We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sea Whale Motel(Middletown)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sea Breeze Inn(Middletown)
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,850)
Filter reviews
1,850 results
Traveler rating
906
718
165
46
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
718
165
46
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsho joroom was cleancookiesindoor poolapplebee's restaurantnewport areasliding doorcontinental breakfastwould stay here againhot tubparking lotthe staff was friendly and helpfulfirst floornice staymake your own wafflesfridge and microwaveper night
Filter
Updating list...
1,405 - 1,410 of 1,850 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had medicocre expectations arriving at this HoJo despite great reviews online. also when seeing it's exterior. We were there for a wedding and looking for a convenient, mopre naffordable option. This was just that and more. The room was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The bottled water, snacks, microwave and mini fridge were great extras. This hotel room was as nice, or nicer than any Hilton or Marrriot, I have stayed in recently. My boyfriend enjoyed the pool as well! The staffw as also great, helping me with safety pins when needed, connecting with us to confirm the room was ok, as well as a smooth check in/check out.

Thanks for a great time! We will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Helen,

As a seasoned traveler, we're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us in Newport. We do our best to provide warm, welcoming service to each of our guests and we'd like to thank you for your positive mention of our staff. We are delighted that you found your way to our hotel and we hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Howard Johnson Inn in Middletown the next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stay here and save, only 2 miles to downtown Newport. On the way to Newport you can stop at The Cozy Corner Restaurant, Dunkin Doughnuts, The Fire House Theater. The rooms were clean and the beds were just right.
They have an indoor pool, light breakfast and shuttle service to downtown Newport...

Room Tip: Lower Level Rear rooms away from the parking lot.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Howard -Johnson Inn, Middletown is clean, friendly and safe. Costs you about 50-60$ per night. It is easy to find, located about 10 minutes drive to the center of Newport, RI, close to the restaurants. Big rooms, bathrooms are super-clean. Small refrigerator and microwave in the room.
It was our second stay there, and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: top floor is quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onnekas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

It’s always heartening to read positive feedback, especially from our return guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent visit with us at the Howard Johnson Inn. We are delighted that we continue to meet your expectations and truly appreciate that your are able to share your experience with our future guests. One note to future guests is that our rates do fluctuate thought the year from $50 -$249 per night depending on the date you visit. We hope you’ll continue to stay with us during future visits to Newport.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews