We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,850)
Filter reviews
1,851 results
Traveler rating
907
718
165
46
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
907
718
165
46
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsho joroom was cleancookiesindoor poolapplebee's restaurantnewport areasliding doorcontinental breakfastwould stay here againhot tubparking lotthe staff was friendly and helpfulfirst floornice staymake your own wafflesfridge and microwaveper night
Filter
Updating list...
1,609 - 1,614 of 1,851 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This property is located in Middleton - on the way to Newport. In retrospect, I should have stayed at a cute little boutique hotel in Newport - alas, I did not. Having said that, I was satisfied and comfortable at the Howard Johnson...for only $99. The biggest plus? Their management! Their staff is very efficient and very professional...I really liked my check-in interactions. The room was clean and comfortable and there is an Applebee's next door. Also, my room was larger than I had expected it to be. The only real negative is that it is not located in the charming, charming Newport proper.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelonOysterFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

On the overall, this is a really nice motel. There are too many positives to list here. The only drawback is that it's located on a very busy main thoroughfare, and entering and exiting can be "tricky", depending on the time of day. When checking in, it might be a good idea to mention if you have any physical restrictions which might require accomodating. With a recent knee replacement, I found use of the very "low profile" toilet difficult. Other than that, the motel was clean, QUIET, good amenities, and has a very courteous and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed two nights - Sunday and Monday, the end of September, and had a very good stay. We were on the second floor and the room was comfortable and quiet. Spent one evening in the pool area and that was very relaxing. The small balcony off the room was a treat. Not very far from Newport and the clerk at the front desk was very helpful answering our questions. Recommend staying there in an area where most places are very high priced. A continental breakfast would have been an added plus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews