We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort”
Review of Breezeway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Breezeway Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We just returned from a very successful and restful vacation from the Breezeway. I chose the Breezeway because of the central location, TripAdvisor reviews, and the variety of room types to accommodate the different size families. It's 2 blocks from the beach, close to casinos and it was totally spotless. Nice pool and friendly staff.

I would recommend "Nicola's Uptown Cafe" its a 15 minute ride from the Breezweay located at 2 Tower Street, Westerly, RI - - 401-315-2922 the FOOD WAS EXCELLENT. It was so good that we ate there 2 nights! A definate must if you looking for Italian food. Hats off the staff at Nicolas! A + + + We will definately be returning to the Breezeway and Nicolas next year. Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 249 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2007

We are a family of 4 and stayed at the Breezeway 3rd week in August for two nights mid-week. When I made the reservation, they had no rooms availabe for two nights in a row, so we had to switch rooms for the second night. The first night was in room 114 which was very small. It had one bed and a murphy pull-down, fridge, and hairdryer. The second night was in room 213 - with two double beds, but the room was twice as big - with fridge,table and chairs, nice sized closet and counter area. We paid about $230 per night (same for both rooms). This was our first time in Rhode Island and I found these prices rather expensive considering they are not on the water. We are used to vacationing in Ogunquit Maine or Cape Cod where you could get an ocean view room for the same price. In any case, as another reviewer has stated, this resort may well be the best one in town. My sister stayed at the Pleasant View Inn during the same time and at the same price -- her room was ocean front, but only 1 queen bed, no fridge, teeny tiny balcony, barely walking room around the bed. At least the Breezeway offers continental breakfast with the room. Be forewarned, however, that the breakfast items are all high-fat, high-sugar and/or carb-based. No fruit, no proteins. Only half&half and sweetn'low for coffee/tea. No splenda, no nutrasweet, no low-fat milk, so bring your own.

I was very impressed with the maid service. They all work very hard and clean more than just what you see -- even the lady at the breakfast area. I caught her wiping down the cabinet fronts and UNDER the cabinets -- now who else would do that?

The kids loved the pool and the upper pool deck was a nice little area to sit and relax. Yes, the bugs are a bother. Bring your bug spray. But the gardening is just lovely. Colorful flowers and fountains make the grounds very appealing. My daughter wanted to swing on the swing set, but it was not usable at the time. One swing was stuck up in the tree, and the other was over a huge puddle which she didn't want to step in.

We found the front desk people very busy, but courteous. It was nice to be able to park at Maria's and go to the beach. We ate at Maria's and at Paddy's - both expensive, but excellent higher-end dining choices. At Paddy's, for dinner, no liquor, no dessert, the bill came to $110 for 4 adults and 2 children. At Pleasant View Inn, for dinner, no liquor, no dessert, the bill came to $80, 4 adults, 2 children. At Maria's for lunch, the bill came to $60 for 2 adults, 2 children.

Would we return? Probably not to Westerly, as I found the area in general run-down and there is practically no beach at high tide. The sidewalks on the main beach road between Montauk and the Pleasant View Inn are in bad need of repair and have little to no lighting at night. While the area seems to be full of families during the day, at night it is loud and boisterious - more of a wild party scene. Not to my taste. But if I had to return to Westerly, I would definitely stay at either the Breezeway or Pleasant View Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ms Patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We just returned from a very successful family reunion at the Breezeway. We chose the Breezeway because of the central location, TripAdvisor reviews, and the variety of room types to accommodate the different size families and the varying budgets. Everyone (all 35 of us) liked their rooms, the location, the campus-like setting, and the people who worked there. We had a king-bedded junior suite (#218) which was spacious, quiet and spotless. The bed was comfortable and we had a good-sized deck which we shared with another room. A couple of our families had efficiencies, and one had the large 2-bedroom suite which was also very nice.

I will say that when we pulled up I was a bit worried, since it really has a motel-like (vs. resort) appearance. But the rooms were all well-designed and the grassy areas and fountains really lent themselves to the group gathering, and everyone said that they would return to the Breezway.

We really appreciated the efforts of our cleaning person, Anna, who literally ran around the resort getting her job done. She was cheerful and efficient and very nice to deal with.

The Breezeway recommended An Old Fashioned Clambake which we all absolutely LOVED. If you stay there with a group you must absolutely organize one of these. Lobster, steamers, mussels, corn, potatoes, steaks, burgers... all fantastic, fresh and delicious. It was also very reasonable, and they brought everything to the Breezway so we didn't have to drive anywhere. They guys who cooked for us, Steve Crandall, Trevor and Nick, were all fantastic to work with.

They also recommended Maria's (across from the beach) and Nicolas Uptown Cafe, both of which are owned by the same family and both of which were excellent.

I had only a couple of minor issues:

1) Rhode Island should be nicknamed "The Mosquito Coast"! We were all devoured by mosquitoes despite dousing ourselves liberally with several different repellents. I would recommend spraying the resort area or (better) building birdie "condos" for purple martins, which will then eat the mosquitoes.

2) The Breezeway market to groups on their website, and there was a wedding party as well as our family reunion taking place last weekend. The only problem is that there is virtually nowhere for the group to gather that is out of earshot of the rooms. We were up on the pool deck after our clambake until about midnight; although we tried very hard, it was impossible for 35 relatives (Italian no less) to remain quiet. The pool is surrounded by sleeping rooms and noise carries. An outdoor screened-in gazebo that would fit 40 or 50 people would not be a huge investment but would really help the situation. There is plenty of space in the grassy area over near the cottage for this. I hope they consider this option, because they could then hold clambakes over there and other gatherings and still maintain a quiet environment for other guests. And it would protect from problem #1, the vicious mosquitoes.

Misquamicut itself is not too exciting, just a few low-end hotels and motels and a couple of restaurants and clam shacks. Although there were a LOT of people on the beach, there was much less going on than I had anticipated, but since we were with a group and had events planned this was not an issue for us. I would think that a week would be a bit long to spend here, especially if the weather turns bad (we got lucky, the weather was beautiful). A long weekend was the perfect amount of time. The good news is that you are a short ride away from Mystic, Watch Hill, and other coastline towns that could provide a bit more interest than Misquamicut.

We all agreed that we would definitely consider the Breezeway for future family reunions.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveladdiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELSUSHI921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank M_Monthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank johnj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Somersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.6 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#6 of 6 in Misquamicut
33 reviews
1 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,183 reviews
18.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
3,036 reviews
7.9 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezeway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezeway Resort

Address: 70 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3526
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Price Range: $139 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breezeway Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breezeway Resort is your peaceful oasis located just steps from Misquamicut Beach in Westerly, Rhode Island. 50 well-appointed guest rooms, suites, villas and a cottage dot our five acre park-like compound with handcrafted fountains and outdoor swimming pool. Our casually elegant boutique motel is hidden from plain view and away from the hustle and bustle of the beach and features our own private Breezeway Beach. Before a day at the beach or sightseeing, guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily. Centrally located for guests visiting Watch Hill, Mystic, Newport, Block Island and the many beautiful coastal villages in between. Join us for our 46th year of serving families and friends. John for Bellone Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Breezeway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezeway Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing