We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Breezeway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breezeway Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Certificate of Excellence
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 4 nights, Positives---VERY clean room and nicely decorated; bathroom was SPOTLESS. Air conditioner worked well and was quiet; windows open, which is a big plus. Negatives--Would have preferred a room on first floor because of trouble with stairs and lugging all of our stuff up them; however, NO queen beds on 1st floor, pool-side. Pool didn't seem heated; very chilly. No fruit or yogurt with continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to offer your comments. I will definitely pass along your praise to our housekeepers who are the backbone of our property. We couldn't do it without there hard work and dedication.

Regarding the Queen beds on first level, we do actually offer queen and king beds on the first level but we may have not had any available. In any event, I or one of our staff are always here to help with luggage. Please let us know and we'll make it happen. I am sorry you found the pool water to cold for you. I'll look into our pool heater situation. We have heard several requests for an upgrade to our complimentary continental breakfast offering. Look for changes to it by the 2014 season.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to have you as our guests again next year perhaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    53
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
106
67
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Neat and clean rooms. Beautiful pool. Manicured grounds. Nice private beach with parking. Friendly and accommodating staff. The only thing variable at Breezeway is the weather and we had 4 beautiful sunny days. Can't wait till next September.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yajman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and for your continued patronage. September is arguably the best time of year in Westerly / Misquamicut Beach. The crowds have thinned, the ocean water warmer and the prices half. As you say, we cannot control the weather, but we usually get some summer like weather well into the month. Have a great winter and we look forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Many family and friends had the pleasure of staying at the Breezeway Resort for two years in a row to enjoy cousins' weddings held on the beach at a family home nearby. Both weddings were perfect in every way, with no detail left untouched! The attention to detail at the Breezeway kept the tradition going! Spotless in every way, the Resort offered a terrific pool, key-card private beach-front access (including parking) for any of us that wanted to take a dip or simply enjoy the surroundings. This family owned property is operated with pride. We're hoping for another family wedding soon and will be sure to come back to the Breezeway! Mark F., Beverly, MA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
All of us appreciate and thank you for your comments Mr. F. It was our pleasure to have you and your extended family as our guests and we hope to have the chance to serve you all again for the next wedding in Misquamicut. Enjoy the fall and see you soon.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

What an unpleasant experience we had . The pool gets clean once a day, there were bugs and flies on the water , we didn't allow our children to swim there.
Rooms were humid and damp, AC was not working properly. The floors weren't moped Ever, so don't walk barefoot.
Continental breakfast consist of: coffee, tea, orange juice, bagels, muffins, butter and cream cheese-carb fest.
Oh they also charge in the $300s a night, have stayed at boutique hotels for that price .
Would not ever recommend .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeppelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your candid review and we're so disappointed that you had an unpleasant experience while our guest at The Breezeway. We absolutely pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our property, both interior and exterior. This is one of the reasons why we are so surprised to read your comments. Our guest rooms are cleaned by our housekeepers (this includes mopping) and inspected as well prior to check in. It is true that our swimming pool is vacuumed and skimmed each morning prior to opening at 9 AM. The pool, apron and sundeck are inspected hourly, chairs are straightened and the area is kept tidy.

If ever our guests are not pleased with any aspect of their stay, we do our utmost to correct it given the opportunity. Again, we thank you for your comments and are sorry you didn't enjoy The Breezeway Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Given the area and options this is by far the best your going to get unless you can shell out the big bucks and stay at the Ocean House Hotel (located next to Taylor Swifts home). The Breezeway is immaculate and friendly and offers a limited breakfast in the morning. We stayed at the Marias suites located directly across from their private beach. The rooms was nice and clean but you can tell the building itself has taken some beatings from the hurricanes and salt air. The area and the hotel right next door are not the greatest but its fun if you have the right frame of mind and go with it. My two children, 2 and 5 did enjoy this little beach overnight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaclyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your candid review and for being our guest! We appreciate your kind words and for the Ocean House comparison. Actually we are just 3.3 miles away from Taylor Swifts house for those interested. :)
As you explained, you stayed at our Maria's Suites location which offers 5 suites across the street from our private beach. In 2012 we completely renovated Maria's Suites. Just a few months later, (You are correct ) the building sustained heavy damage from the wrath of Hurricane Sandy. As a result, our restaurant located on the ground floor for 19 years (Maria's Seaside Cafe) was shuttered sadly. The suites did not sustain any damage and are available for occupancy now. Our plans for the future of Maria's is to level the structure and to build a brand new building elevated on cement piers so the water will go under the building during the next weather event. We plan on a new restaurant, hotel with pool and more. Please stay tuned for updates on our Facebook page.

Thanks again for the review and we hope to have the opportunity to host you and your children next year perhaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This property is by far the best beach rental in the area. The rooms and the grounds are impeccably clean and well cared for. The family and the staff are pleasant and helpful.There are bikes to rent and breakfast each morning. I can't say enough about this place and will surely be back.

Room Tip: If you are interested in a King bed you may want to choose the rooms on the ends so you can keep you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissCorine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Our staff, my family and I thank you for you review and for staying with us. We thank you for your candid review and hope to have the opportunity to serve you next year!

And by the way, our Breezeway Beach Cruiser Bicycles are a new amenity this year and as a point of clarification, they are free to use for guests age 15 and up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed in Westerly many times but it was the first time I stayed at the Breezeway (and then again 3 weeks later). It is a very well maintained motel about 3 blocks from the beach. The rooms are small but in excellent condition. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms look to be new. The beach is a little bit of a hike, but they give you parking at the beach so you can just drive there. They also provide towels for the beach and even after you checkout they provide you with towels and let you use their parking lot at the beach for the day. I usually stay on the beach, but this was in a class by itself when comparing to the dumps on the beach and it is also less expensive. The free breakfast they provide could have some better options but overall they will be my first choice when we go back to Westerly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkWsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your candid review and for being a guest of The Breezeway Resort....twice! What a better compliment than to have you return. We work hard and creatively to provide our guests with the best possible experience at this price point. We are working on expanding our complimentary continental breakfast offering for season and hope to see you then. many thanks and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.6 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#5 of 17 in Westerly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
7.9 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
19.7 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezeway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezeway Resort

Property: Breezeway Resort
Address: 70 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3526
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breezeway Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breezeway Resort is your peaceful oasis located just steps from Misquamicut Beach in Westerly, Rhode Island. 50 well-appointed guest rooms, suites, villas and a cottage dot our five acre park-like compound with handcrafted fountains and outdoor swimming pool. Our casually elegant boutique motel is hidden from plain view and away from the hustle and bustle of the beach and features our own private Breezeway Beach. Before a day at the beach or sightseeing, guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily. Centrally located for guests visiting Watch Hill, Mystic, Newport, Block Island and the many beautiful coastal villages in between. Join us for our 46th year of serving families and friends. John for Bellone Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Breezeway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezeway Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing