We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scarborough Beach Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
westchester, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“stay away”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

i spent a weekend here in september 2009. the hotel is plain and simple. but dated. it is right across the street from the beach but that doesnt make up for its flaws. the extra money i shelled out for the efficiency kitchen turned out to be a small microwave and a refrigerator smaller than those you got in your freshman dorm. management is uncooperative and not willing to accede to reasonable requests. the hotel was filled almost exlcusively with people doing a triathlon that weekend. given the race was sunday morning all the participants would not be finished until noon or 1pm. mgmt refused late checkout after 11:30 am even though the hotel had little or no guests coming the next day. they forced us to pay an extra half day just to stay until 3pm. this was typical of thier attitude to all requests so i would find a hotel with a more agreeable management and something better than a microwave advertised as a kitchen

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshuas45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    26
    11
    16
See reviews for
41
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, CT
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We arrived on Thursday and our room was ready early - so we got in. We were in an efficiency unit. It appeared freshly painted and clean. Being on the beach there is a bit of a moisture problem - so keep the air on. The rugs showed signs of wear - but were clean! We had a GREAT time. The staff was awesome - couldn't do enough for you! It's not a resort; its not the Marroitt - but for a beach MOTEL - it was FABULOUS!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkotlarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We arrived at 4pm on Friday and the room had no curtains. We were told to go somewhere and they would install new ones within 20 minutes. One hour later, still no curtains but three people in our rooming trying to figure it out. Two hours later, came back to relax and there was a terrible smell coming from the bathroom. Could not figure out the order all night, closed door and bought candles. Next day, smell was worse and figured out it was the septic system backing up into the plumbing causing the smell. Two nights, $465 dollars later, we had a dirty, smelly room for the weekend. I would never, ever stay there again and I will not recommend anyone else to stay there either.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leluna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Narragansett hotels

New York
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed here over Memorial Weekend 2009. It was the biggest waste of money. Talk about price gouging!!!!!. For $164 a night, we got hard beds and grungy carpet that left your feet/ socks filthy. The shower and sink managed to soak the bathroom every time they were turned on. The hot water took forever to come out of the shower. I think the sheets were clean. The owner was difficult to understand. The only plus was the location. We would never recommend that hotel again nor ever stay there. Glad to leave. I felt like I had to disinfect all clothing upon returning home. The motel had the nerve to put an envelope in the room for housekeeper tips. Come on!!! If the rooms actually felt clean, maybe.....I've been to motels that charged less, that were cleaner.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford,CT
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2008

What a perfect place to get away from it all!!! Except the beach which was right across the street. My husband, daughter and I had five great days at the Scarborough and we have nothing but good memories. The owners and employees were very friendly and willing to accomodate us. It's not a really large place which made it nice cause you could have your privacy as well as a little conversation with your nieghbors if you chose to. We will definetly return to the Scarborough and have another wonderful stay. The owners were more than happy to show us the efficiency rooms cause that's what we'd like to do next year!! Thanks sooo much from room 12!!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfamily03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

This motel is directly across the street from Scarborough Beach in Narragansett, RI. My friends and I were expecting the worst for the low price of a beach "motel", but we were pleasantly surprised! Although it is obviously an older property, it has been well maintained and has had recent updates (new paint, windows, a/c, etc). We were very comfortable and the room was nice and clean. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Liked — Great location, comfortable and clean.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jla07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We had four rooms booked for our family groups for 5 days at Scarborough beach Motel that is only Motel truly right across beach. We had all kinds of fun at beach everyday. This is great location for us as we were talking to other people at beach who stayed at other small motel they were not happy at all from their conversation. Scarborough beach motel is not at all five star motel, I would say it will fall into 2 to 3 star motel with basic facilities. It was clean, quite, odor-free, comfortable bedding in room and average in appearance. Room had a small refrigerator, microwave, cable TV and there were a coffee and donut at front desk every morning that help us as we were on limited budget this year.
This was our 4th year at the same location and stayed every year at different location now we have decided to stay at Scarborough beach motel now on until they keep us happy and I am sure they will.
All I can say about the poor reviews regarding this motel (and many others), which promote their own motel by the so-called 'guest'. I wouldn't discount any motel if there were at least a few decent reviews of motel.

  • Liked — right across beach
  • Disliked — no walking distance shopping
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Niantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
3.0 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#5 of 8 in Narragansett
83 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
18.4 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Beach Motel

Property: Scarborough Beach Motel
Address: 901 Ocean Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-1372
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scarborough Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a secluded getaway or a family vacation, you will find the service, hospitability and charmingly appointed accommodations that you desire at Scarborough Beach Motel. Conveniently located in Narragansett, directly across from the ocean and Scarborough Beach, we offer the luxury of shopping, dining, waterfront activates and much more- all within a few miles! At Scarborough Beach Motel, we have something for guests of all ages to enjoy. With your comfort in mind, we offer individual rooms with single, double, or triple beds, as well as Efficiency rooms with the option of a pull out couch for additional sleeping. Our accommodations are non-smoking and have been recently renovated with thoughtful decorations and amenities including one complimentary parking space per room, air conditioning, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. We invite you to visit our website for additional information on pricing and room reservations, then bring your friends and family to experience for yourself by Scarborough Beach Motel is everything that you expect from a vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scarborough Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Beach Ri
Scarborough Beach Hotel Ri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing