We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Charmer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegant Charmer”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Recently I attended a thyme party for friends and family in Middletown just on the city line with Newport, RI.

After the party later that night we stayed at the Carriage House Inn located just a block away on Miantonomi Avenue. This graceful 23-room charmer is a restored turn of the century Victorian inn very comfortable and conveniently located to everything that both Middletown and Newport have to offer. Walking into the lobby there are high ceilings with crown molding, wall trimming and chandeliers. There is an arched opening to the beautiful staircase leading to the second floor with another arched way beside it over the reception area alongside the staircase. At the other end of the opened space is a very attractive traditional carpeted main sitting area with chandelier, high backed winged chairs and sofa. The room is decorated with Victorian style lamps, tables and other furnishings. The inn staff was attentive, friendly and helpful.

The bedroom with two queen beds on the second floor we shared was spacious, well appointed again with high ceilings, a butler area as you enter the room with fridge, coffee pot, microwave for the guest convenience and a seating area. A flat screen TV was on the wall in the sleeping area and a safe was available on the bottom shelf of the nightstand to lock away any valuables during our stay. The bathroom was renovated with tub, toilet and shower with the sink, wall and smaller mirrors with a blow dryer located opposite the bathroom door making it easy for more than one guest to get ready.

Breakfast the next morning in the main floor sitting room was ample with bagels, cereals, croissants, oatmeal, muffins, granola, fresh, fruit, coffee, tea, etc. The seating tables are rather small and one has to juggle the breakfast when three people are sitting together at one small table but there is outside seating on the veranda. Obviously the sooner that one arrives for breakfast the more choices will be available.

This historic Inn is a gem in a neighborhood area perfect for guests wishing for a bit of elegance but with all the modern amenities at an affordable price.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the third floor but the elevator only goes to the second floor where there are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jostravels42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    34
    16
    9
See reviews for
41
76
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawtucket, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After reading good reviews online my husband and I were thrilled to book a room at The Carriage Inn after attending a wedding at the ABC club.When we finally got to our room (for the first time) to shower we saw numerous hairs all over the walls and floor of the shower.That set our moods back quite a bit knowing our room was not properly cleaned prior to us being given it.We then found two dead mosquitoes that someone had squished and not cleaned on the night stand and ivory curtain.Also, on floor on side of bed a very crusty,extremely old chunk of muffin or pastry. I was extremely grossed out and disappointed. The room smelled very old and musty. The most important part of a guests stay is ensuring cleanliness to make them feel comfortable. The entire short stay I felt as if nothing in that room were clean and I was very uncomfortable. After paying $115 for the night I expected to at least receive a clean room. Unfortunately, I would definitely reconsider ever returning to this hotel in the future for events we attend in Newport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Middletown hotels

Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The reception, lobby and breakfast area are decorated like a colonial "inn"--like a grand house, and the feeling is much more like a B&B or inn than it is a chain hotel. The manager was interesting to talk to, breakfast was adequate, our room was large and the bathroom was huge. I really liked the upscale atmosphere. It's just a quick 5 minute drive around the lake to the Cliffwalk area and the start of Bellevue Ave where the mansions are. But you definitely need a car. It's located in more of a residential area with no shops or anything pedestrian friendly nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrinkledpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I almost cancelled our reservation when i read previous reviews but i'm glad i didn't. This is a lovely Victorian Inn a few miles from Newport; classy, clean and quiet. We had a very spacious room on the 3rd floor away from the elevator, which I had requested. Wayne was at the desk every day,gave us good directions, very helpful. Very ample continental breakfast;can eat inside or on the porch. Drinks and fresh fruit all day. Would definitely stay here again..

Room Tip: Elevator goes up to 2nd floor so must be able to climb 15 steps to large 3rd floor rooms but well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerimayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The MOST comfortable bed EVER!! I slept like a dog, the room exceeded expectations in every way: Huge high ceiling, nice decor, quiet, convenient to Newport and all of Aquidneck, easy to find. Way better than a chain hotel.
The breakfast might have been the only weak point, get down there early, some people like to hog a table and sit and visit when they should finish and get a move on. Don't miss the lovely deck out back or you can take your breakfast on a tray back up to your room. Great selection, but I get the feeling people also take advantage of the juice in bottles and pocket more than they need. It's not an open pantry, people...
Very convenient to laundry, restaurants, ice cream (Becky's and Newport Creamery - WOW).

Room Tip: Second floor above the entrance, just perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennconsota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed just one night after a long day viewing mansions in Newport. It was nice to get out of the busy Newport area. Older building but well kept. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Nice complimentary breakfast. Friendly staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jmtjbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

it was a friday before lunch time and we had to wander down the hallway to find someone to check us in. we booked on Orbitz and they had all the details but he took great pains to get us to repeat our details and typed it in with 1 finger as slowly as possible. it took us 15 minutes to check in. not a smile , thank you or hello the whole time. there were 2 other couples loitering waiting. this was slow season. god help him when it is the summer.

i don't care if you have 1 star or 2, put a person at the front desk who has clean clothes and does not look tortured. we got the corner suite and it was sad. never seen carpet laid so poorly. the sofa had seen it's days too. it sloped forward big time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 93 Miantonomi Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-5428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Inn, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Middletown
Clarion Middletown
Middletown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing