We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,864)
Filter reviews
1,864 results
Traveler rating
914
720
168
47
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
914
720
168
47
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ho jo room was clean cookies indoor pool newport area applebee's restaurant continental breakfast sliding door would stay here again hot tub parking lot the staff was friendly and helpful first floor nice stay make your own waffles fridge and microwave per night
Filter
Updating list...
1,417 - 1,422 of 1,864 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently while on vacation in Newport. It's a great place to stay when visiting the area, about a 10 minute drive to the city centre of Newport. Room is updated, comfortable and clean. There is a nice size fridge with a small freezer and a microwave in the room. They offer a shuttle service to the downtown several times per day, for a minimal charge. A simple breakfast is included: juice, coffee, packaged muffins and a fruit. Well priced and a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadathebeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

It’s truly wonderful to learn of your experience with us here at the Howard Johnson Inn in Middletown. We couldn’t be happier to learn that our location worked out so perfectly for your stay. We greatly appreciate that you've taken the time to share your feedback. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Upon check in found used q-tips on the floor of our room.Hallways HOT and stinky! Someone was smoking on our floor(amazed that smoking rooms are still available)! The cigarette smoke was choking in our hallway. The trek from our room to the pool, front office and take away "breakfast" almost required a Sherpa and a pack mule! In this day and age a donut grade muffin, green banana and coffee that would have been surpassed by an instant version are as out dated as this hotel. Had I known any of this prior to our stay I would have happily paid a bit more to stay elsewhere! The pool is nice ,although incredibly hot in the pool room,and the staff is helpful when engaged; however, that is not enough to redeem this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K123l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. While your feedback is very much appreciated, we truly regret that your experience at our hotel did not match the high standards of customer service that we’ve set. We can assure you that your comments will be passed along to the appropriate departments to re-emphasize our commitment to exceptional customer service. They are currently working to resolve the issues that you noted in your review. Please accept my sincere apology.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had medicocre expectations arriving at this HoJo despite great reviews online. also when seeing it's exterior. We were there for a wedding and looking for a convenient, mopre naffordable option. This was just that and more. The room was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The bottled water, snacks, microwave and mini fridge were great extras. This hotel room was as nice, or nicer than any Hilton or Marrriot, I have stayed in recently. My boyfriend enjoyed the pool as well! The staffw as also great, helping me with safety pins when needed, connecting with us to confirm the room was ok, as well as a smooth check in/check out.

Thanks for a great time! We will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Helen,

As a seasoned traveler, we're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us in Newport. We do our best to provide warm, welcoming service to each of our guests and we'd like to thank you for your positive mention of our staff. We are delighted that you found your way to our hotel and we hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Howard Johnson Inn in Middletown the next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stay here and save, only 2 miles to downtown Newport. On the way to Newport you can stop at The Cozy Corner Restaurant, Dunkin Doughnuts, The Fire House Theater. The rooms were clean and the beds were just right.
They have an indoor pool, light breakfast and shuttle service to downtown Newport...

Room Tip: Lower Level Rear rooms away from the parking lot.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews