We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hang Around Hanging Rock”

Norman Bird Sanctuary
Ranked #6 of 27 things to do in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Middletown, Rhode Island, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hang Around Hanging Rock”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Hanging Rock, on grounds of Norman Bird Sanctuary is not where hangings took place but a promontory overlooking Second Beach and a portal to another dimension. Located on land once owned by Abe Lincoln's g.g.g.g.grandfather, over the centuries it was frequented and inspired philosophers, theologians, artists, writers like George Berkeley, Channing, Wm & Henry James, John LaFarge, Wm. t. Richards, John Clarke, Herbert Spencer etc. Enjoy the fauna and flora, and the view. Check out the scheduled nature activities. Wear good hiking boots or shoes. Bring binoculars, camera, walking stick, Celebrex, and your Peterson Guides. Ironically J.W. Booth's brother's home, Boothden, is about a mile away.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nature Trails”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We go to the Normal Bird Sanctuary over and over. There is an education center, a small gift shop and short trails. It is educational, fun and you can get exercise. A great place for a short family outing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Birds & Breakfast / Sunday - May 18th”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We are regular goers of the Norman Bird Sanctuary's annual "Birds & Breakfast" each year, & choose to regularly invite several friends to join us as our guests. It's a 'rite-of-passage' of sorts... a celebration of Spring's coming.
There are several 'breakfast seatings' to accommodate the attendees... & guided 'bird-walks' every few minutes... combined with breathtaking views out over the Meadows & the Atlantic.
In short, their buffet-breakfast this year was delicious, & the weather the epitome of a 'Jamestown sparkler'... a term my father taught me as a young boy. It was indeed a fine morning for all... & which only got better!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ccs747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable hike and birding”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This sanctuary has miles of trails in their rocky woodland and other areas. This year we found a nice number and variety of fruit-eating birds. Last year we hiked one of the ridges, enjoying the views. There is an entrance fee.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OmaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I Love This Place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love the woodsy trails and woodland pond, and especially the panoramic view of Sachuest Beach from the top of Hanging Rock.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman Bird Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Norman Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing