We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great over all experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Camas, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great over all experience.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for two nights when our son graduated from OCS in January. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There is coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lobby for guests anytime, along with cookies on counter in the evening. The breakfast had hot items as well as cold, eggs, sausage, potatoes, make your own waffles, oatmeal, cereal, fruit, etc. The pool area is clean and they have towels in the pool area. Plenty of free parking. The room had a small refrigerator, microwave and free wi-fi. There is an Applebee's right next door and a pizza place across the street. We would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalezgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Congratulations on your son’s graduation. We thank him, and appreciate his service to our country. The amenities at the Hampton Inn Hotels are just a part of what our brand is about. Our ownership takes pride in all of our properties as reflected in our attention to detail. Thank you for your time in filling out this review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    251
    55
    18
    10
See reviews for
343
282
32
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was recently renovated and is very clean. Plenty of parking and located on Main St. It's a little out of Newport but just a cab or short drive. The food here is nothing to write home about. Bagged eggs, day old breads...just very average which brought the ratings down. Hotel is actually a 4-5 but the food is a 1-2.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav_whizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have been coming to this area for many years and would not consider staying anywhere else. The service is fantastic, rooms are great, staff is friendly, courteous, and helpful, breakfast is really a breakfast (not just muffins/bread). It is convenient to everything and has ample parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scm555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you we appreciate your repeat business at the Hampton Inn & Suites Middletown. I hope you are a member of Hilton Honors, the reward program that lets you take advantage of your continued loyalty to the Hampton Inn & Suites and all of the Hilton properties. The staff appreciates your nice comments about them and the wonderful service they have provided to you for many years. As you know, our breakfast has great variety, I hope you were able to try the hot crock of Oatmeal, or the fresh belgium waffles to help start your days while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Clean and easy to get to, friendly and very helpful staff. Consider this hotel when traveling to Newport, a great value. My room was ready and clean when I arrived, the staff was warm and accommodating and was able to give me information about my stay in Newport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepofsky54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. As you know, we are easily accesible with a great location to all that the area has to offer. We also have numerous brochures, maps and information about the local area to help make your stay easy and worry free. I am glad you enjoyed our staff and the hospitality they provide. We look forward to having you back on your next visit to the Newport area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

As always the stay was perfect. I have stayed here more than a dozen times and it is always a pleasure to stay. It is close to downtown without the downtown price. Breakfast is great with hot food. Rooms are clean and the suites are excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobra45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about the Hampton Inn & Suites. We know you have a choice when coming to Newport and we appreciate that you choose us to stay with us. As you know, we offer a few upgraded hot breakfast items as well healthy alternatives like hot oatmeal and fresh fruit. On your next summertime visit, make sure you catch a ride to downtown or Easton’s beach on our hotel shuttle. Thanks again for you feedback, we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Thank you,
Regards,
Kate Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a couple nights so that we could take a look at the Newport mansions, which were less than 5 miles away. We were both surprised at how clean the place was right from when we walked in the front door. We got in at 9PM and wanted to relax for a bit so we tried out the hot tub which was open until 10. It felt great after being on the road for a couple hours.

Breakfast was decent, nothing too fancy but they had a good selection of yogurt, cereal, fruit, and some hot food which wasn't as appetizing.

The king sized bed was comfortable and we didn't want to leave it in the morning! The room was so clean. We were surprised to find that they change the sheets on the beds every single day even if you're staying multiple nights. It was nice having a coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave, and HD tv in our room. I would highly recommend staying here if you're visiting the mansions or cliff walk. The Hampton offers many extra amenities at the same cost as many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Newport Middletown. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide our guests with a positive experience. The Hampton Inn has the "Cloud 9" beds and I'm pleased you loved the comfort of it as much as we do! Hopefully next visit you can enjoy our indoor pool along with the relaxing the hot tub.
We hope to see you again in the future if your plans bring you back to the Newport/Middletown area. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance and again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Regards,
Kate Smith
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for 3 days, on our last day at breakfast time, one, if not the only server they had approached our table, she was clearly drunk or hangover, she spooked my kids, we tried to ignored her but she continue to come back, I finally, asked her to leave us alone. Also the homefries were under cooked and the oatmeal was like concrete. After all our stayed was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We strive to deliver unparalleled service and professionalism to all guests of the Hampton Inn & Suites. I am actively investigating this issue. Due to the nature of your review it would be beneficial to speak with you personally so I can obtain some additional information regarding this. Please contact me at your earliest convenience.
Kind Regards,
Bonnie Brake
General Manager
Phone: 401.551.9205
Email: bonnie.brake@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
2.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#7 of 18 in Middletown
280 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Address: 317 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-7326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#2 Family Hotel in Middletown
#3 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites with refrigerator & microwave; 2 miles from Newport attractions, Navy Base and corporate parks; award winning hotel with free hot breakfast bar in a 2 story atrium lobby, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Newport/Middletown
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown Hotel Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing