We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Miantonomi Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Beautiful old building with nice and comfortable rooms and large sitting area with a nice continental breakfast. Located close enough to Newport,RI to be convenient without the high Newport prices. Stayed four nights which were peaceful and quiet. The only negative was one of the men at the front desk who was not at all friendly.

Room Tip: I prefer first floor rooms but friends were in a third floor room which was very nice if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    45
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
68
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and we really love this place. We were here last December celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. The staff was very helpful and put us in a very nice room, room 4 on the main floor. While they are located in Middletown it's no big deal to drive into Newport. I like that while they are a "chain" hotel it doesn't feel like it. The hotel almost feels like a bed and breakfast. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4, every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newport_Bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A lodging is usually easy to classify: it's either part of a chain, with efficient cookie-cutter value, or it's an independent, with (hopefully) a degree of unique charm. [I know there's also dumpy places, but we all try to avoid those]. It's either in the city, giving easy access to urban sites but with a higher price, or it's outside the city, lowering the cost but making access more difficult.

The Carriage House is difficult to classify with either scheme. It's definitely part of a chain, and is a good value. However, it's not a cookie cutter motel, having more of the "feel" of an inn. And, although it's not IN Newport, it's a ten minute drive into the heart of that city. Depending on your needs and budget, it might be just the place to stay while visiting this town.

Stayed here two nights for some romantic times in a lovely town. Our room featured a large comfortable bed, full bath, phone (charge for local calls), AC, small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & board, CD music player, and TV with 70 channels. The room was clean, surprisingly quiet, and well-maintained. Staff was professional and polite. Free amenities include parking, deluxe continental breakfast buffet, wi-fi, all-hours coffee, PC in lobby, and bath robes in the room. Pets and smoking are prohibited everywhere indoors. Although it only has two floors, the inn has an elevator.

The inn has the typical scam of charging a small amount for the safe in the room, although they note you can have this charge removed at check-out if you did not use the safe.

The breakfast room is a nice place to relax during the day, and opens to an outdoor veranda. Breakfast itself, although plentiful, has two problems: (1) there is not enough table space for everyone to set their food comfortably (note photos) and (2) the food tables are so wide that it can be difficult to reach the food placed near the wall.

This place bridges the gap between value and charming ambiance, and is recommended for couples who are looking for a little of both.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank RabePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Loved this quaint inn. Very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms are not spacious but very clean. We loved the area. Very quiet and not crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joageo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Tired and dated decor, old noisy plumbing, water stains on the bathroom ceiling, poorly placed bed too close to the A/C unit (had to turn the A/C off at night and open the window), dingy room and common areas, road traffic noise, etc. etc. added up to 3 very unsatisfactory nights totaling almost $700 for a room with 2 queen beds. Could not wait to get out of this place. By far the worst part of the overwise a very lovely visit to Newport. In their defense, the beds were comfortable and the middle-aged woman clerk was extremely pleasant and informative. If I only had to stay one night and pay under a $100, I would have been satisfied but ... rumor has it this used to be a nursing home ... creepy! Next time, Holiday Inn Express, here I come!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLuna215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Middletown hotels

Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Thx to all the TA reviewers as I chose this place from what I read. It was perfect for a one night stay. Front desk staff was very nice and breakfast was much better than I was expecting. The room was fine, bed comfy but we were on the front side and you could hear car noise on the road out front so if that bothers you be sure to ask for a room on the back side. Overall for the price we were very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbjpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We drove around and checked out 4 other big chain hotels and all were far away from Newport's downtown yet very expensive. We were so relieved to drive into The Carriage House Inn to find very friendly and helpful staff, a great rate, a very good location (so, not right next to a major highway or road) with mature trees, greenery, and a hotel that is quiet and charming. I agree with the other reviewers: the hallways, stairs, and lobby need a good cleaning and the breakfast is adequate but basic (yogurt, bagels, cereal, tea/coffee). The hotel decor is very dated, but it was also considerably less pricey than other hotels. You can't have it all when you are on a budget. Our room on the 2nd floor was a tad small, but it had a huge washroom with great lighting & full-length mirror. We had 2 queens beds that were extremely comfortable and the room was very clean and neat. We drove everywhere in 10mins: the Cliff Walk, Bellevue Ave. Mansions, Newport's downtown - and, Broadway with its great restaurants is 5 mins away. The hotel also has a shuttle for $8p/p. For a family on a budget, this met our needs very well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaraInTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#13 of 17 in Middletown
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 93 Miantonomi Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Inn, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Middletown
Clarion Middletown
Middletown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing