We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific stay at HoJo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Dracut
1 review
“Terrific stay at HoJo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was very surprised at how clean the hotel and the rooms were. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson Inn. We hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind Regards,


Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    627
    129
    33
    13
See reviews for
666
482
68
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had an excellent three night stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, comfortable and fresh smelling. The complimentary breakfast consisted of hot drinks (coffee, tea, hot cocoa), muffins and fresh fruit. I would definitely stay at this Howard Johnson's again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 207. It was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmer1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience at the Howard Johnson Inn. It is always gratifying to read a review that praises our team for their customer service and we assure you that our staff will be commended for their efforts. Guest satisfaction remains our first priority and we are truly grateful for your generous comments. It was a pleasure to accommodate you during your recent stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.


Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was very clean, comfortable and conveniently located near shopping and restaurants.
The breakfast offered was coffee, juice and a variety of packaged muffins.
My daughter enjoyed the pool and fitness room.
The room was spacious, very clean and well appointed with a fridge and microwave. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and modern.
Upon checkout, check your bill carefully as the charge for the use of the room safe will be added to the bill without one mention. Ask to have the charge removed, if the safe is not used.

I would recommend this hotel to any family looking for a clean, comfortable centrally located hotel, that offers good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank MurrayFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times and always found it to be clean and convenient to anywhere in the Newport area. Comfortable beds, plenty of clean linens and friendly staff. Parking is good and there is now an Applebee's in the front lot where there once was a nice Howard Johnson's Restaurant, remember them ? Call ahead for the best rates or use a travel service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is only 2 miles from Downtown Newport. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
There are shuttles that leave the hotel every hour to and from downtown. So you don't have to worry about parking.
Make sure they give you a list with restaurant, attractions and shops addresses for your GPS if you decide to take your car for the day!
Close to restaurants and shops and free wifi and parking!
If you want luxury, stay away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
2.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area

Property: Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area
Address: 351 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Middletown
#4 Business Hotel in Middletown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness rm, business center, free HS Internet, Applebee's Restaurant attached, located 2 miles from downtown Newport, 1 mile from Newport Navy Base and corporate parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Howard Johnson Middletown
Howard Johnson Newport Middletown
Middletown Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing