We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As perfect as our family beach-front wedding!”
Review of Breezeway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breezeway Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As perfect as our family beach-front wedding!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Many family and friends had the pleasure of staying at the Breezeway Resort for two years in a row to enjoy cousins' weddings held on the beach at a family home nearby. Both weddings were perfect in every way, with no detail left untouched! The attention to detail at the Breezeway kept the tradition going! Spotless in every way, the Resort offered a terrific pool, key-card private beach-front access (including parking) for any of us that wanted to take a dip or simply enjoy the surroundings. This family owned property is operated with pride. We're hoping for another family wedding soon and will be sure to come back to the Breezeway! Mark F., Beverly, MA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
All of us appreciate and thank you for your comments Mr. F. It was our pleasure to have you and your extended family as our guests and we hope to have the chance to serve you all again for the next wedding in Misquamicut. Enjoy the fall and see you soon.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    55
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
117
72
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

What an unpleasant experience we had . The pool gets clean once a day, there were bugs and flies on the water , we didn't allow our children to swim there.
Rooms were humid and damp, AC was not working properly. The floors weren't moped Ever, so don't walk barefoot.
Continental breakfast consist of: coffee, tea, orange juice, bagels, muffins, butter and cream cheese-carb fest.
Oh they also charge in the $300s a night, have stayed at boutique hotels for that price .
Would not ever recommend .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeppelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your candid review and we're so disappointed that you had an unpleasant experience while our guest at The Breezeway. We absolutely pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our property, both interior and exterior. This is one of the reasons why we are so surprised to read your comments. Our guest rooms are cleaned by our housekeepers (this includes mopping) and inspected as well prior to check in. It is true that our swimming pool is vacuumed and skimmed each morning prior to opening at 9 AM. The pool, apron and sundeck are inspected hourly, chairs are straightened and the area is kept tidy.

If ever our guests are not pleased with any aspect of their stay, we do our utmost to correct it given the opportunity. Again, we thank you for your comments and are sorry you didn't enjoy The Breezeway Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Given the area and options this is by far the best your going to get unless you can shell out the big bucks and stay at the Ocean House Hotel (located next to Taylor Swifts home). The Breezeway is immaculate and friendly and offers a limited breakfast in the morning. We stayed at the Marias suites located directly across from their private beach. The rooms was nice and clean but you can tell the building itself has taken some beatings from the hurricanes and salt air. The area and the hotel right next door are not the greatest but its fun if you have the right frame of mind and go with it. My two children, 2 and 5 did enjoy this little beach overnight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaclyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your candid review and for being our guest! We appreciate your kind words and for the Ocean House comparison. Actually we are just 3.3 miles away from Taylor Swifts house for those interested. :)
As you explained, you stayed at our Maria's Suites location which offers 5 suites across the street from our private beach. In 2012 we completely renovated Maria's Suites. Just a few months later, (You are correct ) the building sustained heavy damage from the wrath of Hurricane Sandy. As a result, our restaurant located on the ground floor for 19 years (Maria's Seaside Cafe) was shuttered sadly. The suites did not sustain any damage and are available for occupancy now. Our plans for the future of Maria's is to level the structure and to build a brand new building elevated on cement piers so the water will go under the building during the next weather event. We plan on a new restaurant, hotel with pool and more. Please stay tuned for updates on our Facebook page.

Thanks again for the review and we hope to have the opportunity to host you and your children next year perhaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This property is by far the best beach rental in the area. The rooms and the grounds are impeccably clean and well cared for. The family and the staff are pleasant and helpful.There are bikes to rent and breakfast each morning. I can't say enough about this place and will surely be back.

Room Tip: If you are interested in a King bed you may want to choose the rooms on the ends so you can keep you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissCorine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Our staff, my family and I thank you for you review and for staying with us. We thank you for your candid review and hope to have the opportunity to serve you next year!

And by the way, our Breezeway Beach Cruiser Bicycles are a new amenity this year and as a point of clarification, they are free to use for guests age 15 and up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed in Westerly many times but it was the first time I stayed at the Breezeway (and then again 3 weeks later). It is a very well maintained motel about 3 blocks from the beach. The rooms are small but in excellent condition. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms look to be new. The beach is a little bit of a hike, but they give you parking at the beach so you can just drive there. They also provide towels for the beach and even after you checkout they provide you with towels and let you use their parking lot at the beach for the day. I usually stay on the beach, but this was in a class by itself when comparing to the dumps on the beach and it is also less expensive. The free breakfast they provide could have some better options but overall they will be my first choice when we go back to Westerly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkWsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your candid review and for being a guest of The Breezeway Resort....twice! What a better compliment than to have you return. We work hard and creatively to provide our guests with the best possible experience at this price point. We are working on expanding our complimentary continental breakfast offering for season and hope to see you then. many thanks and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family has spent a few days in RI for a few summers now. We usually stay beachfront, but everything was booked by the time we looked. SO GLAD. This place is a GEM. Honestly, we will likely never stay at another Inn on RI. The property is SPOTLESS, the office is as cute as can be - games for the kids to bring back to the room, lots of inexpensive treats to purchase, coffee, tea, etc. The continental breakfast is also in office/lounge, and it's very plentiful and fresh!

We chose to stay in the two bedroom suite which is located as soon as you pull into parking lot, above the office. For a family with more than two kids, this is IDEAL. It's honestly perfection. There is a HUGE private deck, two bedrooms, living room and a beautifully appointed bathroom. The tile was so clean, as was the entire "apartment." The linens, including the cotton quilts on the beds were fresh and clean. The beds were very comfortable and clean (I check everything top to bottom). We had a family staying below us, but we didn't hear a thing. The resort is very quiet at night, which we really appreciate having young children. They were asleep very comfortably by 10 p.m., and ready to go to the beach by 8am.

The beach is very nice and quite close to the resort. You can walk it in less than 10 minutes; it's a very easy straight walk. The parking at beach couldn't be easier - you park and walk right onto the beach. There is a restaurant - "Little Mermaid" - right there and has a nice breakfast, lunch and ice cream. SO CONVENIENT. The bathhouse at the beach that is private to the Breezeway is great too. Bathrooms are opened with a key you get upon check in, and were clean throughout the day. It was just all so easy, which is what works for our family of five.

There are a bunch of restaurants and shops to walk to, literally a 2-5 minute walk from the private beach.

The pool at the Inn was very nice, quiet and clean. I love that they supply you with clean beach towels and a bag each day - again, easy.

I'm pretty sure I can't think of much to improve upon. Room darkening shades would be nice, as the king bedroom gets very bright very early. But, it got us up and out to the beach in the morning, so I really can't complain.

To sum it up, this resort is spotless, quiet, friendly and just so easy. Room 221 is IDEAL for families over four in my opinion. It is worth the extra money. For those worried that it's not "on the beach," don't let that deter you. It's so close and honestly, much much cleaner and quieter than any beachfront we've stayed in on the RI strip. We are already trying to figure out which nights to book for next August. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: room 221 - amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeaninct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
My family, staff and I thank you so much for your glowing review! We spend a lot of money and time maintaining the property but our housekeeping staff is really what makes the place shine...literally and figuratively. I will pass the word along to them.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit next August. Thank you..Thank you...Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC,NJ
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is essentially a motel with other structures housing suites and a villa and a beach annex. The ground are immaculate, well maintained and clean. We stayed in the hotel annex penthouse on the beach. The annex was lovely with a huge back porch with ocean views as well as a Juliet balcony over looking the beach. The room was nicely appointed and very clean. The beach was right across the road and the main resort was 3/10 mile up the road. The beach is small but it is easy to find a spot no matter the time of day.

The room was expensive but it is an ocean view room within sight and sound of the surf. (The restaurant on the ground floor was wiped out by Sandy) the pool is very nice but a bit cold. The staff was excellent and very helpful. They accommodated my espresso request. My children loved the place

Three small complaints, breakfast is not great, there is no wifi at the annex (understandable considering the structure itself barely survived Sandy)and needed a screen door for the Juliet balcony so we could enjoy the sound of the ocean while sleeping sans bugs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtala34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks to you and your family for staying with us and for your comments. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our penthouse suite located above the namesake restaurant (Maria's Seaside Cafe). The cafe was in fact destroyed during Hurricane Sandy and we are working on plans for a brand new building which will house a full service hotel. The newly renovated (2012) penthouse suite that you stayed in will likely be torn down to make way for a state of the art structure.

The screens on the juliet balcony were ripped / damaged so frequently over the years that we decided to remove them altogether. Our pool heater was not functioning properly for 2 days this August but has since been repaired. For 2014 we are looking into options to expand our complimentary continental breakfast to include some fruit options into the mix. You were the first to sample our espresso and it is now available to all. We highly recommend the Nespresso product

Thanks so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.6 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
25 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#9 of 17 in Westerly
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Ocean House
The Ocean House
#1 of 4 in Watch Hill
729 reviews
3.2 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#2 of 17 in Westerly
219 reviews
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezeway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezeway Resort

Property: Breezeway Resort
Address: 70 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3526
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breezeway Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breezeway Resort is your peaceful oasis located just steps from Misquamicut Beach in Westerly, Rhode Island. 50 well-appointed guest rooms, suites, villas and a cottage dot our five acre park-like compound with handcrafted fountains and outdoor swimming pool. Our casually elegant boutique motel is hidden from plain view and away from the hustle and bustle of the beach and features our own private Breezeway Beach. Before a day at the beach or sightseeing, guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily. Centrally located for guests visiting Watch Hill, Mystic, Newport, Block Island and the many beautiful coastal villages in between. Join us for our 46th year of serving families and friends. John for Bellone Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Breezeway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezeway Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing