We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturesque Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Richards

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Richards
Ranked #5 of 10 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Picturesque Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have just returned from a most delightful weekend at the Richards. Those who appreciate beautiful detail will not be disappointed. From the exquisite floral wallpaper to the gourmet breakfast spread, the Richards is nothing short of luxurious. I found every minute spent there nearly dreamlike. The beautiful airy lawn is something out of a Styron novel and Mr. and Mrs. Richards treated my girlfriends and I like family. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this magical spot and will long be dreaming of my weekend spent amidst its blue hydrangeas and saltspray roses.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Recently spent an anniversary weekend at the Richards in the "blue room". The room was great...nice comfy bed and spacious bath! Nancy made a delicious breakfast each morning that included warm homemade muffins, fresh fruit, an egg dish one day and yummy blueberry pancakes the other. Nancy and Steve were terrific hosts and we learned a lot about the home and the Narragansett area. The conversation flowed easily at the breakfast table with the hosts and guests. We enjoyed sharing this time meeting new, warm, interesting people. The gardens and grounds are truly beautiful and a result of Nancy's labor of love. Take a walk on the path from the yard to the ocean. Sitting on the rocks and watching the ocean waves is a nice way to spend a reflective and peaceful time. You can't beat the location too! Centrally located to everything making it really easy to explore the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms had their own private bath except for the yellow room. The bath for that room was in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaStaffierSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Excellent room, gardens, breakfast, conversation....What more could you ask?

Room Tip: They do have an elevator if you have trouble with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I've been staying with the Richards a few days each summer for the last few years and have had a wonderful time every time. The house is huge and well-designed as a guest house, with high ceilings, spacious suites and lots of air. There's a timeless feeling to the place that's very tranquil and calming. Yet they do have good Wifi so one isn't completely cut off. The location is great with walking distance to the ocean and a short hop to lots of scenic spots. Nancy cooks a terrific breakfast every morning and the atmosphere around the table is convivial, with people from all over trading stories about their local exploits. This is a place to savor the real Rhode Island.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at The Richards for a friend's wedding in Late October 2011. The house was nice, furniture, bedding was ok. As another reviewer mentioned, there were no TV's, so if you're going for a getting away from it all vacation you're in luck. We knew everyone staying in the house the weekend we were there as it was all members of the wedding party so we were not so concerned about not having locks on the doors but that would have bothered me if I wasn't staying with all friends.
The downside of this b&b is that the owners never seemed to leave us alone. Everytime we went anywhere in the house they would just pop up and start talking to us and not stop. And the conversation topics were sometimes strange. Since we were with friends we wanted to hang out together, not with two strangers.
Another annoying thing was that breakfast was at a set time every day. If you were late you didn't get anything. And the set time was early. If you didn't want to go to breakfast the hosts acted offended. It was very uncomfortable.
There was also an awkward encounter when we were asked to pay our bill (by cash or check) two days before we left. As we were leaving the house to attend a wedding event out popped one of the hosts and said, oh can you pay now? It was very strange and made us feel unwelcome.
In all it was an overall uncomfortable experience and i know my other friends who stayed there felt the same way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank allison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our family greatly enjoyed our stay for a week at the charming home of Nancy and Steven Richards in Narragansett near the shore. The house is located in a quiet, beautiful area, yet is conveniently close to many places of interest.

We occupied the suite with two bedrooms, a sitting room and a private bathroom; all the rooms were clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated.

The Richards are friendly, interesting people with whom we chatted often and who advised us about attractions and restaurants in the area.

Every morning, we looked forward with happy anticipation to breakfast for the delicious food prepared by Nancy and the engaging conversations led by Steven with the participation of the guests. Nancy baked a different kind of muffin each day accompanying fresh fruit as a prelude to the main dish. The publication of Nancy's cookbook is eagerly awaited.

The Richards also maintain a beautiful, inviting garden that includes a small pond with fish.

Our sixteen-year-old son was not eager to go on vacation with us but now enthusiastically looks forward to returning to the Richards' bed and breakfast in the future.

We wish to thank the Richards for a pleasant and restful vacation.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sophia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Well, the many highly positive reviews here seem to cover the accommodations, breakfast, hosts, so I will only add a little more about what my wife and I especially enjoyed. The house is charming and grounds are beautiful, and we enjoyed talking about the house and grounds with the friendly owners. The home and area have an interesting history. Also, my wife and I like taking walks, and The Richards has a quiet, very pleasant path to the shore. While there is no trail at the shore, it was easy to step from one flat rock to another so we walked a goodly distance. It was windy day when we were there and, with the waves were crashing on the big boulders, we thought it more scenic than Newport's Cliff walk (though without the most ostentatious houses at Newport.)

Room Tip: Blue room is great - - large, sunny, big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredCouple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
1.0 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
9.0 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richards

Property: The Richards
Address: 144 Gibson Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882-3949
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English country house furnished with a collection of antiques. The property is on a quiet road with beautiful gardens including a shade garden, a white garden and a koi pond. Quiet and relaxing setting. Full breakfast is served. We now have airconditioning and Wi-Fi! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing