We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B experience I have had”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Richards

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Richards
Ranked #5 of 10 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Best B&B experience I have had”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed at the Richard's for two nights in July 2011 and the trip couldn't have gone better! The house is incredible; built in the 19th century out of stone, it feels like a castle. The rooms were clean and very nice with a/c which was necessary because there was a brutal heat wave. Breakfast was fantastic both mornings: fresh fruit, muffins, and sausage each morning with a main course of eggs one morning and blueberry cornmeal pancakes the next. Nancy and Steve couldn't have been better hosts. It truly felt as if I was a welcome guest staying in their home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAKnights2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We just returned after an enjoyable 3 night stay at The Richards B & B. The historic home is elegant on the inside and beautiful on the outside. The garden is amazing and there is a quaint screened gazebo and hammock next to a peaceful Koi pond where I felt I had died and gone to heaven! The innkeepers are down-to-earth and charming. The rooms we had were comfortable, immaculate and air conditioned. The shower was strong and had plenty of hot water. Each morning we were served a delicious homemade breakfast served on gorgeous china in an incredible dining room. There is a pretty path behind the house which leads to past a castle to a magnificent, rocky oasis where the Atlantic Ocean waves crashed with great beauty. Even our teenaged daughter was impressed and said it was the nicest place she has stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayflowers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our first stay with the Richards BNB will not be our last. We thoroughly enjoyed the warm hospitality our hosts bestowed as well as clean and comfortable accommodations in their historic Inn.

Nancy & Steve, made us feel welcome and they were more than happy to provide helpful info about local activities and great restaurants.

The breakfast menu changed daily. Everything was prepared from scratch - from fresh fruit to homemade blueberries muffins, Johnny cakes, and fancy egg dishes - to name a few of our favorites.

The grounds outdoors were impeccably maintained resembling an olde English garden. The Koi pond was well stocked and colorful.

Thank you Nancy & Steve for sharing your lovely home and creating a wonderful and unforgetable B&B experience for us! We look forward to our next visit in the Fall!

The Thorntons from NH

Room Tip: The Blue Room - an excellent choice for brightness and spaciousness. The King bed was extremely comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janthornton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This was our third stay with Nancy and Steven in their lovely B & B. It was the end of my husband's 50th birthday bash and we decided to share the east coast with our family from California. The rooms were comfortable, clean and cool in spite of the very hot weather outside. The beach was a short walk through the garden via a stone footpath and the Ferry terminal to Block Island, a scant 10 minutes away; a place we visited on our second day. Being an Interior Designer, I am always very pleased with this tastefully appointed historic home. It was wonderful to see the newest of Nancy's gardens and the Koi pond. Each room displays an attention to detail in what I call an English manor style. The breakfasts were divine and the service was exceptional. The first morning, Nancy served fresh fruit, blueberry muffins, bacon and a lovely zucchini frittata. The next, a melon with mint, chocolate with coconut muffins and sausages with orange french toast, very yummy~ of course, fresh juices and coffee. We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: all of the rooms are unique and comfortable, but our favorite is the Lavender room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraStranlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We arrived on the late side because we had to check our daughter into Univ of R.I. before arrving at this B&B at around 9 p.m. The owners were very welcoming and gracious, making us very comfortable and offering suggestions for nearby restaurants that might still be able to seat us. The bed was very comfortable. There were two other couples staying at the B&B and we all enjoyed a delicious homecooked gourmet breakfast both days. We took a walk one day through an amazing trail down to the very scenic (but rocky!!) beach. Then at the excellent recommendation of the owners went a few towns over to a fantastic seafood restaurant. All in all a very warm and comfortable stay. Our daughter will be attending nearby U.R.I. for 4 years so i bet we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaritpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you want to have a bad Bed and Breakfast experience stay here! We stayed for two nights in June and it was not a pleasant experience at all! House was dark old and musty, the beds were old and very uncomfortable. The owners were not the most pleasant complained about how much work it was to have a bed and breakfast etc, etc. We also were quoted a rate on the phone and then were charged another. When questioned the price owner was extremely RUDE and disrespectful! It is sad that some people are in the hospitality business and have clue as to what it is to be kind and how to run an honest business. My advice is you would be better at a cheap roadside hotel/motel than at this place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnycrossrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therichards144, Owner at The Richards, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
It is unbelievable to read this negative review when the guests who wrote this terrible review wrote in our guestbook in our home "Thank you for making our stay a wonderful experience" on 6/27.
Here is why this review was written:
The guest called to inquire about the 2 bedroom suite. I told him the price was $180 for 2 people. I suggested he consider the blue room because it was $175 with a larger bathroom with a tub and shower. He then said he wanted to use both of the bedrooms in the suite. I then told him it was $200 to use both bedrooms. He agreed and sent me a one night deposit of $200. I sent a confirmation letter with the balance due of $200 + $52 in taxes. They didn't mention any issues during their stay and seemed to enjoy the weekend. They even wrote a nice entry in our guestbook. Upon departure the paid the balance. The next day they emailed and said we overcharged them. We explained the above and asked to speak with them personally. A few days later I received an unpleasant phone call from the guest accusing me of lying and insisting that I overcharged them. She then said if I didn't return her $45.20 that she believed I over charged her, she would write to the BBB, write bad reviews about our B and B, and tell everyone what a horrible place it was. She knew that it would hurt our business. I'm sorry what started out as a pleasant experience turned so unpleasant because they seemed very nice when they were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed the night for a wedding on the beach near by and fell in love with the place.
Great breakfast, clean rooms & bathroom, pleasant service, beautifull grounds. What more could anyone ask for?
Thank You Nancy,
S. Orson NJ

Room Tip: book as early as possible. this is a great place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOrson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
1.0 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
50 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
184 reviews
9.0 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richards

Property: The Richards
Address: 144 Gibson Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882-3949
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English country house furnished with a collection of antiques. The property is on a quiet road with beautiful gardens including a shade garden, a white garden and a koi pond. Quiet and relaxing setting. Full breakfast is served. We now have airconditioning and Wi-Fi! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing