We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean View, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Out of the main stream, only 2 miles from Newport. We try to stay at Hampton Inn's. Great value and very clean. It is apparent that the staff takes pride in the facility. Staff was very friendly and
accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are glad you stayed with us and enjoyed our proximity to everything Newport has to offer! Our staff does take pride in our hotel, and I am glad it shows. That's what "Hamptonality" is all about! Thank you for your nice review. We look forward to having you here on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    243
    51
    16
    10
See reviews for
320
277
31
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wingdale, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We came to the Hampton Inn just to get away for the night and see some light houses/ the ocean. Everyone in the hotel was friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean and comfy! I would highly reccomend this hotel when visiting again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iambadwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed all the great qualities of our hotel from the room to service, we aim to please! We are not satisfied unless you are 100% satisfied and I am happy you made the right choice by staying with us! I hope to have you back soon, we love having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
235 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was a clean hotel and certainly a great location to all the local attractions around Newport. Overall it was and average experience they were booked and we were placed in the handicapped room though it did have some extra room so it was kinda nice. The staff were all pretty friendly though the graveyard shift gentleman didn't seem to happy with his job. But overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShadowAce888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of the Hampton Inn & Suites. I am glad your overall experience was positive. We hope to see you again in the near future. We love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just needed a stop over on our way home. Hampton Inn is typically one of our favorite places to stay and once again we were not disappointed. The Hampton Inn in Middletown is an exceptional facility. The facilities were well maintained and pride was taken in the work that the staff done. We were welcomed by two gentlemen, sorry can't remember names, who were most helpful and efficient. Although, the phones were ringing, the desk was busy, they took the time to make you feel like they had nothing but time for only you. We took advantage of the shuttle downtown and were blessed to have Gene driving us. He was a wealth of knowledge about the area. Not only pointing out items of interest but giving a back ground to the city and it's history also. I would call this shuttle a "tour". Thank you Gene, you made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallandTNgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for staying with us while in Newport! We are happy you enjoyed our convenient hotel shuttle to get back and forth to downtown. I will make sure Gene sees your nice review. He just started with us this past summer, and we are so happy to have him. Please come back soon and stay with us again! We look forward to meeting and exceeding your expectations every time you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Inn was very clean, room comfortable and clean, staff was excellent. Breakfast was good as well and changed each day. It is also very convenient to Newport proper and the Inn provides transportation to Newport at a nominal fee. We were are party of six and enjoyed ourselves very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast buffet, and our shuttle service to downtown, Newport. We hope you and your friends will come back and stay with us again when you return to Newport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown is a well maintained and modern interior property close to the heart of Newport Rhode Island. The staff here is attentive and responsive and really make the property truly special. The room was clean, fresh and comfortable and the location was convenient to all Newport has to offer. I would recommend the Hampton Inn in Newport to any guest traveling to Rhode Island.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. Our staff takes pride in helping every guest have a memorable experience. We want everyone to make a connection and know that we truly care about each and every guest. We strive to make your stay the very best, because we know we are your "home away from home" and want you to be treated that way! We are glad you had a great time. Please come back and enjoy our hotel on your next visit to the area. We love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed 2 nights on family trip to Newport. 5 minutes away from downtown Newport, 10-15 to local beaches. Clean room. Indoor pool a hit with our 2 teens and hot tub was great for dad. Breakfast was sufficient -- self-made waffles were a hit, but egg offerings were blah. Fresh coffee/tea available in lobby all day. Rate is much better than anything you'd find in-town. Not really near much, but I guess there was a CVS around the corner (we didn't need to go) and there are 1 or 2 restaurants close by if you're desperate -- but you're much better off going into Newport.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your nice review of the Hampton Inn & Suites and our amenities. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and all that we have to offer. The waffles are almost always a big hit, and I am glad we didn't disappoint you! We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
2.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Address: 317 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-7326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Middletown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#3 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites with refrigerator & microwave; 2 miles from Newport attractions, Navy Base and corporate parks; award winning hotel with free hot breakfast bar in a 2 story atrium lobby, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown Hotel Middletown
Hampton Inn And Suites Newport/Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing