We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport Vineyards

Newport Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My Wife and I went to Newport for a long weekend with another couple. We took the shuttle from town to the vineyard they suggest on the website. They will pick you up almost anywhere, and its $10 roundtrip.

I can’t speak much to the "quality" of the wine since I don’t know much other than I like to drink it. We enjoyed everything we tasted had had a fun time at the vineyard. The staff was friendly and they have both an indoor and outdoor tasting area. You can also purchase wine by the glass and sit at tables that overlook the vineyard.

The tour is pretty short, but it was cool to hear about the vineyard.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    95
    26
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must do on your girlfriends getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I went to Newport with two girlfriends this past weekend. Before we left we were asking around on what we should do, the mansions, cliff-walk, or a winery. Everyone kept saying they went to a great winery in Newport so we decided to check it out. The day was a bit rainy so it was a perfect day to drink wine under one of the outdoor tents with view of the vineyard. They had a great gift shop and after our tasting picked up a couple bottles for a picnic later in the day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MegLyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Better than average NE Winery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Returning to NE after 4 decades in the mid-Atlantic, we were interested in finding local wineries, especially since it is still quite difficult to get wine shipped in from across the United States and from the mid-Atlantic into Massachusetts. Up to this point, we've been mostly disappointed with the NE wineries reliance on fruit-wine blends. Finally, a winery with a decent climate and some good white wines. Oh, we like moderate to full-bodied reds as well, but NE can't deliver on this and that's OK. One needs to realize their strength and play to it. Newport has a good tour and the guide is quite knowledgeable about the grapes, the vineyards terroir, and how the wines are made at Newport. Very informative. But the wine tasting bar was loaded with nearly 20 of us from the tour and whomever comes in. Only one person was pouring and discussing each wine. So the wait was interminable and it was a weekday. Would have liked to try more, and probably bought more, but the wait is discouraging. They need to get more servers in there when they load up. We'll come back later when it is quiet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank drdblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Compton, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They need to work on consistency”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Myself and 3 friends visited for the wine tasting recently. Each pour was completely inconsistent! One of us would get 2 sips whereas the next person would get 1/4 glass. Luckily we used the Groupon discount, otherwise I would definitely have complained about the value. Also, make sure you ask about the tour... Otherwise, nothing will be mentioned to you. If I'm paying for a tour&tasting, then I expect to be told about it rather than having to wander around and figure it out on my own. Lastly, I would have been happier if the servers educated us about the wines. This would give me more of a desire to purchase some of their products. Wasn't impressed, and probably won't return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Uneventful!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Used a groupon for this excursion which included the tasting and a free etched wine glass. It was an overcast day and sprinkling and a Saturday and was pretty busy. We were less than impressed by the tour given the fact that the tour guide not only brought us out to view the vines in the rain, had to pretty much read all of the information off a cheat sheet! When we finally got to the tasting we were given a sheet with a list of wines but the instructions were not clear as to how to select them. We waited almost 10 minutes before we got our first wine and my husband had to get their attention to make that happen. During the tasting the attendant knocked over a glass in front of us and all of our glasses had to be replaced. Overall, not impressed with the last of organization, presentation or the wine for that matter. You couldn't even buy a bottle of wine and enjoy it with some cheese and crackers outside which was a disappointment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corky6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Newport Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing