We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,865)
Filter reviews
1,866 results
Traveler rating
915
721
168
47
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
915
721
168
47
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ho jo room was clean cookies indoor pool newport area applebee's restaurant continental breakfast sliding door would stay here again hot tub parking lot the staff was friendly and helpful first floor nice stay make your own waffles fridge and microwave per night
Filter
Updating list...
1,672 - 1,677 of 1,866 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Based on the reviews here, we decided to give this HJ a try. We stayed 2 nights and liked the hotel. It isn't high end, but it isn't a flea bag either. It's very clean. Indoor pool, jacuzzi (which we didn't use but looked clean). The added bonus was a balcony. Small, but 2 chairs which allowed us the extra room to sit out and enjoy the weather. Very convenient to all of Newport. Very friendly staff who were only too happy to make some recommendations for near by restaurants. Found a coupon on line for $79/night which they honored with no question. No breakfast but at $79/night, I could afford to eat out. Highly recommend.. and I'm very fussy about hotels and their cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazydaisy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have stayed here many times a year for the past 14 years. The place is always clean and comfey! The staff are very welcoming. It is like coming to see old friends as most have been here a long time.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J374AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We visit my Mom at her assisted living apartment in Tiverton, RI every 2 months. Since it is a 6 hour car ride away, we have been staying overnight at this hotel each time because it is clean, well-priced for the Newport area, and pet-friendly. The staff is friendly and professional and we haven't been disappointed in any of our trips. It only costs an extra $10 for our pet. We like staying in Middletown because if its proximity to the Newport harbor and restaurants. Formerly, we stayed at a hotel in Westport, MA (different brand). The hotel costs about the same but they charge $35 for pets.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vettebuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I would agree with other reviews - this hotel was a great option for us to stay near Newport. The room was clean and tidy. The hotel is conveniently located (only 5-10 min from the city center), and the price was affordable (we got it through Hotwire). The only thing that was missing was breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked this hotel for a couple of nights Labor Day week. It is very close to downtown, just a few minutes down the road. It's no frills but very clean. Not the most modern place - no flat screen tv, nothing high end in the bathroom but the fact that I could walk around on their freshly vacuumed, clean carpet without feeling disgusted and the sliding door with small terrace made up for it. Bed very clean. People who work there are very nice. They check in with you and ask if all is ok. No breakfast with the stay but for $129 per night on a holiday weekend, how could I complain. Might pay a little extra to stay in Newport next time just to be able to walk to everything but wouldn't rule this place out.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor, I think there are only 2 floors in the hotel and we carried our bags up the stairs because we couldn't find the elevator. They must have one though but ask.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamdave123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews