We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food very good service secondary”

Rhea's Inn and Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhea's Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 9 Middletown B&B and Inns
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
254 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Food very good service secondary”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We happened upon Rheas one evening and decided to give it a try. The restaurant is located in the bar area and as it turned out food service is secondary to bar service for the bartender. The food was very good, service was quick, but we felt food service was truly secondary to the bartender interacting with the bar patrons. If being left alone and feeling like you may not matter, try the food it really is very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here with another couple over labor day - it was one of the last rooms available over the Holiday weekend. We were just down for the night and this was a great place to stay. Clean rooms, incredibly friendly inn keeper, and while we didn't try the breakfast in the morning, it looked delicious. For convenience - we certainly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are looking for a place where you are going to just sleep and not spend much time then this is a perfect place. It is a family run Inn and a restaurant with a great food. We stayed there overnight and had a breakfast on the morning in the restaurant. The place is clean, a little tight on the space, but the hospitality of the people is great. They have plenty of parking space at the back. The owner is Greek and his mom is the sweetest, she talked with us for quite a while during her not-so-busy time, she seems to be a clean freak,in a good way, who wants to keep everything clean and as homely as possible. Definitely a place to be if you are looking to crash on a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle of Newport.

Room Tip: For a good rate call the owner, they will give you lower deals than the online price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynicAndroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

spent 2 nights over labor day weekend. Restaurant was excellent, food and staff was awsome, . The rooms up stairs were clean, only 2 pillows on bed, our main complaint was no hot water in the morning, pressure very low, due to others taking showers at the same time. Inn is very close to downtown Newport, althought I don't know if I would visit the inn again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

What a great place. A true bed and breakfast. The owners are Greek. They are do hospitable. True old world customer service. We stayed in the delux room with the whirlpool tub. Worth the upgrade. Breakfast was to die for and included in the price. Your not in the center on Newport but close enough. Make sure you take side roads to Newport because Main st gets congested.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biljana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

...We spent 2 nights at Rhea's 9/12 - 9/14/12..Booked as a Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Middleton RI...a spa room with a kind sized bed..and that's exactly what we got..except breakfast was extra $$!!!..NOT included in the price of $268. No one came to clean up the room... I had to ask for an extra pillow for the 2 pillow bed..The room was difficult to access..from the ground level up, 4 flights of stairs, no elevator..The views were on a used car lot and the main highway...LOTS of road noise..There was no complimentary coffee,no snacks, no water,NO amenities except the bed and the tub which were clean. When we tried to get to the dining room at 7:45 am (they said we could buy breakfast at 8am), the doors were locked and not a soul was around... This was especially difficult the next day trying to check out at 7:40 am..when we needed to be on the road.I would never EVER recommend this inn/ b'n'b to ANYONE!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildwoman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.6 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhea's Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhea's Inn and Restaurant

Property: Rhea's Inn and Restaurant
Address: 120 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-4937
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rhea's Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing