couple had two children and one of them continually slammed the front door, in the am. Made it hard to sleep late. A few improvements and the place would be great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 40joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently returned from a Northeast coast trip that included a four-night stay in Naragansett. We elected to stay at Tower House after reading some terrific reviews about the property and its owners, Mary Beth and Chris. Mind you we were coming with two young boys (6 and 3) so a b&b isn't usually the best option - but we wanted to give it a try...

Well, lo and behold, we knew it was the perfect choice the minute we walked through the door. Mary Beth and Chris spared no detail to ensure that our family would love our stay. They drove us to the beach and supplied chairs, toys, etc. They made great breakfasts and graciously handled some special requests. The rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious. I could go on and on....

Needless to say, we plan to return soon.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank DavidW2096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at several bed and breakfasts around the country, and we were blown away by Tower House B&B. We decided to stay at Tower House based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and definitely did not regret it! We drove down to Narragansett Friday morning and Mary Beth was nice enough since we were planning on taking the ferry to Block Island to drive us to the pier so we wouldn't have to pay for parking. Since we arrived toward the tail end of breakfast, Mary Beth invited us to snack on some food before our ferry. When we returned from Block Island, Mary Beth was there to pick us up and bring us back to Tower House where we were just in time to partake in the complimentary wine/beer and cheese hour. There are some great Adirondack chairs out in the yard, so we enjoyed the amazing weather and light snacks with our wine and beer.

For dinner Mary Beth recommended that we check out Crazy Burger, a quick ten minute walk down the road from the house. The place was featured on Dine-ins, Drive-ins, and Dives, and was a delicious place. I highly recommend checking out the restaurant, as well!

We stayed in the Caldwell Suite, which was beautiful. The bathroom was large and clean. There was also a small sitting area. The bedroom was quite large with a small sofa and I want to say a king sized bed. The bed was very comfortable.

The next morning we got to enjoy the wonderfully delicious breakfast Mary Beth makes every morning from scratch. The French toast and bacon are awesome!

We stayed only one night and were definitely sad we didn't stay longer - we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We enjoyed the nicest stay last night at Tower House. We arrived late in the evening with two small children. The owner, Mary Beth, greeted us upon our arrival. She had left wine and beer out for my husband and I, water and granola bars for the kids, and turned the AC on in our rooms. We stayed on the top floor which has two adjoining rooms with a queen bed in each, a bathroom in the middle and an additional sink. It was a lovely set-up. The room was charming, though if you are looking for refined or pristine then you might be disappointed by the more lived-in feel. We felt like we were staying at a family member's home and were perfectly pleased with the casual atmosphere. Coffee was on the landing at 7am and breakfast was ready at 8am, and the food hit the spot! We highly recommend the Tower House for its warmth and charm, the kind ownership, proximity to the beach and a terrific history to the house! (Just ask Mary Beth!)

Room Tip: Top floor is great if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oo2Ashleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We are a young couple (mid 20s) from the NYC area and were lucky enough to spend our Memorial Day weekend at the Tower House B&B. Mary Beth was more then accommodating and hospitable throughout our stay. She was kind enough to wait up late for us the night we checked in; and she even drove us to and from the Block Island ferry one day! The breakfast bacon and French toast were amazing. The afternoon snacks and happy hour were a generous addition. But the best part was Mary Beth's company, advice, stories of her family and her kind words in general. We feel like we made a great friend in Narragansett.
A great value and perfect location if nothing else! We'll be sure to head back soon.
Thanks!!!
Jake & Trish

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjabbour99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tower House B&B for 3 nights to attend a beach wedding in Narragansett. Mary Beth and Chris are warm, wonderful hosts and our Earle Suite rooms were lovely with front garden views, breezes and bird songs. The bed was comfortable and every ammenity we could need was there. Breakfast is a special treat with many options, all delicious. We hope to be back again and recommend the Tower House.

Mary Beth's restaurant recommendations Turtle Soup and Matunuck Oyster House were excellent and she shared so much local history with us which we appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
3.4 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 8 in Narragansett
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#5 of 8 in Narragansett
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
OceanCliff Hotel
OceanCliff Hotel
#18 of 21 in Newport
130 reviews
19.8 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
345 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House B&B

Address: 46 Earles Ct, Narragansett, RI 02882-3929
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range: $89 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing