We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After reading good reviews online my husband and I were thrilled to book a room at The Carriage Inn after attending a wedding at the ABC club.When we finally got to our room (for the first time) to shower we saw numerous hairs all over the walls and floor of the shower.That set our moods back quite a bit knowing our room was not properly cleaned prior to us being given it.We then found two dead mosquitoes that someone had squished and not cleaned on the night stand and ivory curtain.Also, on floor on side of bed a very crusty,extremely old chunk of muffin or pastry. I was extremely grossed out and disappointed. The room smelled very old and musty. The most important part of a guests stay is ensuring cleanliness to make them feel comfortable. The entire short stay I felt as if nothing in that room were clean and I was very uncomfortable. After paying $115 for the night I expected to at least receive a clean room. Unfortunately, I would definitely reconsider ever returning to this hotel in the future for events we attend in Newport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 169 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

The reception, lobby and breakfast area are decorated like a colonial "inn"--like a grand house, and the feeling is much more like a B&B or inn than it is a chain hotel. The manager was interesting to talk to, breakfast was adequate, our room was large and the bathroom was huge. I really liked the upscale atmosphere. It's just a quick 5 minute drive around the lake to the Cliffwalk area and the start of Bellevue Ave where the mansions are. But you definitely need a car. It's located in more of a residential area with no shops or anything pedestrian friendly nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrinkledpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I almost cancelled our reservation when i read previous reviews but i'm glad i didn't. This is a lovely Victorian Inn a few miles from Newport; classy, clean and quiet. We had a very spacious room on the 3rd floor away from the elevator, which I had requested. Wayne was at the desk every day,gave us good directions, very helpful. Very ample continental breakfast;can eat inside or on the porch. Drinks and fresh fruit all day. Would definitely stay here again..

Room Tip: Elevator goes up to 2nd floor so must be able to climb 15 steps to large 3rd floor rooms but well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerimayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The MOST comfortable bed EVER!! I slept like a dog, the room exceeded expectations in every way: Huge high ceiling, nice decor, quiet, convenient to Newport and all of Aquidneck, easy to find. Way better than a chain hotel.
The breakfast might have been the only weak point, get down there early, some people like to hog a table and sit and visit when they should finish and get a move on. Don't miss the lovely deck out back or you can take your breakfast on a tray back up to your room. Great selection, but I get the feeling people also take advantage of the juice in bottles and pocket more than they need. It's not an open pantry, people...
Very convenient to laundry, restaurants, ice cream (Becky's and Newport Creamery - WOW).

Room Tip: Second floor above the entrance, just perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennconsota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed just one night after a long day viewing mansions in Newport. It was nice to get out of the busy Newport area. Older building but well kept. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Nice complimentary breakfast. Friendly staff.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank jmtjbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

it was a friday before lunch time and we had to wander down the hallway to find someone to check us in. we booked on Orbitz and they had all the details but he took great pains to get us to repeat our details and typed it in with 1 finger as slowly as possible. it took us 15 minutes to check in. not a smile , thank you or hello the whole time. there were 2 other couples loitering waiting. this was slow season. god help him when it is the summer.

i don't care if you have 1 star or 2, put a person at the front desk who has clean clothes and does not look tortured. we got the corner suite and it was sad. never seen carpet laid so poorly. the sofa had seen it's days too. it sloped forward big time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We loved this place, it used to be a nursing home, but you would never know. It is so clean, and not far from any of the great places to visit in Newport. Very safe, clean, quiet, and as stated by another, almost like a bed and breakfast. Breakfast was just fine.
No pool, so take the noisy kids elsewhere. Nice to stay somewhere without kids running up and down the halls. Staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanie94588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
1.2 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Newport
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#14 of 18 in Middletown
235 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 93 Miantonomi Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-5428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: $58 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Inn, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Middletown
Clarion Middletown
Middletown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing