We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cute and accommodating!”
Review of Sea Shell Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Misquamicut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shell Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Danielson, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very cute and accommodating!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My girlfriends and I took a weekend trip to squam this past July. The room was very clean and updated, on the smaller side but perfect for four 23 year olds. The owners were really nice and laid back, they didnt try to nickle and dime you for stupid stuff like other places would ie. Paying for parking and having to be off the property when you check out. They also have a yard in the back overlooking the water and a Jacuzzi. All of that and they had the cheapest rates. Just a five minute walk to the beach! We enjoyed our stay so much we're going to make it a yearly thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    24
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family has been Staying here for about 4 years! We have never been treated so well! Chris at the front desk is amazing, and we look forward to seeing him every year as well as the people who own the place! Our room was clean everyday when we came back from the beach! They are very accommodating I wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family and I LOVE this motel!!! The staff are very friendly,warm and inviting. The atmosphere is fun, relaxing and comforting. The rooms are very clean, considering this is a pet friendly motel. No odors or fur remains. The rooms are a bit on the smaller side, but the back yard located on the water has plenty of space and things to do. We enjoyed fishing and using the paddle boat provided by the Sea Shell and cooking out on the grill. The jacuzzi facing the water is perfect in the evening, under the stars and a great place to relax after a day at the beach!!! Definately would recommend this motel for the price, fun, comfort, cleanliness, pet friendly, relaxing and a great location near the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogdan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I stayed at their satellite place called sea spray inn. It's about 1 mile from the actual motel. Very convenient to beach and area places. Price was good. We got one bedroom with double bed that was pretty small to me. A nice little kitchen nook with microwave, stove, sink and little fridge. The cupboards were stocked with dishes and utensils if needed. The tv was very outdated and didn't come in clear. Plenty of closet space. Nice deck with table and chairs to sit out at. All in all would recommend to stay here. U can walk to beach but it is about 2 miles and that's a long way to carry stuff. So recommend driving and parking right at beach. I will def stay here again. They got devastated by hurricane sandy but the whole town of misquamicut is picking up the pieces and getting it back together

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NPT1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Sea Shell Motel this past weekend to enjoy a family gathering nearby in Westerly. . The staff seemed very friendly and helpful and the room and the place overall was clean. We stayed in room 6 and the room was incredibly small. The bathroom was ridiculously small. The beds and pillows were uncomfortable and the beds made a tremendous amount of noise even when you moved very little.
The beach is just around the corner, barely a 10 minute walk which was a plus. But the statement of the motel policy included information about being quite after 10 pm to respect other guests was clearly not enforced. We were kept awake both nights by noisy people who felt the need to "party" outside on the porch area two doors from us.
We liked that particular location so we won't be staying at the Sea Shell next year but definitely liked that street and would look for alternative accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

the hotel was quaint, kind of like everything else on the strip. small would be the operative word in this beach community. small showers, towels, soaps, rooms, fan blades,etc... i felt a little like gulliver. but that all kind of adds to the charm of a beach community. even misquamicut beach is smaller since sandy got through with it! chris at the front desk was most helpful. even when things didn't go smoothly, he went out of his way to make sure we got what we needed, and that made all the difference in the world. service in the service industry is becoming a lost art. not here. even his restaurant advice was dead on. the hot tub and paddleboat were nice little extras. i just hope that by the time we return they have bigger air conditioners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMMSSS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My grand daughter Aniyah and I stayed there 3 times so far this year. Mother's day weekend then a week at the end of May and then another week in June. We had a great time each time we stayed. Chris manages the place during the week and he does his absolute best to make every body feel at home....my grand daughter loves him and asks for him all the time. Cathy manages a few days a week also and she is just a wonderful person.
The owner's are very pleasant and accomodating and work hard to make this motel a place people want to stay at. The Sea Shell is an all around good place to stay. We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.4 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
22 reviews
1.1 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#7 of 17 in Westerly
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
3.1 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#2 of 17 in Westerly
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
#3 of 6 in Misquamicut
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shell Motel

Property: Sea Shell Motel
Address: 19 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3505
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 10 room motel located very close to one of the best beaches in Rhode Island. Restaurants are within walking or very short driving distance and we are convenient to casinos and downtown Westerly. All rooms have tile floors, two double beds, an LCD television, A/C, a microwave, a refrigerator and a private bathroom. In our lobby we have endless coffee and tea, near our jewelry display case! With a back yard on salt water we have boats that guests can use at no additional cost, gas grills, picnic tables and a very popular hot tub. If you want a safe, clean, comfortable motel near a beautiful beach, come see us. You can bring your pet too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Misquamicut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing