We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good beach”

Misquamicut State Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach will be handicap accessible.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
“Not a good beach”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I did not like this beach. The parking is ridiculous and the beach itself is just way too crowded on a Sunday. Everybody is packed in like sardines with beach blankets actually blanketing the beach. It was basically impossible to move around. I would not recommend this beach. Go somewhere else less crowded.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank HOCKPOOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    130
    41
    24
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love, love, love the beach!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

While visiting family in nearby Pawcatuck, CT, a guest at the hotel where we were staying in North Stonington, CT recommended Misquamicut State Beach. It was pretty close (less than 4 miles away). Parking fees were reasonable (depending on how close you wanted to be to beach access and day of the week). We parked in The Andrea Seaside Restaurant and Beach Bar lot for $10, but was given a $5 off coupon to use towards anything in the restaurant and bar. Our visit was on a Wednesday, but the beach was a little too crowded for our tastes. The beach was clean, and the water pretty clear-looking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Zahiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Last Beach Trip”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Headed to Misquamicut for a end of summer beach trip with friends. I was suprised by the pricey parking fee for out of staters on the weekend but the facilities and beach were clean and well guarded. There was a problem with jelly fish the day we were there but no so bad that we did not enjoy the water. Overall it is a nice getaway that is pretty close to Albany NY and points east!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Meh :\”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Could be better, could be worse. If you're out of state, expect to be robbed blind for parking, food, drinks, and showers. Parking on the weekends during the summer is between 20 and 35 bucks per car. I'd strongly suggest bringing a bag/s of your own for trash, as there were very few if any public garbage cans. Don't forget a couple of coolers filled with food and drinks, unless you want to spend an excess of at least thirty bucks per person throughout the day. The showers and bathrooms are definitely on the more disgusting side, and to be avoided at all possible costs.

Most places along this beach are rocky and not exactly bare-foot friendly. The beach itself is generally way over-crowded, so make sure to arrive very very early if you want a decent spot to lay your stuff out. Not much to do in the way of attractions, shops, or restaurants, but in a pinch it can be something to fill your day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillianfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sun Day-Fun Day at the beach”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was one of the cleanest beaches we have been to in the states. Everyone was responsible for their own trash and everyone was abiding by the rules. It was an impromptu trip to the beach and I'm so glad we took the side trip over to Misquamicut, it was absolutely worth it. The green facilities were a pleasant surprise and what better place to take advantage of the power of the sun than the beach? The water was a little cold at this time of year, but the sun was warm, the sand was clean and it was a perfect day to sit and soak up the sun while reading and relaxing. I'd definately go again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misquamicut State Beach also viewed

Misquamicut, Westerly
Narragansett, South County
 
Westerly, South County
Misquamicut, Westerly
 

Been to Misquamicut State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing