We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach!!!!”

Misquamicut State Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach will be handicap accessible.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best beach!!!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have been going to Misquamicut Beach since I was young and I still love it today 40 years later. The water is so clean and there is always waves. The facilities are clean. Within walking distance to the main state beach, there are several bars and restaurants, water slides, a kiddie amusement park complete with carousel, hotels, jet ski rentals, banana boat rides and gift shops. The Westerly Town Beach which is right next door has free concerts on the beach ranging from reggae to classis rock to smooth jazz. It is just a great time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ekgri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    123
    39
    23
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutchess County, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great, clean beach”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in Mystic CT and found that this beach was easy to get to from there and the beach area is very clean. The parking was easy, although be prepared to pay to park, close by facilities were near by to use for bathroom and shower use. There was even food being sold if you were hungry. Perfect outing if you are near by!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Feetinsandforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always fun!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Not much I don't like, don't come on the weekend though, you can't find a place for a towel much less a blanket and umbrella.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KBR_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, but pricey for out of state parking”
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We loved going to Misquamicut State Beach for a really gorgeous Saturday. Lots of parking, BUT be prepared for sticker shock as an out of state car, $28.00, but $14 if you are a senior. Clean beach, convenient parking, showers, restrooms, amenities like rentals of umbrellas, boogie boards, chairs, and a food concession stand. Bring your own picnic and beach stuff. The waves were perfect for boogie boarding or body surfing. No kites, ball playing, pets, frisbees, or grills. I would compare this beach to The best of the Jersey Shore, or Ogunquit, ME but warmer water for beautiful sugar sand. Great for sand castles or other sand sculpturing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bostongirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colrain, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“burlingame state park campground”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

we stayed at this campground because it was the closest to misqumicut beach in rhode island.
It also attracted us because we could also bring our dog with us. The campground is very well kept and quiet. we stayed friday and saturday night. It would have been nice if some kind of camp function was planned,,cuz it was so very boring that we ended up going to foxwoods( which is 20 min away) for sat night. all and all it was good price 40.00 for 2 nights. very rustic, no elec, sewer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank sherriem54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misquamicut State Beach also viewed

Westerly, South County
Misquamicut, Westerly
 
Misquamicut, Westerly
 

Been to Misquamicut State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing