We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed 5/27-5/30-good value for this hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and ready for us when we got there, and the little welcome basket with water and a snack was nice. We used the pool once during our stay, and I was sorry we didn't use it sooner.

The only disapointment was the "breakfast on the go". Coffee/tea, a pre-packaged muffin, or a apple or banana just isn't our idea of a good breakfast- especially when other hotels offer a continental breakfast with your stay.
Overall it was a good trip for us, and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank darlene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Darlene,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Howard Johnson Inn. We highly value our guests and always want to ensure that we are meeting each and every one of our guest's needs. While we are saddened to learn that you were not overly impressed with our complimentary continental breakfast, your feedback will help us to improve the quality of our services. In the future we hope to be able to add and expand our offerings. Thank you for your kind words about our staff it gives us great pleasure to provide excellent service to our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the future.


Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel was a good value for the 4th of July week however I was disappointed. After reading the reviews I was expecting much better. The beds were very comfortable (not the chipped foam pillows) and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. But, the room had a bad smell, the carpet was damp as was the room. The pool was old, lots of rust on the stairway in the hot tub and it looked dirty so I didn't want to venture in. There was a small stain on the pillowcase and the sheet. The hotel is old and worn, with chipped paint, peeling wall paper and worn carpet. The bathroom was tiny with no counter space. The breakfast was an apple, a packaged muffin, juice, a banana or apple, coffee and nowhere to eat it.
Next time I would spend more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Audrey,

We cannot help but be disappointed to hear this was the impression you were left with after your stay with us. All your comments will be discussed with our staff so that we may reinforce the standards of service we expect to provide to our guests with special attention to room condition. We truly regret that we missed the opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for your time and feedback.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at the Howard Johnson Inn recently to visit family in the area and we could not have been more pleased. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the room was one of the cleanest hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. The first night we were there the people in the room next to us were extremely noisy and kept us up until 2:00AM. The next day I went to the desk to see if another room was available and the staff quickly accommodated us and changed our room. They then checked with us a few times to make sure we were comfortable and happy. It was one of the best hotel experiences we have had in all ways. We would not hesitate to stay here again the next time we're in Rhode Island and they are pet friendly too so they just go out of their way to accommodate their guests in every way possible. We would rate them an A++++

Room Tip: We found the rooms on the second floor were quieter and the king size bed was quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlySue421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We are truly pleased that we had the opportunity to welcome you to the Howard Johnson Inn. Thank you for your kind and gracious comments as they have been well noted and will be shared with our team. Positive feedback, such as yours, is what motivates us to continue to provide the best possible service and we thank you for reaching out and sharing your most recent visit. We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I and our dog stayed at the Howard Johnson Newport Area Inn during the last weekend of June. The Newport Flower Show was taking place on this weekend so the area in and around Newport was bustling with large crowds from both Rhode Island and out of town locations. We were in the area to attend/participate in our son's wedding (Saturday) and wedding rehearsal (Friday). The staff at the hotel are very friendly and accommodating. I had asked for an early check-in and the staff at check in went the "extra mile" to find a pet friendly room that was ready for check-in before the 3:00 PM check-in time. About 30 minutes after we checked in, they called the room to make sure that we were happy with the room and its accommodations. Although the hotel was full the previous night, they still were able to have a room ready for me for early check-in (no extra charge). We had a pet sitter come in to take care of our dog while we were attending the wedding and its associated festivities and we left his information with the front desk .

The room size was more than adequate for my wife and I and our dog. Accommodations included: refrigerator, microwave, TV (not flat screen), dehumidifier, safe and wall mounted a/c. There was a sink outside the bathroom and the bathroom included a full sink inside also. We were not in the room that much except to sleep, but all the appliances we did use worked fine (TV, Micro, Refrigerator, Dehumidifier, and A/C). The room had 2 queen size beds, a desk and several chairs. All pet friendly rooms are on the ground floor and the building we were in had sliding doors leading to an outside sitting area (2 chairs outside) for all ground floor rooms. The beds were comfortable and we both got a good, full nights sleep. The hotel was very quiet despite the fact that it was fully occupied and we were in the pet friendly section. There is a large grassy area in back of the hotel to walk/exercise your dog. There is an Applebee's Restaurant directly in front of the hotel. A continental breakfast is available in the check-in area but we did not use it during our stay.

The only problem we encountered was with the room keys. Initially, they both worked fine. I left one with our pet sitter and it stopped working on Saturday (during the day). He went to the desk, they had his info so they re-programmed his key. Our key stopped working late Saturday evening. I phoned the pet sitter and he let my wife and I in to the hotel and our room. This was a minor problem but could have been much more annoying if we did not have a pet sitter in our room.

One other minor annoyance was the $1.00 daily charge for the room safe which we did not use. There is a $10.a day charge for a pet (dog). I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in the Newport, RI area whether or not they require a pet friendly room. We will definitely return for another stay during a fall weekend stay in Newport.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of hotel have little if any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Dan,

Thank you for your beautiful review and for summing up an experience we hope each of our guests has while staying with us. Learning that you had a nearly perfect stay is such a wonderful compliment to us all. We would like to express our sincere appreciation for your kind recognition of our staff and their efforts and for taking the time to share your story with us. Please know that I have reviewed you comments concerning our safe fees and the problems you experienced with you rooms keys. Safe fees can be refunded to you at check out if you have not used the safe. I have refunded those fees to you and you should see a credit on your next credit card statement. I have forwarded your experience with the room keys to our chief engineer so that he may troubleshoot the issue. We hope you'll visit with us again soon at the Howard Johnson Inn, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Jennifer Joslyn,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here recently after visiting the Newport mansions and exploring Newport's shops, etc. From the time we arrived to book a room (last minute) until the morning we left, the service was amazing! So friendly and accommodating to our needs. Even the cleaning people were happy and cordial! The pool/hot tub areas were impeccably clean, as were the rooms; beds very comfortable. When I got home, I realized I had left my watch in the room. I called the hotel, told them about it, and 5 days later it arrived in the mail, packed up beautifully. Thank you Howard Johnson!! I would return here in a flash!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Linda,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, as we couldn't be happier to learn that our team was able to make your experience here so memorable. We are always excited to learn when we can exceed our guests' expectations and your positive and glowing remarks are truly appreciated. We hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Howard Johnson Inn in the near future.

Kind Reagrds,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here in early May 2014 while on a visit to the Mansions as well as a visit to URI. The room was very spacious and clean. The location was perfect. We were located around at least three much higher priced hotels, although I will say that we got the better bargain. The staff here was wonderful and very helpful. The carpets were being cleaned as we walked down the hall and looked like it was done on a regular basis - smelled nice! The pool was fun for the kids and we loved the ceiling heaters that warmed us as we sat poolside. Breakfast was grab and go with muffins, apples, bananas, juices, coffee and tea. This hotel has an Applebee's located on site which was very convenient for us as well. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NH_Mom_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your family at the Howard Johnson Inn and we genuinely appreciate your kind comments regarding our property and staff. We're especially pleased to learn that our pool area was a favorite amenity for your children. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Newport.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
2.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
1.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Newport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area

Address: 351 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Middletown
#3 Family Hotel in Middletown
#4 Business Hotel in Middletown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: $76 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness rm, business center, free HS Internet, Applebee's Restaurant attached, located 2 miles from downtown Newport, 1 mile from Newport Navy Base and corporate parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Howard Johnson Middletown
Howard Johnson Newport Middletown
Middletown Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing