We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My weekend at the Howard Johnson Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sarear S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,405 - 1,411 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank crimsonballoons
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Howard Johnson each time I come to town - their pet rooms are located near a field where it is easy to walk my dog. The rooms are clean and the location is close to everything. Great choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your lovely review! It is always wonderful to hear when a guest has an excellent experience with us. We are glad you and your pet had the opportunity to enjoy the large open space behind the hotel which is perfect for pets to get a good run in. We hope to welcome you back to the Howard Johnson Inn in Middletown Rhode Island soon.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was lucky to find this hotel. The services were awesome. The room was so clean and the price was reasonable. I hope that my next vacation wherever I go there will be a Howard Johnson hotel available. I am impressed!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Kimanh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Kimanh,

We're glad you found your way to our hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. It's always encouraging to read such lovely comments and I am looking forward to sharing them with our team. Thank you for reaching out and sharing your experience at the Howard Johnson Inn in Middletown Rhode Island and we can't wait to welcome you back the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoNewport, General Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the time the front desk team greeted us, to our check out, we were impressed. We booked four rooms and everyone was completely satisfied if not surprised. Loved the ice cream vending machine! The room had everythng we needed. Great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kim092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Kim,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. It truly brings a smile to our faces when we read such a positive review regarding our property. We hope you'll think of us the next time you plan a trip to Newport.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
2.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
1.8 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
#16 of 18 in Middletown
177 reviews
1.8 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area

Address: 351 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Middletown
#3 Family Hotel in Middletown
#4 Business Hotel in Middletown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: $70 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness rm, business center, free HS Internet, Applebee's Restaurant attached, located 2 miles from downtown Newport, 1 mile from Newport Navy Base and corporate parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Howard Johnson Middletown
Howard Johnson Newport Middletown
Middletown Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing