We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing "Royal" About It!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Middletown Newport Area
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Stay away from this hotel! There was no hot water all weekend, no hair dryer, the hotel was dirty, and did I mention there was no elevator? For the price you can get better in Newport!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 872 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2008

Booked motel for 11 rooms upon reviews originally giving motel 3 1/2 stars...within 2 weeks of wedding, ratings had dropped to 1 1/2 stars.

Pros:

1) Good location to wedding site

2) Pleasant, attentive cleaning staff (for the rooms)...desk staff quite pleasant, also.

Cons:

1) Hot water only available first 15 minutes of the morning (around 0600 hours). After that, various degrees of cold...all visitors suffered this issue for two days.

2) Stairwells (have to use...no elevator...three stories) littered...walls beat up...in need of serious painting. Loose wires hanging from some of the more isolated walls...apparently left over from original video surveillance camera planning...no cameras.

3) Continental breakfast very minimal...did have toaster and old microwave for food warming.

4) "Free cuisine" at bar limited to two warmers with a) pasta with scant marinara sauce, and b) Mussels in marinara sauce. Restrooms outside of bar non-functional during entire stay.

5) Minor ammenities...motel steam iron with rusting water /steam (went a purchased an iron to use after ruining one shirt)...table top ironing board...quite well aged and stained from rust...blow dryers "upon request..." we brought our own...(and of course - no pool. - no great loss on that.)

Of interest, some review sites show the motel as having "Wireless Internet," which we frankly needed, in order to download last minute spreadsheets for the wedding reception. We were pretty surprised upon arrival when the lad in reception advised that no internet was available, any ANY form. Necessitated runs to Starbucks a couple of miles away to use internet to garner last minute data files.

As one reviewer noted...the walls are pretty thin, and non-accoustically insulated, so when a fight broke out in the hallway the last evening there, each person in that section of the motel was treated to a non-pay fight event for an hour or so...(our guest were not amused.)

Final touches included an auto parked in the "check-in" parking area, blocking customer's access...we were told that it was the manager's Mercedes, who wanted to keep it "out of the elements."

Finally, remember...no elevator...if you have members of your party with physical disabilities, make certain that you book them on the first floor, and try to garner a room near the front entrance of the building, since there is no other way into the building, and being roomed at the end of one of the hallways will ensure a long walk to and from transportation.

Since it was a holiday weekend, costs throughout the area were fairly extravagant, but $195 a nite for no hot water, great difficulty getting into rooms, and an atmosphere of the motel staff cutting corners on every delivery of their "product" was quite disappointing.

As always,

Caveat Emptor!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LongTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Ok here is the one pro of this property: Location- Just minutes from all of the beaches, mansions, shopping, all the fun of Newport RI.

Now for the cons
Cold shower that never warmed up no matter how long you ran the water.
Our room was never made up. I called the desk to ask why and was told "We do not make up your room if it looks like you do not want it to be made up"...Puzzling.
Long, and I mean LONG, dark hallways, full of mysterious smells. And no elevators.
Breakfast-great if you love to have jelly on fork. Had all of the things that go with breakfast, such as creamers, containers of jelly and cream cheese, all types of sugar and sugar substitutes-but very little to actually use these things on. Again, puzzling.
Stay only if you must, and even then only if you plan on being in you room only to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nico35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. The sheets had stains . There is no blowdryer available. The service and cleanliness of the hotel was terrible. They fixed the beds but did not change the sheets nor did they empty the trash once during our 3 night stay. There was an empty toilet paper roll they did not even bother to refill. Our air vent in the bathroom was covered with dust. There were dustbunnies on the ceiling.
The room felt damp, we stayed in Room 131 it seemed like it was a stock room before. The walls were filthy. The bed was practically caving in the middle.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenmare12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2006

Our two night stay at the Royal Plaza began with incredibly rude and unhelpful service at the front desk. When we were eventually given a key to our room, the room was simply dingy. The bedding was old and worn, the carpet was damaged and the bathroom was clean only on the surface, under the sink and in the corners it was terribly dirty.

I would suggest that you spend the extra few dollars to stay elsewhere, however the Royal Plaza was quite pricey (amazingly enough!). I am sure that for the same price, you can find a much cleaner hotel with professional staff.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HP21ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2005

The Royla Plaza is nothing special. My biggest complaint is that it is so dark in the rooms, especially at night when there is not light coming from the outside. The walls are very thin and you can hear when anyone goes to the bathroom around you or when someone walks by your room. The bathroom was very very dark as well. I could barely see when taking a shower. If you like to read before you go to bed don't stay here because it is sooo dark.

2  Thank RedSoxRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersey
15
Reviewed October 29, 2005

We probably should have expected what we received when we booked our room online and paid less than the going rate for other rooms in the area. Immediately, upon entering our 2nd floor room, it was evident that there was a major mold problem. As soon as we walked in, we were hit in the face with the smell of mold and mildew. The wallpaper was peeling near the floors. You could see the greyish-black mold oozing from the corners near the floor of the room. The ceiling was stained and looked wet (I think the roof was leaking). When I turned on the bathroom exhaust fan, it belched out a ghastly clank, like gears rubbing against each other, and then jammed up. Since it was a busy week and many of the hotels were already booked, I took some Allegra and suffered through it but I would strongly recommend you stay elsewhere if possible. I can say one thing positive though...fortunately, we only had to stay one evening.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
1.6 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#9 of 18 in Middletown
287 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#14 of 18 in Middletown
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Middletown Newport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Middletown Newport Area

Address: 425 E Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: $52 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Middletown Newport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your next trip to New England, book a room at our Ramada Middletown hotel near Newport beach community and downtown shopping area. Our Middletown, RI, hotel is just minutes from exciting area attractions and sightseeing, making your stay with us fun and carefree. Our 132-room property offers guest laundry services, free parking for vehicles of any size and free Wi-Fi internet access. Handicapped-accessible rooms, non-smoking rooms and whirlpool suites are available at our hotel in Middletown, RI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Middletown Newport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing