We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For beach lovers!!!”
Review of The Anchor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For beach lovers!!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Amazing, amazing, amazing location! Walk out your door and literally trip onto the beach.

Small, intimate, no frills facility with passionate owners and staff. Gene and his family have done this place justice since they have taken it over.

Close to downtown Narragansett and across the street from BEAUTIFUL Scarborough State Park and Beach.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeHooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    62
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
73
54
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

While planning a trip to New England to attend my niece's wedding, I decided to roll my trip into a minivacation and head down to the Rhode island Beach for a few days. Last trip out there, I took my family down to Narragansett RI's Scarborough Beach. My motel stay was less than comfortable back then, so I shopped around and found the Anchor Motel at Scarborough Beach. They have a bed and breakfast unit available that comes with hot coffee and fresh baked breakfast muffins. I booked for 2 nights in August, 2011. When calling this motel, the staff was always helpful and cheerful, a good sign. Price was $265/night. This motel is right on the ocean, across the street from Scarborough Beach. When I got there, I was able to check in early (thank you!) and the room was immaculate, updated, teriffic bathroom with tub, small refrigerator for wine, desk, armoire with remote television and cable, high speed internet,teriffic air cond., windows that when you open at night, you can hear the surf pounding on the beach. I could park off the street right in front of the unit. I had a front porch where I could sit out and watch the ocean. Breakfast was delivered quietly, very very early, and I am an early riser, so the coffee was a godsend. What a great relaxing wonderful 2 days I spent at the Anchor Motel. Thank you for your hospitality, location, and great customer service.

Room Tip: choose the bed and breakfast suite, same price as the double room in the main motel, only in a separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeborahfromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We love motels where you can park right outside your room and be in a location you enjoy! The Anchor Motel is a perfect example of this genre. The desk person was very helpful and suggested a great nearby place for us to eat. We'd love to go back there for a longer visit next time.

Room Tip: The room on the end has a better view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyCouple22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Very small motel-nothing flashy-but it is clean, the staff is very friendly, and for the most part, you step out your door on to the beach. You do have to drive a couple miles in either direction to get meals, etc., but I think its worth it. I will be a repeat customer without question.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plgriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This motel is absolutely adorable. It is small, with only 15 rooms, all on one floor. The location is prime, directly across the road is Scarborough State beach (what a lovely little beach). After you check-in, you can walk right across the road to the beach and avoid parking fees. There is even a place to clean your feet after leaving the beach. The rooms are small and basic, but spotless. The owners obviously care about their hotel. We stayed in a room with two double beds. The beds were comfortable overall. There was a standard t.v. and hotel furniture was certainly not luxurious, but it definitely had charm. Each morning, they served coffee in the lobby and donuts...a nice touch. The only thing I would complain about was the cost...it jumped from $149 to $229 for the night of July 1...not even technically the 4th of July weekend yet. I really enjoyed our little stay at this hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a beach view window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpjande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We spent four days that this lovely, immaculte, family run motel. It was perfect in every way. The location is convenient to the beautiful beach - just steps away and a short drive to restaurants, shops, etc. This is a very nice place to stay at a wonderful area of the Rhode Island shore.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rania1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

So clean and neat as a pin! It was very funny that the lock on our door jammed and we had to climb out the window! The owner was on it within minutes to repair the problem. Thanks so much for a great time! We really enjoyed our stay and we will be back! Looking forward to booking our rooms for next summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhogan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
2.8 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
57 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
18.7 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
306 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Motel

Property: The Anchor Motel
Address: 825 Ocean Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-1317
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Scarborough State Beach; a few steps across the small two-lane road and you are on the beach! Fifteen immaculate rooms each with an ocean view and a private deck. Non-smoking motel, great for guests of all ages. Rooms have two double beds (or one king-sized bed), bathroom, refrigerator, AC/heater, cable TV, and wireless internet. Close to the Block Island ferry, the historic towers, Point Judith Lighthouse, and the University of Rhode Island. Continental breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Anchor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Motel Rhode Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing