We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Atlantic Grille

Atlantic Grille
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Good food, terrible service. It's like we were being ignored the whole night! We had to ask for everything twice before it finally got to us, including our initial drinks. They got one of our orders wrong. Never came to check on us once! We had to literally stand up and wave someone down to get someone (ANYONE) to our table. Not to mention they were well staffed. I've never been serviced so rudely. And not an apology the whole time. My family and I couldn't believe how much we were being neglected in there. Atlantic Grille, your food was alright but food and service go hand in hand. We do NOT recommend this place and would absolutely NOT return.

Helpful?
Thank cheriec09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    106
    36
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
182 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lobster roll rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

In town to visit relatives, and they took me here knowing I love lobster rolls! I would not hesitate to return, or recommend this place to anyone. We all had the lobster rolls with sweet potato fries, delicious. Service was also excellent. Great menu, anyone would be satisfied.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank melanie94588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport RI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Know What to Expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went for dinner with friends on the spur of the moment, primarily because one of the group wanted the Lobster Roll at the Atlantic Grille, which is one of the best to be found anywhere.
Don't expect fine dining, but you can get a good basic meal at very reasonable prices.
In addition to the Lobster Roll ($14) we had a Fried Scallop Plate ($16), Striped Bass (($16), and a Chili Casserole with seafood (($16). All were served with sides, or a salad. All were enjoyed, though the bass was covered with a sweet salsa that had to be scraped off, it totally ovewhelmed the taste of the fish. Draft beers were $5-6, glass of wine $6-8.
If you go to the Atlantic knowing what to expect you shouldn't be disappointed. The service is sometimes slow on busy nights and weekends, so pick your time if you want to get in and out quickly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A dump”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Almost no seafood on the menu, first problem. Second, we were told they had no clams available even though clams were on the menu. Sent back the "calamari". It was swimming in grease and I'm not even sure it was actually calamari to begin with.

OK prices, absolutely NOTHING special on the menu here. Very mediocre service. Good clam chowder - nothing else positive to say. Wouldn't go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen_XNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Awesome breakfast. Too much to finish, many options. Eggs done exactly as ordered. Coffee hot and tasty. Fresh OJ?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RICK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Grille also viewed

 

Been to Atlantic Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing