We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and comfortable, our third time back!”
Review of The Richards

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Richards
Ranked #5 of 10 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
“Relaxing and comfortable, our third time back!”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This was our third stay with Nancy and Steven in their lovely B & B. It was the end of my husband's 50th birthday bash and we decided to share the east coast with our family from California. The rooms were comfortable, clean and cool in spite of the very hot weather outside. The beach was a short walk through the garden via a stone footpath and the Ferry terminal to Block Island, a scant 10 minutes away; a place we visited on our second day. Being an Interior Designer, I am always very pleased with this tastefully appointed historic home. It was wonderful to see the newest of Nancy's gardens and the Koi pond. Each room displays an attention to detail in what I call an English manor style. The breakfasts were divine and the service was exceptional. The first morning, Nancy served fresh fruit, blueberry muffins, bacon and a lovely zucchini frittata. The next, a melon with mint, chocolate with coconut muffins and sausages with orange french toast, very yummy~ of course, fresh juices and coffee. We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: all of the rooms are unique and comfortable, but our favorite is the Lavender room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraStranlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    11
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We arrived on the late side because we had to check our daughter into Univ of R.I. before arrving at this B&B at around 9 p.m. The owners were very welcoming and gracious, making us very comfortable and offering suggestions for nearby restaurants that might still be able to seat us. The bed was very comfortable. There were two other couples staying at the B&B and we all enjoyed a delicious homecooked gourmet breakfast both days. We took a walk one day through an amazing trail down to the very scenic (but rocky!!) beach. Then at the excellent recommendation of the owners went a few towns over to a fantastic seafood restaurant. All in all a very warm and comfortable stay. Our daughter will be attending nearby U.R.I. for 4 years so i bet we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaritpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you want to have a bad Bed and Breakfast experience stay here! We stayed for two nights in June and it was not a pleasant experience at all! House was dark old and musty, the beds were old and very uncomfortable. The owners were not the most pleasant complained about how much work it was to have a bed and breakfast etc, etc. We also were quoted a rate on the phone and then were charged another. When questioned the price owner was extremely RUDE and disrespectful! It is sad that some people are in the hospitality business and have clue as to what it is to be kind and how to run an honest business. My advice is you would be better at a cheap roadside hotel/motel than at this place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnycrossrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therichards144, Owner at The Richards, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
It is unbelievable to read this negative review when the guests who wrote this terrible review wrote in our guestbook in our home "Thank you for making our stay a wonderful experience" on 6/27.
Here is why this review was written:
The guest called to inquire about the 2 bedroom suite. I told him the price was $180 for 2 people. I suggested he consider the blue room because it was $175 with a larger bathroom with a tub and shower. He then said he wanted to use both of the bedrooms in the suite. I then told him it was $200 to use both bedrooms. He agreed and sent me a one night deposit of $200. I sent a confirmation letter with the balance due of $200 + $52 in taxes. They didn't mention any issues during their stay and seemed to enjoy the weekend. They even wrote a nice entry in our guestbook. Upon departure the paid the balance. The next day they emailed and said we overcharged them. We explained the above and asked to speak with them personally. A few days later I received an unpleasant phone call from the guest accusing me of lying and insisting that I overcharged them. She then said if I didn't return her $45.20 that she believed I over charged her, she would write to the BBB, write bad reviews about our B and B, and tell everyone what a horrible place it was. She knew that it would hurt our business. I'm sorry what started out as a pleasant experience turned so unpleasant because they seemed very nice when they were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed the night for a wedding on the beach near by and fell in love with the place.
Great breakfast, clean rooms & bathroom, pleasant service, beautifull grounds. What more could anyone ask for?
Thank You Nancy,
S. Orson NJ

Room Tip: book as early as possible. this is a great place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOrson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My wife and I spent last weekend at this wonderful B & B in Narragansett, Rhode Island. The home is a treasure and Nancy, the owner, could not have been nicer. After a wonderful nights sleep in one of the rooms on the second floor, we enjoyed breakfast in the dining room with another guest. The homecooked food was very good. Although we did not get a chance to explore the gardens, they looked beautiful out the windows. The B&B is well kept and very quiet and we would definetly stay there again. This is a real find and well worth the visit.

Room Tip: All the the rooms look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeHunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

This is the perfect place to find harmony with yourself and in your relationship. Thank you Nancy for sharing your beautiful home and gardens! And thank you for the great recommendations for great seafood... Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheepmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Spent 2 nights at the Inn in the "Yellow Room'
The room was warm, inviting and spotless ! Even though the bathroom is outside the room, this was no problem as you get a much bigger bathroom, which also was spotless. Nancy, our host, provided a wonderful warm breakfast each morning with delicious coffee, tea, muffins, fresh fruit, eggs and delightful stories! She provided info and maps for whatever plans you had for the day, very informative on where and what is in the area. The Inn and it's grounds are beautiful and a walk down a path led to a great view of the rocky coast!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reagan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
3.1 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#5 of 8 in Narragansett
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
198 reviews
19.6 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richards

Property: The Richards
Address: 144 Gibson Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882-3949
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English country house furnished with a collection of antiques. The property is on a quiet road with beautiful gardens including a shade garden, a white garden and a koi pond. Quiet and relaxing setting. Full breakfast is served. We now have airconditioning and Wi-Fi! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing