We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights in Newport with my mom and three kids and we had a great stay. This was my second time at this location and I was not disappointed. Everyone was very friendly and accomadating. The light dinner offerings provided were surprisingly delicious and well executed. The free breakfast with five people is a big savings. The location was great with aneasy ride into Newport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 405 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel, and it won't be our last. The location is perfect, just a few minutes from the Newport waterfront area. Our dog travels with us, and there were several other dogs in the hotel during the week we were there. As we walked her around the grounds, we found plenty of baggie stands and trash cans, and it appears that people do clean up after their dogs.

Our suite was of ample size and clean - and the staff continue to go above and beyond when it comes to making sure that the guests are comfortable and that their needs are attended to. The breakfast area was very busy each of the 5 mornings of our stay, there was a huge wedding party, and lots of families with small children. It was amazing how the staff members , especially Teddie, were able to keep the food replenished, the tables clean, and still manage to smile and greet everyone. A very nice way to start every day of our vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ike_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks for making a return visit to the Residence Inn. The suites are large and clean but as you mentioned we try hard to offer memorable service regardless of how busy it is. I will be sure that Teddie is recognized for her efforts. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I try to stay at a Marriott Hotel whenever I travel. This hotel did not disappoint. In fact it was a wonderful, delightful, and relaxing place to spend a week vacation. The service was excellent. The room was comfortable and homey. Location was fantastic.

This hotel is very close to anything you would want to do in the greater Newport vicinity. If fact there is a shuttle that leaves the hotel on the hour - all day long. It drives to downtown Newport and drops you off in the middle of the hustle & bustle....and picks you up and delivers you to your quiet hotel. Can you say, "ahhhhh, time for a nap"!

I am all about great service and accommodations for a great price. This hotel nailed it.

Room Tip: take advantage of the shuttle bus to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mblodgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks for your kind words about our service and accommodations. We were pleased to hear that you found the shuttle convenient as well. I hope you will return to our Inn soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Extremely friendly and accommodating front desk staff and greeting by the manager. Very spacious, modern and well equipped room. Very nice complementary breakfast. This was an overnight stay while touring colleges in Rhode Island. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountain_Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We loved this hotel! Great location. The room was really nice, the refigerator was full size, and the kitchen was perfect. The hotel was very clean, and everyone was friendly and helpful. It was nice that they have a bar on the premises. Everything was perfect !

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank danmax2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and overall it was a good experience. The hotel is very clean, the staff is helpful and friendly with suggestions for activities, a huge breakfast offered daily, free supper offered three evenings during the week, nice pool and rooms are reasonably sized. They have a bar with reasonably priced options available. Lots of stores available close by such as pharmacies, grocery stores, liquor stores, etc. A quick 10 minute drive into Newport but if you don't feel like driving, they have a shuttle for a small free. Absolutely no problems with dogs, we never saw any and we stayed on the second floor which I believe may be a dog-friendly floor but it was clean and no smell or signs of dogs having been in the room. i believe that there are floors where dogs are not allowed so if you really want to avoid them altogether, ask for those rooms. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was in Newport for business and brought the family along. We stayed from July 4-7 in a two-bedroom unit on the 4th (no pet) floor. The room itself was clean, well laid out and stocked with everything we needed. The room looked over the backyard of a home behind the hotel. The RI lies just next to a Howard Johnson motel and behind a Hampton Inn. Within a 2 minute drive, or a longish walk is a grocery store, Walgreens, pizza and Starbucks.

In the hotel, we used the indoor pool, business center and laundry facilities. Other than the extreme slowness of the computers, all was in working order.

As for the breakfast, let's cut the workers some slack here - it was like feeding time at the zoo on a holiday weekend. Teddie and Brenda did a yeoman's job of keeping the rooms clean, resupplying food and helping people. I was really impressed with their level of calmness amid the chaos.

Vanessa at the front desk gave me great advice, and was a cheerful presence during our comings and goings.

I do agree with a previous reviewer that the pet policy needs to be better stated. I would have been extremely unhappy had I been given a room previously occupied by an animal. I was alarmed at the number of dogs around this hotel. I got the impression that the pet owners viewed their $75 cleaning fee as a ticket to let their dogs bark, sit with them in the dining area while food was being served and generally have the run of the place. As a hotel is a 'communal living' arrangement, albeit a temporary one, and just as children and adults should refrain from running in the halls, speaking loudly and clean up after themselves, pet owners need to stop thinking that everyone must think their dog is cute and welcomed.

I would certainly stay here again, but only if I am assured of a no pet floor.

Room Tip: If you don't have a dog with you, go to the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank detroitmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your 2 bedroom suite and rated the hotel with an "excellent". The holiday weekend was very busy for our breakfast crew; thanks for recognizing the efforts they made. As I mentioned to the previous writer, dogs are not allowed in food areas & we will be sure to enforce the policy in the future. Our 3rd and 4th floors are both non-pet areas & we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#8 of 18 in Middletown
283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newport Middletown

Address: 325 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Middletown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#6 Family Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: $141 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport County's newest hotel featuring 97 spacious suites, each with full kitchen and separate areas for sleeping, eating, working and relaxing. Enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, sport court, business center, guest laundry and all the comforts of home including free HS internet, complimentary hot breakfast buffet and social hour Monday, Tuesday & Thursday evenings. Beer & wine bar. Just 2 miles from the scenic attractions of Newport, yet nearby to the Navy Base and Corporate Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Residence Inn Middletown
Middletown Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing