We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Newport Middletown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I arrived today to celebrate our anniversary-having celebrated for the past four years in Middletown/Newport RI. When we arrived we were greeted very nicely and as we were walking away we heard a "Happy Anniversary" from one of the lobby receptionists. How thoughtful. As we arrived in our room we noticed a card and a vase of flowers. The card was a Happy Anniversary card hand signed by many of the staff including the kitchen! You can get a clean room, reasonably priced with many amenities but to add personal thoughtful touches takes this hotel and its staff to a much higher level. I traditionally wait to write a review but felt this review should not wait. Our room was as always clean and ready. Pool area and gym great. Cookies to greet us as we arrived from dinner-nice! The person who greeted us was friendly and the night desk person was friendly and funny! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. It is close to Newport without the high price, close to nice restaurants and tomorrow we will have a great complimentary breakfast. Beautiful scenery! If you are looking for a great place to stay when visiting Newport-stay at the Residence Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chazleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    103
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
130
101
10
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom with spouse and daughter and we had plenty of room. Kitchen was nice and well-equipped. We never had to drive far to get to any parts of town from this hotel, whether the beach or downtown or otherwise around town. We enjoyed the food they served (really enough for a meal) during certain evenings and didn't expect that, especially for free. Breakfast was good although hard boiled eggs would have put it over the top. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Jeff_Miller, Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear DS: Thank you for staying with us. We hear your comments and added hard boiled eggs to our breakfast on a trial basis about a month ago. The feedback has been very positive so we will continue to offer them. We look forward to your return. Sincerely, Jeff Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Enjoyed a two bedroom suite for one night over the winter school break. My three daughters and their friend had plenty of space to spread out. Typical Residence Inn with excellent breakfast. Close driving distance to downtown Newport and the Mansions. If visiting in the summer they have an outside patio with BBQ and basketball court.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CMZBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
216 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Checked into this hotel late...treated well by the front desk manager...large room with poor heating and the room was actually still cold in the morning...huge parking lot...excellent breakfast...had to call about six times to their techincal support because neither the wired or wireless internet worked...really what you want in a hotel is a clean warm room, good bed, and hot shower in the morning...so why did we not have any heat and when did it become my problem to fix their internet...THIS IS MY LAST RESIDENCE INN EXPERIENCE!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to speak with me on the phone about your stay. I am sorry that the internet was not working and that your room was cold. As discussed it took over 90 minutes to get the wifi restored and you mentioned that the room never warmed up for you. I apologize that your stay was not satisfactory and after discussing it with you have processed a refund. I hope you will stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Rhode Island. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great experience. Sincerely, Jeff Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Plenty of room in the king one bedroom room. There was a kitchenette in the room that was a nice addition. The hotel contains a good sized pool as well as a hot tub. It takes a short amount of time to reach Newport from the hotel, approximately 5 minutes, and the same if you are heading to 2nd beach in Middletown. The hotel is basically located in a strip mall, which is not great, but there was a food store which was convenient. Very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGH4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel provides very clean spacious rooms with quality furniture, comfortable beds and a kitchenette. Pool, fitness center and business center are pretty nice. Most residence inn hotels are build cheap with really thin walls and ceilings, therefore it is best to ask for a top floor room. The hotel was pretty full during my stay because of a kids hockey tournament and hoards of kids were everywhere without any supervision. Not what I expected in a business oriented long term stay hotel, but my stay was okay anyway. I have kids myself, but they do not vandalize by blocking elevator doors with objects etc...I will come back, but probably ask first if there is anything special going on.

Room Tip: Top floor corner rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Newport, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for writing in regards to your most recent stay at the Residence Inn. I am sorry that your stay coincided with that of a local hockey tournament, resulting in lots of kids at the hotel. I can certainly understand that your stay was impacted as a result. We look forward to your return and are happy to provide you with information about unusual activities that may affect a future stay. As you mentioned, we are a business oriented extended stay hotel but during the holidays we typically see fewer corporate guests and more guests traveling with families. Thanks for the awesome cleanliness rating!! Sincerely, Jeff Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is by far the best Residence Inn we've stayed at. The entire staff was pleasant and went over an above what we would have expected. I have a soy allergy. The kitchen staff was extremely helpful with managing my allergy both at breakfast and at the social in the evening event. The desk staff helped us with activties in the area. Would defintely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaWeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
1.8 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 17 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newport Middletown

Property: Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Address: 325 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Middletown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#6 Family Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport County's newest hotel featuring 97 spacious suites, each with full kitchen and separate areas for sleeping, eating, working and relaxing. Enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, sport court, business center, guest laundry and all the comforts of home including free HS internet, complimentary hot breakfast buffet and social hour Monday, Tuesday & Thursday evenings. Beer & wine bar. Just 2 miles from the scenic attractions of Newport, yet nearby to the Navy Base and Corporate Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Residence Inn Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Residence Inn Middletown
Middletown Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing