We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at this property 9/25 3 nights. Previous stay was 2 years ago. The hotel does not dis-appoint. The suites are large & well appointed & very clean. The full kitchen, 2 TV's and separate bedroom/living room are a welcome change from a standard hotel room. The free Wi-Fi was fast and reliable. The free breakfast was available from 6am-10am daily & it was excellent. Lots of choices from waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, oatmeal, bagels, toast, juice, coffee, yogurts & fresh fruit. WOW! The food was always hot & never empty. The breakfast ladies do an excellent job. The free BBQ on Thursday night was a pleasant surprise. The heated indoor pool & whirlpool were clean & enjoyable. Newport & the surrounding area are beautiful.

Room Tip: Best hotel in the Newport area. Avoid the diner north of the hotel & the pizza across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    111
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
145
114
11
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel was clean and the rooms well cared for each day. The breakfast each day is so-so but it is included in the price of the room and there is a wide variety so everyone can find something to eat. The trip into Newport is easy but do park in the lots. We got a parking ticket for parking in a restricted residence zone which was not marked as such.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week and had an excellent “guest experience.” The Residence Inn rates highly on all scores. It’s very clean, full of amenities for the traveler, and has a great staff. Special kudos to Mike at the front desk for assistance he rendered early on in our stay.

In addition to a spacious suite (separate bedroom and living room area), it also features a well-equipped kitchenette with full-size fridge, stove dishwasher and microwave. So when we came back with doggy bags from some of the local restaurants, we actually had the ability to store and then reheat instead of letting the food go to waste.

The Residence Inn also feeds you well, and the food is free. Rolled into the room rate, which is very reasonable given the proximity to Newport. Free breakfast every morning, and dinner two or three nights per week. For a family trying not to blow the vacation budget on expensive dining, especially with kids, this is a true bargain.

One other nod to the great service. My wife left a set of audio-video cables in the room. She called after we got home and, yes, they found the cables. She was ready to pay for them to send them back to us … but no, they sent the cables back to us in a well-padded envelope at no cost. Thanks, Marriott!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback about your stay. It's great to hear that you were pleased with the size, cleanliness and amenities offered in our suites. With complimentary breakfast everyday and dinner 3 nights per week there's no excuse for leaving hungry. We were pleased to locate your cables and return them. I hope you will visit us again when you return to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostduinkerke, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 days during labor day weekend. The room was big and clean, breakfast was good and the free barbecue was a pleasant surprise to us. And then on the morning we were supposed to check out my husband had a major health problem and not being an american I was feeling really helpless about what to do. I therefore want to thank all the staff for helping me out and especially the two ladies from housekeeping who helped me look for my husband's wallet and offered to drive us to the hospital, the hotel manager who asked the shuttle driver to take us to the hospital and the driver who took us there. I wanted to thank you personally when I returned at night to book an extra night for myself as my husband had to stay in the ICU, but the staff had changed in the mean time. All is well now and maybe o e day we'll return to finish our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egelantje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I am so glad to hear that everything turned out okay for you and your husband. Our AGM was happy to assist and relieved to know that your husband is feeling better. We hope that one day you can return to finish your trip and we look forward to having you stay with again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were very happy to find this hotel. Newport hotels were twice the price, plus had less features than this one. Hot breakfast was a nice addition, plus we saved a bunch.
Commute to Newport was non-issue, less then 10 minutes

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
138 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here last year and was so happy with the accommodation that we returned this year, too. This hotel is immaculate in every aspect! The breakfast was excellent, many choices and seating for all. The hotel is quiet, you hear very little noise from adjoining rooms or hallways. If you have allergies ask to be placed on the 4th floor as we did, the "No Pets" floor. Also take advantage of the shuttle into Newport (only 2 miles), and avoid parking charges of up to $20 if you cannot find on street parking. The dinners three nights a week are popular, especially with families. This is an ideal location, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Loved this place. Great location, parking, friendly stuff. Clean and spacious accommodations. Complimentary breakfast was a nice edition. The pool and hot tub were lovely. Planning to return to Newport and stay here again. Wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
272 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newport Middletown

Property: Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Address: 325 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Middletown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#6 Family Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport County's newest hotel featuring 97 spacious suites, each with full kitchen and separate areas for sleeping, eating, working and relaxing. Enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, sport court, business center, guest laundry and all the comforts of home including free HS internet, complimentary hot breakfast buffet and social hour Monday, Tuesday & Thursday evenings. Beer & wine bar. Just 2 miles from the scenic attractions of Newport, yet nearby to the Navy Base and Corporate Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Residence Inn Middletown
Middletown Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing