We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, Great Staff, Great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Staff, Great rooms”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had an excellent stay in our very comfortable and clean two bedroom apartment at the Residence Inn. A really warm welcome (and cookie) on arrival with great staff who's motto seemed very much to go the extra mile and make sure you had a comfortable stay.

The room we had was on a no pet floor, and certainly there was no trace of this. The suite we had comprised of lounge and diner with oven, microwave, large fridge/freezer, coffee maker, dishwasher, crockery, utensils, glassware and pans. Large dining table for four persons and a small sit up bar area and a comfortable couch which can convert into a queen size sofa bed. Again a good flat screen tv with the usual hotel services and pay movies.

The main bedroom consisted of king bed, walk through closet and basin area and wc, bath/shower. Plenty of drawer and closet space and a good size flat screen TV. Bedroom two consisted of a queen bed and again the same features as of the main bedroom, plus a good size desk for work.

Wi-fi is free which was great and unlike other hotels no blocks on i-tunes and the like. During the course of the week, the hotel has welcome hors d'oeuvres which is a great touch. An ample breakfast is served free each day too.

The hotel also has a pool, hot tub, and small gymnasium, along with a laundry room and small shop. Shaw's Supermarkets is two blocks away should you need to get provisions.

We stayed three nights, and would have stayed longer if our itinerary had allowed. A great base and much cheaper than staying in Newport which is about 3 miles away. Within 90 minutes drive you can get to Cape Cod for the day too and also Wrentham Outlet Mall.

I'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, but make sure you request a pet free floor unless you are travelling with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baloobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    111
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
145
114
11
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
albany, ny
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Really nice rooms, great service-just what you would expect from a Marriott. We loved staying here. The only drawback is the price of the bridge if you are not just interested in seeing Newport. Four dollars each way adds up.
Very close to Newport, easy access to the beaches of South County. Provided us with a DVD player free of charge.
Breakfast was your standard Marriott-I like the oatmeal. Eggs were not fresh for scrambled. Coffee good. Waffles etc.
Great gym/ great equipment and very nice small pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkdAlbany_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My only compliant is the price & the contential breakfatI thought it was a little high for a Residence Inn but the price may be due to the market. the breakfast was what I have experienced at a mid scale or economy brand. I expect a little more from the Marriott brands as they are not in that market segment. More variety would have been welcome. The hotel was clean. The suite we has was 2 bedrooms. Very nice. One bedroom was a king, the other a queen and a sleeper sofa in the living space. Each bedroom had its own bathroom. The kitchen was very clean. All the pots, pans, cups, dishes and utensils were clean & available. I did appreciate the housekeeping pulling out kitchen linens for us. the space was nice for a weekend with 3 children under 4 plus us & the grandparents.

on our second day, the person running the breakfast was mt helpful. They pulled out a highchair or our 14 month old. The prior morning we could not locate it or help. It's the little things like this that help a traveling family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyMama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
npt_traveler, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments about the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite. It's a great alternative to renting 2 separate rooms. Your kind comments about cleanliness will be shared with our team. Our hot breakfast buffet has a rotating menu so that each day we offer scrambled eggs, a meat item, and a potato item. Additionally a breakfast sandwich, pancakes or biscuits with sausage gravy is rotated as well. The waffle station as well as fresh fruit, yogurt & oatmeal are offered daily. Again, thanks for your comments about the service and your experience. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband I booked 3 rooms for ourselves and a few friends on our most recent trip to Newport RI. The hotel is only a few minute drive/ cab ride to downtown Newport. The rooms are spacious and the building looks to be relatively new. The kitchen and bathrooms have nice granite/quartz counter tops. The rooms are clean, which matter the most to us. Our room had 2 tv's and a full fridge. Nice firm bed. The rooms have black-out curtains, but they are just kind of hidden behind two other layers. We asked for rooms on the 3rd floor and we got those, along with early check-in for 2 out of the 3 rooms. This hotel offers a free HOT complimentary breakfast, which is a nice extra. The maintenance staff is very pleasant, I would say even more pleasant than the front desk staff we encountered. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickels91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
138 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a perfect spot to enjoy Newport and other near-by areas, only about 5 minutes from Bellevue Avenue and the Mansions of Newport. The rooms are lovely, nice size, so clean; with a modern kitchen and nice fluffy towels. Why the Very Good, not Excellent? The breakfast, which was ho-hum, with the oatmeal all gone by 9:30, though breakfast was til 10, not enough fresh fruit, and too much "junk food" cereals. Sorry, this is on the whole a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you have kids. The entire hotel was filled with families. Its a 2 mile drive from downtown Newport. The rooms were nice, one bedroom with a living room and small kitchen. The only thing I found disappointing was the breakfast food. They have a pretty good selection as far as options, but the overall taste of the food was nonexistant. We paid a slightly higher rate per night to have the breakfast included with our room to help save money as breakfast can be costly on vacation but we wouldnt do that again at this location.

Newport is a great place to visit and walk around. You have to check out all the mansions and little stores on the water. Dont forget to check out First Beach. They have a very small aquarium but you can touch all the fish which is nice for the kids. The restaurants do not allow you to bring your stroller inside so be prepared to leave them at the front door, same for the mansions, no strollers allowed which made for an interesting visit to each of them with my one year old. You have to pay to park everywhere but all the meters come with a credit card option. They also have parking lots where you can keep your car all day for about $10-15.00. The cliff walk is beautiful and you can bring your stroller for most of it. Go early to get free parking on a side street.

Make sure you eat at the Garden Terrace in the Vanderbilt Hotel. Excellent food and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kricar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night after our day in downtown Newport. The hotel is about 10 minutes away. The rooms are very clean and the staff is friendly. Good alternative if you can't find a hotel in the Newport area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nytravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
2.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newport Middletown

Property: Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Address: 325 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Middletown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#6 Family Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport County's newest hotel featuring 97 spacious suites, each with full kitchen and separate areas for sleeping, eating, working and relaxing. Enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, sport court, business center, guest laundry and all the comforts of home including free HS internet, complimentary hot breakfast buffet and social hour Monday, Tuesday & Thursday evenings. Beer & wine bar. Just 2 miles from the scenic attractions of Newport, yet nearby to the Navy Base and Corporate Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Residence Inn Middletown
Middletown Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing