We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN!”
Review of Flo's Clam Shack

Flo's Clam Shack
Ranked #5 of 89 Restaurants in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FUN!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great rustic vibe and beautiful view from the deck on the top floor. Sunset & ocean views. Loved the bamboo pathway leading to the entrance. Not fine dining, but it was fun!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank trixxidivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    235
    117
    41
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big Build UP - Not Worth It”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I have driven by Flo's many times over the years on our trips to Newport and never stopped until recently. We got fried clams, clam cakes, clam chowder and a lobster roll. The clams were very very rubbery (overcooked), the clam cakes had no clams in them (I grew up eating Rocky Point clam cakes and chowder- this was not even in the same universe), the chowder was below average and the lobster in the lobster roll was watery, not much lobster and had very little flavor (tasted like it was frozen - it was definitely not fresh). I had been wanting to try this place for years - but was very disappointed and have no plans of going back. FYI- whether you believe it or not I've never written any kind of review. I ran across this site when I was looking for some restaurant choices and felt compelled to do one because of our experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Holy1-Cow2-WOW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, OK food”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My out-of-town guests were disappointed in what they ordered at Flo's ... not so much Flo's problem, just too much breading for their taste. The chowda is OK, certainly not the best on the island. There are better dining options nearby.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank G-KinEuroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great fried food”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you feeling like indulging in a totally unhealthy fried meal, flo's is the place to go. Amazing fried clams, fish and chips, etc. And a nice raw bar upstairs. A little kitschy on the decor, but I guess that's part of the charm. Just be warned that in the summer the line can get loooong.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE THIS PLACE”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We live on the NH seacoast, so we are no strangers to fresh seafood. The clams casino are to die for. Lisa shucks the clams right in front of you when preparing them. Lisa the bartender has got to be the friendlyist in the business. Although we only get there once or twice a year she remembers us, and being in the hospitality industry this is very impressive. This place is definatly worth the 2 hour drive for us, weather raw, fried, baked or broiled we have never had a bad meal or service here. See you in the spring--if we can hold out that long!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flo's Clam Shack also viewed

 

Been to Flo's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing