We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area
Nearby Hotels
$219
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Newport Middletown(Middletown)(Great Value!)
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sea Breeze Inn(Middletown)(Great Value!)
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,806)
Filter reviews
1,806 results
Traveler rating
880
708
160
44
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
708
160
44
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleancookiesindoor poolapplebee's restaurantnewport areacontinental breakfastwould stay here againhot tubparking lotfirst floornice stayexercise roomrhode islandwafflesfront desk stafffridge and microwavecoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
1,519 - 1,524 of 1,806 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Howard Johnson's in Newport is one of our favorite places to stay. Staff always helpful, love the pool, rooms comfortable. We frequently stay there and always look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel and room were very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The kids enjoyed the pool and everything was very satisfactory. The hotel is located close to Newport and the Newport bridge and there are a variety of stores within walking distance. Overall, we had a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We wanted to take advantage of the Christmas season at the mansions and decided to stay at the Howard Johnson Inn at Middletown which is just a few miles from the mansions. We were just across the town boarder of Newport which I believe made a difference in price. Since we were going to spend our time at the mansions and the old town of Newport we just wanted a comfortable, clean room near the attractions. We found it in The Howard Johnson Inn. Our room was big with a micowave, frig, safe, and a coffee maker. You have the usual things like iron etc. hair dryer. There is fresh coffee off the lobby also. The fact that an Applebee Restaurant was attached was so great. We came to the area tired from a long drive and had a reasonably priced delicious dinner at Applebees.

The advice we got at Howard Johnson's helped make our mini vacation a great experience. The staff there is just great and very helpful. The hot tub was closed due to a problem but up and running the second day we were there. The pool was relatively warm and the sauna was fine. I intend on going back and see more of the historical Newport. I will stay at Howard Johnson again. Why pay big bucks when you are out and about most of the day?

I love going to the Christmas Tree Shop and it is almost behind the Howard Johnson Inn.

Room Tip: We like being on the second floor because we do not have a pet and pets, I believe, are only allowed on the first floor. Pet friendly is a good thing but we no longer have a pet. There was no smoking in the whole section we were in.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowbirdVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews