We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little expensive for no-frills, nice staff, good breakfast”
Review of The Sea Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sea Breeze Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed June 28, 2011

we stayed here for two nights for a family wedding. the location was pretty prime. the breakfast was very tasty and everyone was pretty nice at the hotel.

i imagine this being a very no-frills operation, mostly for people who want to be near the beach and don't care where they sleep. the linens are clean but a little dated and the bathroom is small.

just know that you are paying for location -- and if you go in with that mindset, you probably won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misstrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for The Sea Breeze Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 70 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Sea Breeze Inn recently while visiting Newport and I can't even begin to tell you how satisfied we were with our stay. Our room was extremely clean, the included breakfast was unbelievable, the location of the Inn was perfect, and the owners were simply fabulous. This will definitely be our choice B&B for our future visits to Newport.

Room Tip: Call them directly
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derfmcsnoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Some friends and I made our reservations in May and were looking forward to our stay at the Seabreeze Inn at the end of July. We were told the Inn was on the beach and that we were within walking distance to the town of Newport. NOT!

First of all, we drove up to the Inn and found dirty plastic chairs and tables outside. There was a walk up ice cream window with signs hanging askew. It had a Bates Hotel kind of feeling. My friend and I looked at each other wondering if we were at the right place. When we walked into the reception area, we were greeted by a woman who was lovely, but clearly had no idea what she was doing. We asked to see our room and she proceeded to take us through dirty dimly lit hallways and up the stairs to our room. I had made a reservation for a room with 2 queen size beds at the rate of $279 per night. When we arrived at the room it was nothing like what the picture on the website showed. Instead of 2 queen beds, there was a queen bed and a day bed. Both beds had mismatched covers, shabby mattresses and weren't well made. I looked behind the bed and found cobwebs and debris. I pulled the cover back from the bed to the sheets and found what looked like something greasy/oily on the sheets.

The balcony had the same ratty plastic chairs that were at the entrance and our view was of a bit of a teeny little muddy beach but mostly of a commercial area.

Not only is the Seabreeze Inn a dump, but it is overpriced at $279 per night for the double room. We immediately asked for our deposits back (which the woman at the desk said coulndn't be refunded) and got out of there. I had to dispute the charge with my credit card company, but ended up getting my money back. Really creepy, yucky place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sah9863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

When I saw the previous review, which is an injustice to the inn, I had to write something.

My husband and I stay here every time we visit Newport. We have stayed at the Seabreeze Inn about 4 times and presently have reservations for June 2010.

The rooms are always clean and we are served a great hot full breakfast every morning. We are always made to feel very welcome.

We go each year in the spring, which is still considered off-peak, so the rates are a little lower. I shopped around, and other inns, hotels and B&Bs in the area were all either the same rates or much higher. Many of them do not serve a "full" breakfast.

It's a very short drive into town, which doesn't bother us at all. It is too expensive to stay right in the town of Newport.

We can also see the beach and cliff walk in the distance from the room window.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 8cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Newport area hotels are expensive and that is due to location. The Seabreeze is a litlle further out so it "should" be a little less expensive. It is not. A tiny room with just a bed is 199.00/night. The room we had was not clean at all we found crackers in the couch, the bathtub did not drain so after 3 of us showered there was 6" of water in the tub. The glass shower enclosure were broken and very hard to move. There are other places to stay!
The internet is wireless and worked so poorly the hotel across the street worked better

There is a very nice breakfast that is included

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank komondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Aziz071166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank angela1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.2 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
1.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#14 of 18 in Middletown
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,036 reviews
1.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Breeze Inn

Address: 147 Aquidneck Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-5613
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: $194 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sea Breeze Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Breeze Inn has just completed a full renovation and is the newest Boutique Hotel/B&B in Newport County. The hotel features 16 professionally designed rooms and suites, all with private balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and Easton's pond. Walk to Easton's Beach, Newport's famous Cliff Walk and local area bars and restaurants and enjoy a full, complimentary breakfast every morning in our on-site cafe. The Inn also includes an elevator, Free parking, cable TV with over 60 channels, and complimentary high speed WiFi & plug-in internet in every room. We at the Sea Breeze Inn strive to make your visit to Newport an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sea Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing