We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Middletown
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We stayed here while attending a wedding in the area.

Pros:
Clean rooms, decent size
location-right across the street from 1st beach

Cons:
Also right across the street from Atlantic Beach Club and another bar which makes it noisy at night. We could hear the music until at least 1 am, when we finally fell asleep. Request a room on the other side.

Forget the free breakfast, except for grabbing a cup of coffee. The breakfast room is small and services both the Comfort Inn and it's sister property, the Quality Inn next door, so you can imagine how packed the room was on a weekend morning.

Staff at the front desk were having a hard time checking people in. They were very unorganized. They had me sign the paperwork and assigned me a room, but went on to check in someone else before they gave me my room keys, which I finally had to request.


Since the room rate was high for what you get, I would probably try another hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Middletown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 228 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2007

We stayed here for one night for a wedding on Memorial Day weekend. We had a great stay, the room was very nice and clean, and looked new. The bed was so comfortable, and it was quiet in the room, you couldn't hear your neighbors. This property is across the street from the beach and Atlantic Beach Club, it was so nice to attend the wedding and just walk across the street to our bed!
The breakfast is not great, however, a very small room filled with wall to wall people, so I would suggest getting coffee and going out for breakfast!
The Quality Inn is across the parking lot from this hotel, and our family said it wasn't that great over there, so I would suggest staying here if there is a choice between the tow!
Overall a great, economical, comfortable stay for us!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annasmom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

First of all the rooms were generally nice. Only thing is most of the rooms looked like they were missing furniture. And shutting the doors was difficult - made lots of noise. Location is excellent and Atlantic Beach Club across the street is the best place to eat - along with Flos Clab Shack and Kjs. You must eat at these places.
THe hotel does not have room service and their "breakfast" in the morning is not much: waffles, cereal, juice, muffices, and a few other bits.
Main problems were:
The staff at the Comfort Inn is completely incompetent.
From the beginning when I first booked them for my wedding block there was nothing but problems. When my guests would call to book a room- they were told there was no block. Then they would give different rates than we had contracted with them.
Guests check in days and check out days where wrong. When I called to confirm my reservation- they did NOT have me booked for my wedding night (had received email when first booked that i was booked on that night)- IMAGINE if coming back on oyour wedding night you had no room! Make sure to confirm your reservation- they have difficulty performing normal tasks !!
Half way through our stay - the keys stoped working and some guests even after given the "correct keys" still had problems. My now husband was locked out of his room and hour before our ceremony. They told him it was cause one of their employees made the keys in advance!
Next was they then checked in our guests under the wrong names (mistook George for Paul) so when Paul tried to check in he was told he was essentially out of luck. We then booked the conference room for the weekend and after we misplaced the key it took them several times to give us the correct one. The last straw was when we made bags with food,etc for our guests - half of our guests did not receive them. Either the staff does not know how to follow directions (which they don't) or they welcomed themselves to the food,etc. After my stay I went to the manager CATHY- she told me I had not made enough bags. I had requested 2 days prior a list of my guests and made MORE then enough bags. She then sass mouthed me back.
In general if your looking for a hotel in a great location with excellent food in the area- its fine. BUT beware of the HORRIBLE staff and manager. Wouldnt give them my business if my life depended on it. I repeat- completely incompetent.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank s1uggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

After searching for a quick get away place to stay on Newport, we decided just to "wing it" and show up. The Comfort Inn in Middletown is brand new and was a great place to stay, fantastic location, very clean, great rates (partially because the pool wasn't open) (who needs the pool when you can walk to one beach and another is a 3 minute drive).
Wonderful complimentary breakfast.

Highly reccomend

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank samfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos com vista para a praia rende belas fotos da praia.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fermahelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je ne recommande pas cet hôtel à cause des odeurs et de la négligence d'entretien.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jocelyne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
1.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,036 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
670 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Middletown

Address: 28 Aquidneck Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: $88 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing