We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome Vacation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Middletown
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awsome Vacation!!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

May not be a Five Star Hotel, but made our trip a Five Star Vacation! Simple, Clean, and Cozy, this hotel was perfect for our first trip to Newport, RI. It's not in the center of town, but only a 2 miniute drive from everything. There aren't too many choices for hotels in the area, but this one seemed to suit our trip just fine. Located right accross the street from the beach and only a few minutes from all the restaurants and shops, the best part about it was the price, the free breakfast which was awsome! and the view of the beach from our room. Also, the hotel's Sports Bar and Restaurant 'TICKETS' is just accross the street. Their food is ok and it was a lot of fun. They have a great atmosphere, great music, cool people, awsome drinks, an arcarde, and flat screen TVs playing all kinds of different sports games. Overall, I don't think we could have found a better place to stay for the money without having to stay at a B&B which are a dime a dozen in Newport. :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    88
    66
    24
    7
See reviews for
77
94
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We were looking for a location close to the cliff walk, close to the mansion tours and with easy access to downtown Newport - BUT without the high prices of the Newport waterfront. This property met all those parameters. The staff was EXCELLENT. The rooms were very clean and appeared to be recently updated. The price was at least half that of the Newport waterfront. We spent two days/early evenings touring Newport and only needed a convenient comfortable place to sleep. The Comfort Inn and staff were a perfect match for our travel needs. Will definitely return on our next trip to Newport!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USNA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I joined the rewards program online and got this room for $60. We have a grew beach view, and the room is very clean and well appointed. I now request to see a room before booking and we were ushered to this room which is easily worth twice the price.
The breakfast area has 3 types of cereal, some apples and oranges, a whole fridge of yogurts, oatmeal and warm sausages as well as a waffle machine.
The room key also gets you a discount at 3 local eateries (see review of 'tickets')
For the money I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jboxer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed off season but noticed some bars/clubs + Flo's clam shack is right next door so in summer it could be a plus or minus for you. There is a public beach across the street, very nice for walks.

It wasn't busy, maybe a few cars in the lot each night however it seems like they put everyone on same floor rather than spreading them out. The room was clean and comfy....a fridge/microwave was in the room. The breakfast room was roomy with TV & outdoor deck if the weather is nice. The attendant is helpful.

This hotel was priced right compared to the ones in Newport harbor area. Free parking/ 2 miles away from Newport.... we never paid for parking in Newport... free lots at the mansions, free street parking downtown or a few quarters for a meter here or there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Rhonda was our front desk agent. She was very helpful and made us feel at home. This place was great and a short ride to Newport. The pool was a bit cold. Breakfast was fair. The women running breakfast was outstanding! There was never anything empty and it seems all the customers loved her. The rooms were clean but alittle small but overall a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurena143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was a last minute booking and most of the bigger hotels were sold out. The hotel is in a great location. The beach is across the street and minutes from shopping, restaurants and the mansions. The room was a little tight - not alot of space between the TV and the beds but, it was fine. Once again, because of the late booking were were stuck with 2 double beds but, they were comfortable. Did the usual "bed bug" inspection and no signs of them. The only thing I hate about staying at a Comfort Inn is that they still use the gold bedspreads. Most hotels did away with bedspreads a long time ago. From the outside, I was a little nervous because it was an older, shingle building but, the room was clean. Continental breakfast was typical. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shashi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2011

nice hotel and super close to newport and minutes from the cliff walk! nice, clean rooms.

Room Tip: ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandbabe8613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Atlantic Beach Hotel
#16 of 18 in Middletown
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Middletown

Property: Comfort Inn Middletown
Address: 28 Aquidneck Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing