We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“8/25/13 Stay - New Hotel, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“8/25/13 Stay - New Hotel, Good Value”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Reading through the reviews, I believe most are accurate regarding the easy commute to and from Newport and the fact that the hotel is brand new. I did find the bathroom in the standard suite to be rather small and awkward to move around in. The staff was courteous and caring. Do not expect to be recognized however, if your are a hilton honors member. I thought the exterior of the property was very tight but that is typical for the entire area, unless you want to pay extra and stay at Hyatt in Newport. I did have a few issues which were attended to and resolved by the hotel staff in a very quick manner. It would be hard for me to recommend this hotel to anyone expecting an above average stay but the value seems fair in this area.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay. I appreciate your comments and will pass them along to the staff. I truly value the information as it will help to improve the experience for all future guests. I hope that when you are in the area again you will choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    124
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
199
174
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this brand new hotel (2 months old!) and highly recommend it. The location is great as it is a short drive to downtown Newport, mansions, beaches, main attractions. There are plenty of restaurants right near the hotel (Applebees is walking distance across the street) and the Island Cinemas is about a 5 minute drive behind Home Depot. The rooms are so clean and fresh, they still have the "I'm new" scent as you enter the room. Our suite had the kitchenette, 2 tvs, large and spacious. The indoor pool is very clean and refreshing. There is no jacuzzi and no sitting area outside, which was a disappointment. Instead, there is a tiny putt-putt area for kids (but no balls and no putters yet). This is very dangerous as the balls will inevitably break the glass and windows due to the small confined area, a sitting area would have been much better suited for the small outdoor space.

There is a business center in the lobby with 2 computers for free internet access with a printer and all the supplies anyone could need. The breakfast is fine, nothing special, as all the items appear to be frozen, scrambled eggs, sausage, there is a toast area and fresh fruit (the best item on the menu) with juice and coffee/tea. On weeknights, they also offer complimentary dinner, but the menu is limited and they ran out of food both nights as they are still not equipped to handle such crowds. Free wine/beer is incl, this is the best part of the meal. I expressed my concern with the manager about the problem with NOT having enough food and her response was, "Sorry, we are never quite sure which items will be popular or not and we are making more raviolis now." She really didn't seem to care about this huge blunder on their part as people were standing around in a long line waiting for food.

The true asset of this hotel is the hotel staff under the manger. The custodian Will is the most friendly guy and asked how we were doing and where we were from as he was mopping the floor. My husband spoke to him briefly about sports and the engineer Barry is super. He is always around day and night doing something and working so hard in the hotel. The front desk staff greeted us with smiles and gave us super directions and brochures about the area. The staff are very genuine, and work hard, seems like day and night, and that is what this hotel is all about, hospitality.

Caveat: The downtown area has limited street parking so you must pay to park in the lots and it is very expensive. Read the signs before you enter and shop around. The mansions have free parking, but you need to pay to enter the beach parking lots also. The hotel has a shuttle for $3 each way, so that is $6 pp R/T so you might as well just pay to park your car as it will cost about $10-$20 per day anyway.

We would return again but next time skip the comp dinner and eat at Applebees!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed our location and all that there is to offer at our hotel and in the Newport area! We pride ourselves on our service and it is so nice that our staff portrayed our mission. I apologize that you had to wait for dinner, I do not wish for any guest to have to wait. I regret that my response made it appear that I did not care there was a delay and line, which is certainly not the case. We look forward to having you return to our hotel when you are in the Newport area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Delaware
Level Contributor
190 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

title says it all. the hotel was clean, the staff was knowledgeble and friendly. breakfast had a variety . dinner was taqsty. the beer was cold , the wine flowed smoothly. what else could you ask for in a hotel?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites Newport-Middletown. I was glad to see that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. I am happy that our staff, complimentary internet, breakfast, and dinner at our hotel met your needs. We do have a wonderful menu that changes daily! I hope you will come back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Spent 4 nights here on a getaway without the kids. It was everything we wanted. Good parking, clean and quiet. The room had a kitchen which we didn't need but found we used the fridge for our doggie bags after dining in Newport and the microwave to heat up - always a challenge when travelling and in a more typical hotel room. Bed was very comfortable and elevators were fast. Shower was roomy and we liked the Bath & Body products. With Applebees across the street, a pizza place and a plaza with food, drugstore, Starbucks, etc. and then a short easy drive into Newport, we had everything we needed. We even used the shuttle service one evening into Newport and it was very professional, timely and well organized. The view out the back was of a residential area so while not exactly scenic, it was very quiet. This is an excellent choice when visiting Newport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review! I was happy to see that you found Homewood Suites Newport-Middletown to be an excellent value. Our all suite hotel with full kitchens, fitness center, pool, 24 hour business center, and outdoor patio area are wonderful amenities that all of our guests can enjoy. We hope to continue as the hotel of choice the next time you travel to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice since it opened. The rooms are a generous size and have plenty of upgrades from the other area hotels. The pool is small but refreshing. The breakfast (esp. kitchen manager) is great! However, on both instances at the hotel the guest service has been lacking. (Couldn't bring towels up to the room on two different occasions, I had to walk down to the pool and get towels myself after 4 phone calls over and hour)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel. I am sorry to hear that our service during your stay was not up to standard. I will be sharing your feedback with our staff, and we will use this information to improve the experience for all future guests. I do hope that you choose to stay with us on your next trip to Newport. We look forward to exceeding your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, nice and beat rooms. Only issue was parking, all in all very nice rooms. Little pricey considering it's not too close to the beach but with all amenities are very close. Suites are
Good size but back end of building is staring into backyards

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This property is brand new and just outside of the town limit of Newport, RI so you are close to attractions without paying Newport prices. The room was immaculate and bed very comfortable. They serve dinner each night and choices are very good. I will now make this Homewood my hotel of choice each time I visit Southern Mass.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goliathtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
2.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
555 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,920 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Address: 348 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comforts of home in charming NewportWelcome to Homewood Suites by Hilton® Newport Middletown, RI. Enjoy the convenient location at the junction of Route 138 and 114 in Middletown, RI. Explore historic downtown Newport on Aquidneck Island, just two miles away, or spend the day relaxing on beautiful local beaches. Our hotel is close to many local companies including Raytheon, Newport Hospital and the Navy Base which incorporates the Naval War College, NUWC, and Officer Candidate School. Discover the wonders of charming Newport including Newport's Cliff Walk, Sachuest Point and the spectacular Newport Mansions. Fort Adams, Newport Yachting Center and the International Tennis Hall of Fame are also nearby.Whether you're staying for a few days or a few weeks, our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites offer all the comforts of home, including separate living and sleeping areas. Prepare meals in the fully-equipped kitchen, keep in touch with WiFi, or simply relax watching TV. Stock your full-size refrigerator with meals and snacks from the 24-hour Suite Shop, or let us lend a hand and do the grocery shopping for you. Start each day with a complimentary hot full breakfast and return in the evenings for dinner and drinks* Monday through Thursday. Catch up with work at the 24-hour business center or take some time out for yourself to enjoy our recreational facilities, including a 24-hour fitness center, heated indoor pool, and putting green.*Subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing