We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs beautifully”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I spent four nights here with a friend while touring the northeast. I liked being quite close to Newport without being in the center of things. The area where this hotel is located is surrounded by other chain hotels and some restaurants within walking distance. No doubt about it, they are trying hard to get a "5" rating. The hotel's staff was all smiles and couldn't do enough to be accommodating.

We reserved a one-bedroom suite as there were three of us for a couple of nights. Both the bedroom and the parlor are small, but comfortable and met our needs perfectly at an affordable price for a pricey area.

Breakfast was quite good for an inclusive meal. Fresh fruit, yogurt, breads/pastries, etc. The hot food was different every other day. There was a coffee/tea station open in the lobby at all hours.

They have a pool that we did not seek out, a computer room with two computers, a laundry room, an exercise room. Luggage carts were available for unloading/loading. Pretty much everything we needed.

There are romantic hotels and inns in the Newport area and this hotel would not qualify as romantic and you won't get sea views, but if you're looking for a place to stay that is convenient, clean, offering excellent service at an affordable price, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelswithdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with everyone here. We are so glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful hotel and see why we are #2 out 18 hotels on Trip Advisor! We appreciate that you have a choice when coming to the Newport area and we are glad to be your top selection! Please come back soon, we love having you as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 913 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having stayed at Embassy Suites in the past, this is the closest Hilton property to Newport, RI and there is a difference between a Hampton Inn and an Embassy Suite but it's in a good location and it's clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for being a loyal Hilton guest. The Hampton Inn is a different type of property than the Embassy Suites. We appreciate you giving us a try, and glad that you found our hotel clean and in a good location. We hope to have you back on your next visit to Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was going to give this hotel a perfect score. The property was in perfect condition, the rooms were large and comfortable. But then at a little after 8am the fire alarm went off, a LOUD continuous horn in all the rooms. I stepped out in the hall and other guests were walking around holding their ears. I volunteered to go down to the front desk to find out what was going on. The first floor was quiet and the staffers were calm and going about their business. I asked at the front desk about the alarm. A gentleman told me "They're just testing the alarms, there's no fire, you may go back to your room."
I headed back up and you couldn't go in your room because the alarms were still blasting.
Here's a hint to management: If you are going to test the fire alarm system and not inform your guests about the test, why not do it AFTER check-out time at 11am and BEFORE check-in time at 3?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had a great experience at the Hampton, the reception staff were very friendly, nice and helpful. Breakfast was great with lots of options, the room was nice and comfy and clean and the location is great, right on the bus line into Newport. I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Newport!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Beiyi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write such a great review on the Hampton Inn & Suites! You are correct; the bus is conveniently located right across the street if coming from the north. If in Newport, guests can jump right on the #60 from the Newport Visitors’ Center and it will drop them off right in front of the hotel, making us easy to get to with any mode of transportation. Thanks again, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're staying in Newport or just driving through, this hotel is perfect for location, cleanliness, convenience and smiles at the front desk. You can drive into the center of town in no time. We look forward to going back and seeing much more of Newport!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank LSO2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you, we appreciate your nice review. We hope you do come back, and take advantage of our summer shuttle service that will take you into downtown Newport. It is very convenient, and quick. We will drop you off, and pick you up in the same location. It’s a great way to go!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The motel was clean and close to restaurants. The hotel staff are friendly and help in any way that they can. They recommend places to eat and provide directions to get to the restaurants. My room was always clean and the cleaning staff provided excellent service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Ralph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for the “thumbs up” for the Hampton Inn & Suites. Our staff always strives to do the very best for our guests, and I am glad it showed through for you. We hope to see you on your next visit to Middletown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I enjoyed my 2 night stay at this hotel. A friend and I were there to tour a few of the Newport Mansions. We received a friendly greeting from Kevin, the man at the front desk who checked us in, and were in out room within a very short time. The room as of good size and included a refrigerator and a big overstuffed chair and ottoman plus a work desk.

Breakfast the next day (included in the rate) was a little more than the usual Hampton Inn fare. It included eggs with cheese. Other hot choices were ham and French toast strips and the usual waffles, oatmeal, etc. The next morning we had scrabbled eggs, crisp bacon and fried potatoes. I also indulged myself with a bowl of oatmeal.

When we returned from touring we had received a courtesy call to make sure that everything was to our liking. Nice touch! . . . . . . . and they had the usual cookies at the front desk in the evening . . . . . but another special touch . . . . they were warm.

Great place! Great service! Free Internet! Free Parking! . . . . . . I'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilivennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a great review on the Hampton Inn! I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable and spacious rooms as well as our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#8 of 18 in Middletown
287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown

Address: 317 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-7326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#2 Family Hotel in Middletown
#3 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: $97 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites with refrigerator & microwave; 2 miles from Newport attractions, Navy Base and corporate parks; award winning hotel with free hot breakfast bar in a 2 story atrium lobby, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Newport/Middletown
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown Hotel Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing