We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff always cleaning”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pleasant View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pleasant View Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Staff always cleaning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

An older property, however meticulously maintained. Plenty of staff and they are always cleaning.We happened to look outside our window at 3:oo a.m.and saw staff picking up litter and cigarette butts on the ground !
The bed was comfy and the food was good, but mostly it's the service that stands out. The staff are friendly and seem to really like their jobs. Garth, a server in the dining room, especially stands out with his infectious smile.
Even the beach is cleaned and swept every morning-the only property to do so.

Room Tip: ask for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowboycody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    98
    50
    33
    16
See reviews for
95
130
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecicut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Spur of the moment trip and got a balcony ocean view room for one night. The room was large and clean for a beach hotel but a little out dated. We ate lunch outside at the PV restaurant and it was really good. Loved the view. Our waitress was fabulous. Sorry do not remember her name (Holly I think). She was funny and able to answer our questions. They could use more beach umbrellas but we suffered through without one by our room. :)
Front desk will not check you in early even if you arrive half hour early. Although, they do have towels so you can use the beach while you wait. We always waited at the desk for someone to assist us. They could pick up the hospitality a bit at the desk...always felt I was bothering them.

Room Tip: Bring beach chairs and extra beach towels. Bring shampoo and hair dryer they are not supplied in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our second year staying for a few days at the PVI, but family members and friends have been staying here every August for the past 18+ years. There are lots of "regulars" here.

We had a different room than last year, and while smaller (two double beds with each pushed against walls, so someone in each was going to have to climb to get in/out), this was deemed "nicer". It was bright/beachy colored and the bathroom was newer. Last years room was dark in color (dark wood, blue carpet/walls, old bathroom fixtures). Both rooms overlooked the beach, which was nice.

Room was clean and tidy. We left a tip for the maid, as one of our kids brought have the beach back in his bathing suit and we felt bad about that.

Restaurant was fine - a bit pricy for breakfast ($8-10 per plate), but the food is good and service is prompt.

The only complaint was that the game room was not up to snuff. Games were eating quarters or not working at all, but the front desk staff is more than willing to refund money.

Saturday was the only rainy day but luckily Mystic Aquarium isn't too far and by the afternoon, the skies had cleared up.

Looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The view. Is beautiful. There are no elevators nor hair dryers in the rooms.you have to ask for them at the front desk.not the elevators, of course. Not Being that formal, I was surprised by the lack of dress code.shoes and shirts were not required. At The Bar or outdoor eating area .people from the more party areas were having "a happy time "but it was not necessaryto see those Bikini clad babes and guys dancing to"The moves like Jagger"in the common area.
Food was great. As was the service. Not sure I would. Deal with the. Atmosphere again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackiefazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Returning to the Pleasant View Inn yet again this year. Little has changed – and that’s a good thing. The beach was excellent and the food delicious. Where the Pleasant View really excels, however, is its staff. We found them to be consistently pleasant and responsive. This was demonstrated in dramatic fashion during our second night when someone tripped the fire alarm. In less than 60 seconds the PVI staff was running through the hallways and rousting everyone out of their rooms. They checked and re-checked to make sure the hotel was completely evacuated. While we waited outside for the Misquamicut fire crews to perform their inspections, the night manager updated everyone on a regular basis. When they finally let us back in, everyone gave the staff a round of applause. The Pleasant View Inn isn’t fancy, but it is the food, beach and, most of all, the service that keeps us coming back.

Room Tip: There is WiFi, but it is confined to the lobby area. Cell phone coverage is spotty at best (this isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparky1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The location is great - the beach is amazing. The rooms were clean although outdated and sparsely furnished. The restaurants were good - good service, good food, reasonably priced. Pleasant View Inn advertises as a non-smoking establishment, yet smoking was prevalent throughout the property. Smoking is not permitted inside (although we saw many smokers going in the building from pool to beach without putting out the cigarette), but is not discouraged in the pool or beach areas (ashtrays are everywhere). Not a great place for families, there were many people partying into the night (noise, smoke, etc). Kids behaved better than most adults.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyvacationersCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
225 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Overall the breakfast was amazing, everything was organic, and so yummy. Everything was very clean, and the servers were on top of everything. They had no problem making my eggs just white with no yoke.

After breakfast the place is not
Clean, there is dirt on the tables, and they don't even have ice Berg lettuce who doesn't serve berg lettuce??
Plus the place is filled with foreigners who can't speak English very well and I'm sorry but that's just annoying.

The place is out dated and the menu is limited to like one page

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leahb1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.6 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#5 of 17 in Westerly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
20.2 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant View Inn

Property: Pleasant View Inn
Address: 65 Atlantic Ave, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-4301
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pleasant View Inn is located on the Atlantic Ocean in Misquamicut, RI. Offering Rhode Island charm, the Pleasant View Inn is the best choice for a seaside family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pleasant View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant View Hotel Misquamicut
Pleasant View Misquamicut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing