We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CLEAN, accommodating owner, and so convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CLEAN, accommodating owner, and so convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at this motel for about 8 hrs- we had a long drive and needed somewhere to stay before getting the ferry to block island. My husband had difficulty finding a place that would accommodate avery late arrival, but the anchor motel was happy to do so. I come from family that rents beach houses and has done the weekly cleaning themselves for decades because no one else will do it as well. With that in mind, i found our room to be exceptionally clean (even the grout, baseboards, corners). The furnishings are modest but the price reflects that, and the location across from the beach seemed really convenient. Our plan did not include staying in the area longer, but if it had we certainly would have stayed longer at the anchor motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antonette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    61
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
70
53
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stumbled upon this little motel and was very pleased with my stay. The staff was friendly and the location cannot be beat. It is directly across from a lovely beach. Prices were reasonable and the room was very clean.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about wifi - request a room close to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BestOfWhatsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for one night for a last minute beach trip. Would stay again in a heartbeat! It is a modest, family run motel that was clean and quiet. The beach across the street is beautiful and it was so nice to be so close. Lovely.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Anchor Motel is one of those increasingly rare establishments - family-run instead of a franchise. As soon as you arrive you can see the owners care about the place. Everything is well-maintained, clean and efficient, yet, also laid-back and comfortable. Owner's Gene Cournoyer and his daughter, Christine, made us feel at home.

My husband and I found it to be the perfect place to stay during our first visit to Rhode Island. We'd definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mundoreiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Anchor Motel - two big plusses 1) just across the road from an excellent beach (can go back to the motel to pee even!!!) 2) CLEAN!. The Wifi did not work unless you want to go sit in front of their office, and our TV required me to input a channel number rather than just clicking up/down. But, then again why are you on vacation across from the ocean anyway? You shouldn't be there to watch TV or surf the web. No coffee machine or hair drier. We just brought our own. Rooms are small. No table at all, but the rooms do have a small frig. Close to Point Judith restaurants, and by taking a left out of their parking lot and driving north you find many more restaurants. Did I mention it's RIGHT ACROSS A LITTLE ROAD FROM THE OCEAN? AND IT'S CLEAN!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STX_M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great location, view, staff and clean. Basic motel room, but very clean! Good free coffee and donuts in the morning. We walked to the beach, no $20. parking fee. This was our first time and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommicat135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden,CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in the B & B part of this hotel. Rooms were spotless.
Nothing fancy but more then adequate, You can hear the ocean from your room at night!
Less then 5 minute walk to beach (no parking fees!)
Muffins and Donuts were not the best...but there was fresh coffee waiting outside our room
in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The b&b rooms have a decent size yard in front for the kids to run around in, and it shares a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
1.4 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
10.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Motel

Property: The Anchor Motel
Address: 825 Ocean Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-1317
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Scarborough State Beach; a few steps across the small two-lane road and you are on the beach! Fifteen immaculate rooms each with an ocean view and a private deck. Non-smoking motel, great for guests of all ages. Rooms have two double beds (or one king-sized bed), bathroom, refrigerator, AC/heater, cable TV, and wireless internet. Close to the Block Island ferry, the historic towers, Point Judith Lighthouse, and the University of Rhode Island. Continental breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Anchor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Motel Rhode Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing