We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of The Anchor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Certificate of Excellence
East Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband found out about this motel by accident while looking to book a room at another hotel. The great reviews about the 'Anchor Motel' from tripadvisor.com got his attention and he was able to book a room at their recently renovated Bed & Breakfast. He was lucky to have found vacancy at such short notice because someone had cancelled. My family and I loved the place! The room was nice, very clean and spacious. The breakfast muffins were just to die for. The motel is within walking distance from the beach and great restaurants for seafood lovers. The motel offers free wifi and attendants are so extremely nice. We had a great two-day stay. We will be back for sure :)

Room Tip: Room 14 has sea view but rooms at the bed & breakfast are spacious and great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HerreraHomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    62
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
73
54
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Anchor hotel is the perfect place to stay, located across from the beach. It is clean and the people that run the Hotel are very nice. Each day your room is cleaned and spotless. The beds are comfortable and the pillows are soft. Prices are reasonable. I will definitely chose the Anchor hotel again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Spent a wonderful time in Narragansett last week and stayed at the Anchor Motel. It was our first time there and we are going back again in July. The rooms are small but so very very clean. The property is well maintained and everyone was so pleasant. You just about trip into the ocean when you walk out the door that is how close you are. We had nice neighbors on both sides of us and spent time chatting with them. One of our neighbors has been going to the Anchor for 18 years so they had many suggestions for things to do in the area. We spent many years going to Misquamicut because my child liked waves but he's grown up and my mother just can't handle the under toe anymore. Scarborough beach is across the street and does not have the under toe nor the huge waves which made it easier for her. I found out about the Anchor Motel strictly by accident while talking to a gentlemen I met at a birthday party who was from Rhode Island. I'm glad I took his advice. I booked my travel plans right on March 1 as it fills up really quick. Can't wait to go back in July.

Room Tip: I believe rooms 14 and 15 are larger. We didn't stay in our room much. Spent most of the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weezie01375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

As previous reviews have said, the rooms are pretty simple but they're clean. In my opinion, you shouldn't need anything too fancy when you're steps away from a beautiful beach because you should spend the majority of your time there, not your room. Don't know about the other hotels in Narragansett but I can see how this is the top-rated.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonhomeu
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Spent a chilly Memorial Day weekend here in the Bed & Breakfast house next to the motel, which felt brand new. It was spotlessly clean and adorably decorated with a nautical theme. We slept very well here - it was perfectly quiet - and I really appreciate that they had a recycle bin and a mini-fridge in the room. Breakfast is just a muffin so you shouldn't plan on a full spread, but it's the perfect place to stay by the beach if you are in the area. We were able to visit Newport and Block Island and it was conveniently located to both.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonhomeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

the anchor motel is definitely where you want to stay if you're visiting this area. meticulously clean comfortable and the owners are so nice, we stayed 2 nights memorial day weekend. even though the weather didn't cooperate it was a great getaway. we cant wait to come back, we had breakfast at the old lighthouse diner. soooo much good food, for not a lot of money!!!!! and for dinner our first night we tried the crazy burger. it was so delicious, we ate dinner the second night as well. it's BYOB. and was featured on diners driveins and dives. check it out. happy happy happy !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: every room has an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debhersheym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham,ct
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

we stayed there the weekend of Mother's day. very clean, nice people.right across from the beach we are going back in aug with our daughter and 2 little grandsons. wonderful place for children.only wish there was a pool

Room Tip: any one is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emzDurham_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
2.8 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
57 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
18.7 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
305 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Motel

Property: The Anchor Motel
Address: 825 Ocean Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-1317
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Scarborough State Beach; a few steps across the small two-lane road and you are on the beach! Fifteen immaculate rooms each with an ocean view and a private deck. Non-smoking motel, great for guests of all ages. Rooms have two double beds (or one king-sized bed), bathroom, refrigerator, AC/heater, cable TV, and wireless internet. Close to the Block Island ferry, the historic towers, Point Judith Lighthouse, and the University of Rhode Island. Continental breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Anchor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Motel Rhode Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing