We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Play To Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
East Providence, United States
1 review
“A Great Play To Get Away”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our first time here. The room was perfect, the staff is first class. Breakfast? How about fresh made waffles, steak and eggs? Well lit parking, and centrally located. Very comfortable beds. Overall I would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    250
    55
    18
    10
See reviews for
342
282
32
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south salem, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. I stayed here based on other reviews I read about this being a nice hotel but I was still a little skeptical. I was pleasantly surprised to see all the reviews were right. Such a clean, well kept place. Everything was up to standard. The entrance and lobby are very nicely decorated. The rooms are clean and quiet and provide everything you need. There is coffee and tea available all day and night. We did not stay for free breakfast although I would imagine it would have been good as the dining area was quite full. Friendly, helpful staff too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Trina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This Hampton Inn was clean and convenient to downtown Newport. The WiFi worked well and the hotel had free (and ample) parking. The front desk manager, Carl, could not have been nicer when we checked in. He even called the room after we had been there a bit and asked if the room was ok and did we need anything else, say extra pillows or towels? That was a nice touch. The afternoon cookies were a welcome treat with a hot cup of coffee. The breakfast is the best 'free' one we've ever had at a hotel. The breakfast area was kept clean and stocked nicely. We were also able to get a local newspaper (not just the USA Today) during breakfast. If I need to be in Newport again, I will strongly consider staying here; the value was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9_Lynnette_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, MA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for a kid-free weekend mid-April. Clean, friendly, comfortable. Everything in the room worked great, lots of hot water, great hot breakfast in the morning -- different each morning. It was a great base for seeing Newport attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell-benoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We love having you here and are very happy that you got to enjoy a weekend away. Our complimentary hot breakfast buffet is a great added value to your stay and we are glad you enjoyed all the selections! Thank you for your review, we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oak bluffs
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for the weekend with my adult daughters and had a very comfortable stay. The rooms are clean and quiet. We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub, and the complementary breakfast had a much greater selection than I anticipated. I also found each staff person we came in contact with to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. About a ten minute drive from Newport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! We are pleased to hear that you and your daughters enjoyed our beautiful property and great location. We look forward to your next return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very nice and very clean hotel with very modern and updated furnishings. Great value for the Newport area. A very short drive (less than 5 minutes) to all of the downtown Newport Attractions. Staff was helpful and friendly. I would stay in this hotel again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

As usual, Hampton Inn n Suites doesn't let me down. Different location, but same great brand. Very clean room, very nice hotel, quiet, and reasonable. Thank you one again for a great stay. Very happy!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank steven f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We are glad that you know what you can expect from a Hampton Inn and Suites. As part of the Hilton family, make sure you take advantage of Hilton Honors, so you can earn points toward future stays with us. Thank you for your nice review and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
2.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#7 of 18 in Middletown
280 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Address: 317 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-7326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#2 Family Hotel in Middletown
#3 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites with refrigerator & microwave; 2 miles from Newport attractions, Navy Base and corporate parks; award winning hotel with free hot breakfast bar in a 2 story atrium lobby, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Newport/Middletown
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown Hotel Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing