We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and across the street from the beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Anchor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and across the street from the beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great location, view, staff and clean. Basic motel room, but very clean! Good free coffee and donuts in the morning. We walked to the beach, no $20. parking fee. This was our first time and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommicat135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    62
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
71
53
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meriden,CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in the B & B part of this hotel. Rooms were spotless.
Nothing fancy but more then adequate, You can hear the ocean from your room at night!
Less then 5 minute walk to beach (no parking fees!)
Muffins and Donuts were not the best...but there was fresh coffee waiting outside our room
in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The b&b rooms have a decent size yard in front for the kids to run around in, and it shares a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is the second year we have stayed at the Anchor Motel. To give it a really high review, I guess it would need lots of amenities...this does not have those. It is a basic roadside motel, like those back in the 60s...like the Bates motel but not at all creepy. It is bright and white and clean...but VERY basic. The TV is teeny and there is a small fridge and that's it. The things that really make this place is (A) it is across the street from the beach; (2) it is in a quite friendly neighborhood; (C) it is across the street from the beach; (D) it is a very clean, family-owned business; (5) Newport is 20 minutes away; (6) it is right across from Scarborough beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carcket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Connecticut 06027
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

So, our family loves Scarborough Beach - and it finally dawned on us that we should try to find a hotel in that area. We chose the Anchor Motel back in February and just returned...and we were delighted. It's just steps to the beach and the B&B portion of the motel was cute and clean...and the fresh baked muffins were delicious! The air conditioner worked well, the owners were sweet and our overall experience wast GREAT! Thanks!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASSACHUSETTS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Depending on whether you want a motel room or B&B room (only 2 rooms) the convenience of the beach across the street with boardwalk and close proximity to Point Judith, Newport this is the place. Lovely porch at B&B or individual mini porch at motel rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jessemassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

What a great, clean and perfect beach lover's place to stay! Generous size motel room with great size bathroom and mini fridge! Super nice, family owned place, that's steps from the beach! Scarborough beach is perfect for everyone and you can easily go back and forth from beach to room! No need to park a car at beach or even walk far to get a perfect beach spot! Newport is close and town of Narraganset is a short car ride down the road! Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool or restaurant..end room was sunny very early but you could hear the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed in the B & B portion. The room was comfortable and meticulously clean (even the back corners of the closet and medicine cabinet didn't have a trace of dirt). At this price point, that was a very pleasant surprise! The bed and pillows were comfortable. There is a large parking lot (for the beach) across the street, but since it was the off-season it was closed. I imagine during the peak season there might be more traffic and noise, but while I was there it was quiet and peaceful. I enjoyed sitting on the porch and listening to the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
1.4 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
18.7 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Motel

Property: The Anchor Motel
Address: 825 Ocean Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-1317
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Scarborough State Beach; a few steps across the small two-lane road and you are on the beach! Fifteen immaculate rooms each with an ocean view and a private deck. Non-smoking motel, great for guests of all ages. Rooms have two double beds (or one king-sized bed), bathroom, refrigerator, AC/heater, cable TV, and wireless internet. Close to the Block Island ferry, the historic towers, Point Judith Lighthouse, and the University of Rhode Island. Continental breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Anchor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Motel Rhode Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing