We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just AWFUL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic House
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just AWFUL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Horrendous - unless of course, you enjoy the company of mold and rusty nails. I think my old fly infested, beer soaked sorority house was cleaner and better kept. Don't be fooled by the clean exterior, it's a [--]. When I complained to the management, they acted as if surprised. No wonder they collect all money upfront. What a scam. Really deserves negative 10 stars.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vandelay555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    13
    14
    33
See reviews for
20
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed here at the recommendation of a bride whose wedding I was attending and who was also staying here with the rest of her wedding party. The only positive thing I can say is that it is conveniently located and has ocean views. The cost was $155 for a standard double occupancy room on the first floor during the off-season. The price was quite steep given the state of disrepair of the hotel. The lobby is rundown and the staff was completely indifferent. The room was spacious but shabby and smelled musty like it was old and unkept. There were no blinds or shades on the window but rather a torn tarp used to block the sun. The furniture was cheap and sparse and the room was painted an obnoxious sea foam green (I am sure the paint was discounted). There was a tiny balcony off of the room that accommodates only one plastic chair and nothing else. To be truthful, I could not see evidence of dirt on the carpet or linens but did not look too carefully as I was stuck there for the night and didn't want to uncover anything. They keep emphasizing "renovations" and there is a plaque in the lobby that states the same but it is difficult to imagine what renovations could possibly have been done? I was curious how this place was dressed up in their brochure and they showed pictures of their lovely "sister" property down the street. Wise marketing decision!.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AMY05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Narragansett hotels

Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

To give the Atlantic House its due our 3rd Floor 2 bedroom Apt is very spacious with a HUGE (albeit squishy) deck. The views across the Atlantic are great and a convenient intown location with a nice sidewalk along the ocean. Upon walking in the building your nose is immediately assaulted by that you know this place is not clean, mildew type smell that only a 20 plus year old dirty carpet can have. Up 3 steep flights of stairs, down a narrow, dirty hall with exposed 2x4’s we find our large suite. Just a series of minor things like broken or missing kitchen (and bath) cabinet doors, dirty oven, 2 mis-matched coffee cups, knifes that break in half when you cut a piece of cheese, dusty shelves, paint on fixtures that do not deserve paint, a toilet that runs all the time, furnishings way past dinged up. At first we said, well this is a nice 1-star place and then thought, no, it would not even earn 1-star! But, with this much space, in this great location if they really fixed it up they could easily charge 4-500+ per night and we only paid $130 for an off season weekend. So actually, the price/value relationship is not too bad. Just know what you are getting and do not expect much and you will be fine. Oh, and the front desk knows what they have here… when asked do I need to report any of the broken items in the room they said, “oh no, we know.” And when I told them how I had turned off the water to the toilet at night to keep it from running they basically said, “oh, that works”. Finally, I hope they at least replace the deck this off-season before someone falls thru next year.

Room Tip: Be sure you at least get oceanfront room with a deck and view. Ask if deck is safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mainah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Unfortunately we did not check Trip Advisor before making our reservation, big mistake. This hotel was on a list of recommendations provided by the wedding couple, so we went ahead with booking for 2 nights. The hotel is worn-down and has a dirty feeling. I didn't want to take off my shoes, touch the comforter, or get into the shower.

We sucked it up and stayed 1 night, but after a horrible night sleep checked out and made accomodations at a nearby bed & breakfast. Yes, it's located on the beach - but, any view is not worth an unkept room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stacy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed in the 3rd floor apartment (302 - center). Take their warning of "no elevator" to heart. Access to the 3rd floor apartments is in the back and very steep; not suitable for young children or those with health issues. The hallway access is dirty and reminded me of very poor college housing. The layout of the apartment was good - large open room just like you see in the photos but the photos have to be more than several years old (and nothing has changed in the apartment since they were taken). The view from the private deck can't be beat BUT you had to be careful as many of the floor boards were loose or weak. When I reported that fact to the desk the response was "really?" (felt like "what do you want me to do about it"). The outside furniture was extremely old and dirty - one chair completely broken but still left there. The kitchen was questionable at best - missing cupboard door; broken trash compactor. There were not enough dishes and silverware for 4 people and what was there was a mixture - not that we would use any of it. Frig worked but needed cleaning inside. The rooms were clean. TVs worked. Beds OK. Linens and towels were very clean and the soaps/shampoos in bathrooms were very nice/up scale which made us laugh given the surroundings. Bathrooms looked like they might have new floors but everything else in baths was old; not fancy but clean and everything worked/water pressure and temp good. King bed was a bit lumpy. Second bedroom was barely big enough for 2 beds and not much more. Actually had a (locked) door out into the hallway that had 1 inch opening at bottom. Would not put young children in this room. The two fans provided in that room were needed -- no A/C and poor air circulation. There was A/C in main room and master bedroom.

We moved out after one night -- A/C in master bedroom leaked all over the floor and rug was soaked. We were sure it had to be dripping into the room below. Maintenance did come and the guy at the front desk was nice about things. Offered us another smaller room but we decided to leave. They did refund our money. Apparently A/C has been an ongoing issue as there was no surprise when I reported it. Our concern was mold due to the mild musty smell in the apartment. Overall we were very disappointed. We had hoped given some of the positive reviews early in 2011 as well as the conversation I had with someone there months before when renovations were going on that this spot would be OK but we were far happier in the local Hampton Inn on Rt 9. Not as much space and no great views but for $125/night is was clean and safe.

I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone unless the owner guts the inside and starts over. The view is just not worth it. We wished we had spent more money and rented a house or Family Room at the Village Inn down the street. (And the person who said the coffee and muffins in the morning were nice -- there is a card table in the entrance way with 2 Mr Coffee machines. No muffins in sight).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank OnceAYearTraveler042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Sc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This historic hotel is well kept but not fancy; it had everything I needed for a comfortable stay. Even better, it is along the beach road, great view, great walks. Staff was always friendly and helpful. My second stay, and not my last!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antnikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here because it was convenient to a wedding reception we were attending at the Village Inn about 5 minutes away. We paid over $160.00 (1 night) so was expecting much more. They also charged our credit card on the day we made the reservation, which was 2 mos. before our arrival! That should've been a red flag right there.

Even though the beach is right across the street, the view from our room was of a side of the building. This hotel is old, floors are wobbly, and the bathroom reeked of urine. It smelled so bad, it drifted into the bedroom so we had to close the bathroom door. The king size bed was way too big for the room. We had 1 foot of space between the bed and the bureau where the TV sat to get to the front door. The carpeting and furniture were all ratty and beat up, maybe they were purchased from the goodwill.

Fortunately, we only stayed one night and couldn't wait to get out of there. We should've read the Tripadvisor comments before picking this hotel, but it was one of the hotels the wedding party recommended so we didn't even think to look up Tripadvisor. Lesson learned!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Norlando96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
0.2 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 8 in Narragansett
3.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
3.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House

Property: Atlantic House
Address: 85 Ocean Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-1360
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at The Atlantic House, one of the earliest established hotels at Narragansett Pier(Originally built during the winter of 1866-67) We are located on the famous and scenic Ocean Road, with panoramic views of Narragansett Bay. Enjoy the 2nd floor deck. Relax in one of our full ocean view guest rooms with a separate sitting parlor and step out on your private balcony, breathe the fresh ocean air, and take in the spectacular view. For your convenience, all rooms have individual climate control, microwave ovens, small refrigerators, hair dryers, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards and color television with cable reception. All rooms are equipped with electronic entry lock security systems. Please be aware that because of the age of this historical hotel, there is no elevator. The Atlantic House is central to countless recreational and cultural activities such as golf, tennis, boating, museums, historical landmarks and ferries to Block Island and Martha's Vineyard. Narragansett Beach, Shops of the village and restaurants all a short walk from our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic House Hotel Narragansett
Atlantic Hotel Narragansett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing