We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

HOTEL was very clean, staff was courteous, facilities were well maintained and nicely furnished. Room was very clean, furnishings were nice and not worn, TV function and channel selection was fair. Beds were average, not the most comfortable but adequate. Pool and Hot tub were nice, fitness center had the usual equipment and it was in very good condition. Free breakfast was convenient, but limited selection, not very appetizing, but kids were happy and there was no worries of eating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write a review! I appreciate your comments and we value your opinion’s. We strive to create value for our guests with our clean and comfortable rooms, great rates and complimentary amenities. . Thank you for your recommendations on breakfast, as it is comments like these that help us improve. We hope to be of service to you both again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 903 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

I've called this hotel directly in the past to make reservations without issues. However, in the last several months the front desk clerk (not always the same) kept me on hold for several minutes each time, had no sense of humor and was quick to end the call. When checking in, no real welcoming like I have been used to in the past. When traveling for business I want to stay where there are smiling and pleasant faces. What happened to customer service and where is Kate Smith??!! She always had us laughing and would often help with our travels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bacrdstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

I am sorry that you had this experience. Our hotel normally receives high rankings and positive guest reviews. Mistakes occur and no one is perfect, but we promise to make this up to you. Please give us another try; call and ask for the General Manager. I will personally make sure your next stay with us is a great experience. We look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I were attending a conference in Newport, RI and choose the Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown for our stay. The hotel was very fresh looking from the outside and from within. The Rooms were very well done and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was bright and the shower head was excellent.

During the evening of our first night the rugby team in the room next door came back at 2:15 am after partying and for the next two hours continued to party with loud noise, slamming doors, and lots of loud stories about their day. They finally settled down around 4:30 am and we were able to go back to sleep. In the morning I went down to the front desk to tell the Desk Manager what happened and she way very apologetic and said she would look into the situation.

We went off to our conference and returned around 5:30 PM to find a nice note from the Front Office Manager stating how sorry they were about the situation. They sent up a goodie bag which was very nice. They really went out of there way to turn a bad situation around. Because of this effort, I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whytegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your Hampton experience with us. Thank you for noticing that we have been working with the staff to help provide you the best service, the cleanest rooms and friendly suggestions! I am glad the staff went ‘over-the –top” for you. The friendly staff is part of the Hamptonality that Hampton Inns are known for. We take pride in being a top choice in the Newport area and maintaining the high customer service and quality that you so nicely mentioned when taking the time to write this review. We stride to make sure all of our guests are 100% satisfied. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located to all Newport attractions. The rooms could use some updating, however it was clean. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. The air conditioner was very loud, but we didn't mind as it drowned out any possible noise from the hallway or other rooms, although this is a nice quiet hotel. I would recommend staying at this hotel if your in the Newport area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to touch on each aspect of the Hampton. We strive to create value for our guests with our clean and comfortable rooms, great rates and complimentary amenities. I am pleased to hear that you and your son enjoyed your time here. Thank you for your recommendations on breakfast, as it is comments like these that help us improve. We hope to be of service to you both again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Checkin at the Hampton Inn was very easy and efficient as always...all hotel staff were friendly when encountering guests in the hallways...Good Neighbor policy guarantees a good night's sleep to be had by all guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank suerain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel, as there are a lot of choices in Middletown, but I am very pleased you picked us! We appreciate your recognition of our staff and efforts to make your stay enjoyable. Thanks to guests like you, we remain #2 amongst all the other choices and we are very proud of that! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We would have liked to spend more time exploring the Newport area beaches and mansions but we shortened our stay by a night because the bathroom was not clean, nothing seemed updated, and our room had a very loud air conditioner.

Our rate was $250 per night and they would not offer us the AAA rate. The desk staff was very unapologetic that the guaranteed rollaway was not in our room, though we checked in late at night with tired kids in tow. At breakfast things were poorly stocked and staff was actually arguing near the breakfast area. We will not return to this location.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Winniethefred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

We apologize for the incident you experienced while staying at our facility. It is our goal to meet all requests and exceed all expectations of every guest; we share and understand your disappointment. We also appreciate your honesty in this review as it is comments like these which help us improve. Please contact us directly prior to your arrival; we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel was only minutes away from Newport attractions. The room was the standard Hampton with a microwave and large sized fridge. It was very clean. The hotel was full, but very quiet when sleeping. We were on the fourth floor away from the elevators. The beds were very comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was very good. A little different selection of eggs, meat and pastry each morning, bagels etc. We were there from a Wednesday to Saturday. They did run out of pastry on Saturday. We enjoyed the homemade cookies each day on the counter. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Next door is an Applebees and CVS and a Rite Aid are close too. The Creamery is just down the street for ice cream. Don't hesitate to book this hotel when going to Newport. Although the view is of a parking lot and street, to have a good time in Newport, you will not be in your room long, You will be outside marveling at the ocean and the mansions and the sailboats. Since everything is close by, you won't regret this choice.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karesp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown. I am so glad to see that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. We appreciate your recognition of our staff and efforts to make your stay enjoyable. We take pride in our clean comfortable rooms, along with our complementary hot breakfast and pool. Thanks to guests like you, we remain #1 amongst all the other choices and we are very proud of that! It would be our pleasure to be of service to you in the near future and we appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
2.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#8 of 18 in Middletown
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
1.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown

Address: 317 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-7326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#2 Family Hotel in Middletown
#3 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: $99 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites with refrigerator & microwave; 2 miles from Newport attractions, Navy Base and corporate parks; award winning hotel with free hot breakfast bar in a 2 story atrium lobby, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Newport/Middletown
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown Hotel Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing