We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our Rhode Island visit”
Review of The Richards

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Richards
Ranked #5 of 10 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Cairo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A highlight of our Rhode Island visit”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had a family reunion at the Richards and we couldn't have chosen a better place! The house is a beautiful historic building, cozy and comfortable, and very tastefully furnished. The gardens are amazing with a lovely path leading to the ocean and the breakfasts were great. We stayed for 5 days and everyday we had a different delicious homemade meal! The hosts Steve & Nancy are delightful and we all loved our stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the Richards for 3 nights in August. It was a last minute trip and we were very pleased with the accomodations. We were traveling with our 2 teenage sons (15 and 13) and the 2nd floor "suite" was perfect for us: two bedrooms (one w/ king size bed, the other w/ a queen bed), a sitting room and private bathroom. Nancy and Steve were great hosts. Breakfast was delicious. Perfect location on a quiet residential street, just a short drive to several different beaches. We kept going back to Narragansett Town Beach because we loved it. The waves were perfect for boogie boarding. The Richards is also close to restaurants and the ferry to Block Island. Great area to ride bikes or go running.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pack-lightly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at many Bed & Breakfasts in New England but this was by far our favorite! This gorgeous, stately, stone manor made me feel like I was in a Bronte novel especially since our room had wonderful views of the lush grounds that have several gardens and there's even a path that leads to the ocean. We stayed in the Blue Room which was larger than we expected and immaculately clean!

The homeowners were really down to earth and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed chatting with them. We already can't wait to return in the Fall or Winter!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We discovered a true gem when we stayed at this lovely B&B. Although you feel as though you have stepped back in time, the amenities are perfect. The breakfast is FABULOUS. The Inn keepers are charming and the grounds are spectacular. The convenient but private and quiet location makes for a perfect visit to Narragansett or nearby Newport, RI.

Room Tip: Don't stay at a B&B if you are a TV junky
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mabeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was our first stay at The Richards and we are already looking forward to returning next summer. We've stayed at a few B&Bs in Narragansett (all of which were good experiences), but The Richards was by far the nicest and most hospitable. Nancy and Steve are gracious hosts who both have a great sense of humor. They were able to tell us a lot about the historic house's history (we were very curious to know about the home) and knew the area so well. It was obvious that they were really invested in providing a wonderful experience for each of their guests. The room was beautiful, clean, and air conditioned and breakfast was great. From the moment we arrived until we left, we felt welcomed and at home at The Richards.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank court9787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed at the Richard's for two nights in July 2011 and the trip couldn't have gone better! The house is incredible; built in the 19th century out of stone, it feels like a castle. The rooms were clean and very nice with a/c which was necessary because there was a brutal heat wave. Breakfast was fantastic both mornings: fresh fruit, muffins, and sausage each morning with a main course of eggs one morning and blueberry cornmeal pancakes the next. Nancy and Steve couldn't have been better hosts. It truly felt as if I was a welcome guest staying in their home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAKnights2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We just returned after an enjoyable 3 night stay at The Richards B & B. The historic home is elegant on the inside and beautiful on the outside. The garden is amazing and there is a quaint screened gazebo and hammock next to a peaceful Koi pond where I felt I had died and gone to heaven! The innkeepers are down-to-earth and charming. The rooms we had were comfortable, immaculate and air conditioned. The shower was strong and had plenty of hot water. Each morning we were served a delicious homemade breakfast served on gorgeous china in an incredible dining room. There is a pretty path behind the house which leads to past a castle to a magnificent, rocky oasis where the Atlantic Ocean waves crashed with great beauty. Even our teenaged daughter was impressed and said it was the nicest place she has stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayflowers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
1.0 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#6 of 8 in Narragansett
72 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
211 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
148 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
193 reviews
9.0 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richards

Property: The Richards
Address: 144 Gibson Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882-3949
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English country house furnished with a collection of antiques. The property is on a quiet road with beautiful gardens including a shade garden, a white garden and a koi pond. Quiet and relaxing setting. Full breakfast is served. We now have airconditioning and Wi-Fi! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing